$529 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
506 reviews
Perfection

If only everyone could be as warm & welcoming as the staff the world would be a better place. Room... See full review

  • Gizmo's Dad
  • Nov 23, 2014
True 5 Star Experience

When the pool staff swims up to you with a tray of pineapple to sample you know you are having a... See full review

  • imdutch
  • Nov 14, 2014
Soft Hawaiian music drifts on the breeze, welcoming you to the tropical seclusion and lush beauty that make the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua a paradise. Relax by one of three languid, tri-level pools, indulge in a beachside massage, and savor fine island cuisine. Surrounded by swaying palms and sculpted gardens, this resort offers premium accommodations and outstanding guest services. Guests can don their swimwear and flip-flops before stepping straight out onto award-winning D.T. Fleming Beach using the hotel access point. After a dip in the sea, head back to your room to wash away the sand with soapy bubbles in your luxurious marble bathtub, then dress for dinner and head to Kai Sushi for raw seafood delights.
Key facts
  • 463 guestrooms
  • 5 suites
  • 9 floors
  • 3 pools
  • Restaurants and bars:  The Terrace Chef-Crafted, Kai Sushi, The Beach House, Alaloa Lounge, The Pool Bar & Cafe, The Terrace, Aina Gourmet
  • Gift shop
  • Conference and event spaces: 18 rooms
  • Ballroom and banquet facilities
  • 15-room spa
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Tranquil views of Fleming Beach stretch across the sheltered waters of Honokahua Bay, inviting you to enjoy this remarkable Maui property. The island's natural beauty is yours to explore with the Ritz-Carlton's exclusive access to Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment experience (charges apply). Practice photography under the ocean while you snorkel through brightly-colored coral reefs, or take a hiking tour deep into the Hawaiian rainforest. Two nearby golf courses offer world-class links with vistas set among historic pineapple plantations. Area dining selections range from farm-to-table barbeque, to exquisite sushi and exotic island fare. From on-site shopping excursions to horseback rides along the beach, design your days and nights around sunshine and starlight.
Hints and tips
The atmosphere at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is one of relaxation, but you'll need to make reservations for spa treatments, massage services and the golf courses.

Multilingual staff can help out with luggage storage and complimentary shuttle services, and the concierge gladly makes arrangements for limos and town cars (charges apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Banyan Tree
Embark on a culinary journey while taking in spectacular sunset views from this open air, ocean view restaurant and lounge. The Banyan Tree features farm-to-fork concepts highlighting locally sourced ingredients, including those from the hotels abundant organic garden. Hawaii's freshest fish, meat and produce are prepared with simplicity for the perfect flavor balance. Innovative garden-to-glass cocktails are infused with fruits and herbs and served alongside Hawaiian-inspired share plates to create a culinary adventure that is as inspiring as it is memorable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (506)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 506
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jovial Joan
Business
Sherman Oaks, California
Aug 15, 2009

Last Minute Luxury Vacation

We were instantly greeting by the friendly valets before getting our necklace greeting. We were able to check in early which was a relief after a long, but pleasant flight. Our room was supposed to be a Deluxe Ocean View and it really was a partial ocean view at best. We tried to switch rooms, but they were all booked up. We had a nice enough view of the pools and greenery so we didn't make a big deal out of it. And the bellman did try. We ordered up room service for dinner and it was heavenly! Fast, hot, gourmet food. The first of many delicious meals. The breakfast buffet is to die for and the Banyan Tree restaurant was first rate, including the service. We were right on the private beach which was convenient and we spent a lot of time swimming in the three pools and hot tubs. The fitness room was well equipped, though often crowded and my 9 year old was not allowed in and wanted to exercise, too. The concierge book our activities outside of the hotel (submarine tour; luau) and I think we could have found better deals elsewhere but didn't know this was a commission type situation to book tickets and vendors were all over Lahiana. But we enjoyed the events and everything went smoothly. In fact, anything we needed in the hotel came right away. It made for a wonderful trip with fantastic family memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best food is right there in the hotel. Again, the Banyan Tree restaurant is amazing. The scallop appetizer is something you dream about days later. My son enjoyed the lamb and my vegetarian husband had great choices with a tofu lentil dish. The lobster wouldn't be my choice next time and I think I would get the scallop appetizer as my main entree. Dessert was worth every calorie. Oh, and don't miss out on the bread with dip and secret seasonings. I could live on that. Go and enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MauiFirstTimer
Business
SoCal
Aug 13, 2010

