$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
497 reviews
Great place to relax

The best getaway ever! Beach is secluded and private so it makes the whole experience more... See full review

  • MariaLK
  • Aug 10, 2014
Mother and daughter getaway

I was spending the weekend on a much needed getaway with my daughter. My daughter is autistic and... See full review

  • Single Mom Lori
  • Jul 28, 2014
Soft Hawaiian music drifts on the breeze, welcoming you to the tropical seclusion and lush beauty that make the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua a paradise. Relax by one of three languid, tri-level pools, indulge in a beachside massage, and savor fine island cuisine. Surrounded by swaying palms and sculpted gardens, this resort offers premium accommodations and outstanding guest services. Guests can don their swimwear and flip-flops before stepping straight out onto award-winning D.T. Fleming Beach using the hotel access point. After a dip in the sea, head back to your room to wash away the sand with soapy bubbles in your luxurious marble bathtub, then dress for dinner and head to Kai Sushi for raw seafood delights.
Key facts
  • 463 guestrooms
  • 5 suites
  • 9 floors
  • 3 pools
  • Restaurants and bars:  The Terrace Chef-Crafted, Kai Sushi, The Beach House, Alaloa Lounge, The Pool Bar & Cafe, The Terrace, Aina Gourmet
  • Gift shop
  • Conference and event spaces: 18 rooms
  • Ballroom and banquet facilities
  • 15-room spa
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Tranquil views of Fleming Beach stretch across the sheltered waters of Honokahua Bay, inviting you to enjoy this remarkable Maui property. The island's natural beauty is yours to explore with the Ritz-Carlton's exclusive access to Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment experience (charges apply). Practice photography under the ocean while you snorkel through brightly-colored coral reefs, or take a hiking tour deep into the Hawaiian rainforest. Two nearby golf courses offer world-class links with vistas set among historic pineapple plantations. Area dining selections range from farm-to-table barbeque, to exquisite sushi and exotic island fare. From on-site shopping excursions to horseback rides along the beach, design your days and nights around sunshine and starlight.
Hints and tips
The atmosphere at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is one of relaxation, but you'll need to make reservations for spa treatments, massage services and the golf courses.

Multilingual staff can help out with luggage storage and complimentary shuttle services, and the concierge gladly makes arrangements for limos and town cars (charges apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0007 -156.654
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport (OGG) Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM - complimentary shuttle from Kapalua airport only)
Area description
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is a AAA Five Diamond beachfront West Maui resort situated in the heart of Kapalua, less than 10 miles from downtown Lahaina and Ka'anapali Beach. Both cultural and environmental appreciation, combined with world-class service and exclusive facilities deliver a true escape.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Terrace Chef-Crafted
The Terrace Chef Crafted Hawaiian Cuisine the resort's newest dining experience featuring distinctive menus inspired by the freshest seasonal, organic and sustainable ingredients from Hawaii's local farms and Pacific coastlines which are showcased as brilliantly flavorful, chef-crafted delicacies. These culinary masterpieces are served alongside a world-class selection of fine wines and classic cocktails redefined with innovative mixology and local influence. The world-class cuisine and robust wine selection of The Terrace Chef Crafted is complemented by dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean, the Pailolo Channel and the lush flora of the resort. Open for dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30pm to 9:30pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (497)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 497
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boxof Rocks
Seattle, Wa
May 29, 2014

Ritz-Carlton

I for one was very disappointed in the Ritz. After having stayed in many Ritz-Carlton's in the world, this hotel does not rank well with them. I stayed in a Deluxe Room with Ocean View. The Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, both my wife and I had backaches when we would get up in the morning. The furniture in the looked like something from the 70's. Amenities, Coffee and Tea in the room were undrinkable. No microwave, which is pretty common in today's rooms. Lots of noise in the hotel as construction crews were replacing windows and working on the plumbing. Pool was one of the bright spots. It was nice and staff was very friendly and helpful. Beach is too far from the Hotel and not really very nice. Food costs in the hotel were excessive, and 2 of the 5 restaurants were shut down 2 days a week each. If you don't have a rental car, you will have to depend on a shuttle to get you in to La Haina. Travel package was great in that they pick up the 30 dollar a day resort fee. but that did not stop them from trying to charge me anyways, until I pointed it out that it was paid for already. For me and my wife we will not stay again at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt99
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Where was my champagne?

After reading through other reviews I decided on the Ritz. Sounds pretty fancy. The hotel is very nice and the Staff is Extremely helpful. While checking in 2 different people asked if we were celebrating anything and both times we said it was our Honeymoon. I guess I set my expectations too high when I was hoping to get the same gift that others got when they mentioned it was their Honeymoon. Well needless to say that set an overcast over the whole experience when your expectations aren't met right from the start. Besides that the beach at the hotel is practically unusable because of strong currents. There is not much besides golf within walking distance. $12 pina colada seems a bit pricey to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother renting snorkeling gear at the hotel recommended place. They have it for $8 a day all up and down the highway.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aloha and be careful
USA
Apr 13, 2013

oh, well...

I stay at 4+ star hotels over 45 days / yr., and for this location my expectations were not met, and considering the hotel's distance from outside restaurants and shops , we