Ritz Schmitz

The hotel is away from the crowds, which was appreciated, but also rather far from the shore, which was hated. (Incidentally, it should have been closer, if not for a hawaiian burial site that happened to be on the initial construction site). The architecture is bland, almost boring, only saved by a spectacular vista from the terrace. The ones with the good fortune to be in the the ocean front suites, they may have a nice vacation, the rest will suffer in silence - if they are hearing impaired, if not they will have their sorrows crushed by the sounds of the lawn mowers starting at 5:30 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's Kapalua is quite a treat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago suburbs
Apr 15, 2010

Not up to expectations

We have stayed at Ritz Carlton hotels many times in the past and this particular hotel once before. The service level was not up to the standard that Ritz Carlton has set for itself. The food was at best mediocre and quite pricey. My son's room service breakfast of 6 pancakes and some fruit was $60. The pool was dirty and many of the pool chairs were broken. This hotel underwent a complete renovation less than 3 years ago. However, the furniture in the room was faded. The valet/doorman staff was very pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping staff appeared to do a great job and were also quite friendly and helpful. However, a $500 credit which was part of our reservation package was not credited to our account until I called the front desk on the day of checkout. We utilized the concierge staff to make reservations for activities and they seemed helpful and efficient. We did have a problem with one of our activities being cancelled and no one notifying us. I do not know however whether the communication breakdown was with the vendor or the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spoiled 5- Star Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 22, 2011

The Ritz just isn't what it used to be!

The hotel staff just doesn't have the customer oriented focus of a five star hotel. Other guests are far more likely to say good morning or good evening than the Ritz Carlton staff. If you want to feel welcome at a great hotel with a nice sand beach, try Caneel Bay, St John or Cap Juluca, Anguilla or the Intercontinental, Tahiti. The beach services close in the early afternoon - so bring your own chair...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bryan Seattlite
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 8, 2012

Beautiful location but overpriced and aging building.

Big, comfortable beds, efficient housekeeping, friendly bartender. The ocean and pool views are fantastic and interesting. Our first room started leaking from the ceiling in the bedroom on the second night and smelled of rotten eggs. After waiting a half-hour, an engineer came up and told us we had to change rooms. We collected our things and waited as he said a bellhop would be arriving shortly. An hour later, we called and they apparently never dispatched one. We were moved to a smaller room, but it had an ocean view, which was nice. The adjacent beach is nice and quiet, albeit incredibly windy - don't expect to be able to sit on the sand, it just blows into your face the entire time. The pool is very comfortable and is nicely separated for children and adults. Towels are also available at every beck and call (both at the pool and beach), which is immensely appreciated. Overall, it's a nicely remodeled building, but you'll find parts that are way old (e.g. the ice room), and you might be hit with a leaking/stinky room. This place is not cheap (of course). We'd rather spend more on dinner, so we went to the Safeway in Lahaina and picked up some bagels so we didn't have to deal with finding breakfast or paying the $26/person for a continental breakfast (please). Finally, the activities are very expensive, but were a lot of fun. We did the snorkeling and underwater photography. At $90/person, it's expensive, but was a great experience. We were the only people on this expedition so we had free reign and a lot of time. The guide was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you know how to snorkel already, or know what to look out for in coral, you could skip the snorkeling and underwater photography activity and head over to Kapalua bay. Fantastic coral and underwater ecosystem. A lot of fun. Otherwise, it was totally worth the $90/person to have that guide and know what to do and what to look for. Also, go into Lahiana and hit up the Safeway for some snacks and drinks. We picked up some bagels, chips, and coke to help satisfy our munchies without paying through the nose for room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shadow2010
Business
Pasadena, California
Aug 24, 2012

Not so fantastic family getaway

We got the package and when the time got closer to the trip, I called and asked to make sure I would get the double beds I requested that you guys never even put in the system. When I gave my conf number, they were like, that's not our number, I was soo confused and then I realized it was because of your number is different. When you speak to a manager and when you know someone with a connection, you get upgraded to a suite because of their comment. I wish your hotels would treat everyone the same. I have a retail shop and I don't discriminate when I sell something on sale. very hurtful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler188
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 30, 2012

Friendly staff, good place to rest, but bad location

The good: friendly staff, was greeted at arrival/checkin with a drink and welcome neck wear (not sure what's called). The hotel, like others, is quite large, and can takes a few minutes to walk/get to the room. The pool and general settings are also decently kept and hotel in general was not busy at all (perhaps due to weather). I also appreciated the staff for not charging for additional $10 for parking (already paying $50 a day for resort fee for two rooms that I have for and with huge amount of free parking spaces, they should simply change the policy to have free parking for guests) The so so: Bath tub, on checkin did not seem thoroughly cleaned - found a few strands of hair and 'stuff' (not horribly bad but not what I would expect from this class of hotel). Rest of the room was fine. The bad: there appears to be a micro climate up at exactly where the Hotel is...most of the rest of Maui seemed to have fine weather but as soon as we drive up to the Hotel, it would be cloudy or worse raining. Each morning of a 4 days day was cloudy with scattered rain that later clears up a little then gets cloudy or rainy again. As soon as we drive further down (Kaanapali) the weather was significantly better - consistently at least during the time we stayed. For this reason alone, I cannot recommend this hotel - at least around this time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Traveller from Colorado
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 3, 2011

Decent Hotel

While The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua boasts a very professional and courteous staff, the hotel itself falls short of its reputation in some other areas. The staff, from front desk and concierge, to house keeping and room service are very warm and friendly. They make you feel welcome. One of the problems we had was with guests staying next door to us. While the hotel abides by the smoking-free law of the state of Hawaii, they did not do much to enforce it in this case. We were unable to use our room's balcony, which had a beautiful view, for the 5 days out of 7 days that we stayed there, due to second hand smoke of cigarette from balcony to the left of us. We couldn't even open the balcony door for that matter since the wind blew all the smoke right into our room. Imagine you're in paradise and you have to inhale someone else's cigarette smoke! This was loss of use in our opinion and prevented us from enjoying what we had paid for. This was brought to the attention of the staff and a manager on 2 occasions and both times we were assured that the matter would be resolved immediately. It did not happen until the smoking guests checked out days later. The second negative score would be the extra delivery tax on room service. It seems pretty obsolete to charge a guest a delivery tax. Usually, tips suffice, but apparently not at this hotel. Also, the office for guests is a tiny room with a computer and a screen in it. No room to sit down with a laptop and a couple of books. Overall, a very nice hotel, but sadly, I have to admit that I'm not too impressed with Ritz-Carlton, at least this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just want a relaxing vacation
Business
San Diego
Nov 14, 2010

Not as good as expected

The Ritz Carlton Kapalua was a nice resort but I expected better from a place with amenities for children. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely and had a bellman take our luggage to our room. He explained all the amenities about the hotel and pointed out where the gym, pools, beach, spa, and restaurants were located. Over the course of our stay, the staff always smiled and had a pleasant greeting. The housekeeping staff was especially pleasant with our 3 year old daughter and took the time to fold her blankets and line up her stuffed animals every day and that made her happy. The pool area and the beach were nice and my wife said the spa was very pleasant. Almost every morning, we went down to the Terrace Restaurant and had breakfast and the staff there was very pleasant and the food was delicious. Outside of breakfast, we only ate 4 other meals at the hotel the entire time. Two of those were room service which was very good, one was at the upstairs bar area by the lobby (terrible service, slow with food, forgettful with orders), and one was at the pool area (forgot to put the order in and we waited a total of an hour). We were comp'd for the two meals with bad service but it seems like we weren't the only ones complaining about service. As for the rest of the amenities, every thing was nice from the time we got up until right about dinner time. The pools were great and the beach was fun. From dinner time on, it felt like the hotel became kid-tolerant and not kid-friendly. There were no activities for small children other than the kids pool and playground but the "quiet time" started at 6pm so a 3 year old who screams with joy in the pool isn't welcome and the playground closes at 6pm anyway. We had to ask for a kids menu at all restaurants at dinner and it was all unhealthy food (fried or hot dog) with a side of fruit. We were the only people we saw with a small child for 2 days and felt like people looked at us like diseased rats after dinner. It got better after some other families showed up. I would go back if it was just my wife and I but I wouldn't go back with kids. Look elsewhere with small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach and pool area are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
resort stayer
Business
california
Jun 17, 2011

beautiful location but rude staff

I came here for two weeks and to be honest by the second week I switched resorts. The Ritz Carlton is world reknowned for its excellent service and luxurious resots.... at least it used to be. The staff was rude. The front desk people such as "[...]" and a "[...]" do not live up to their names. These girls had bad attitudes and made my stay that much more unenjoyable. The room service was mediocre and the overall feel of the resort can be somewhat pleasant minus the staff. However, if your used to staying at the Ritz Carlton and expect first class service, goto the Four Seasons or somewhere else. They have lost their touch and I am dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Front St.great place for shopping and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top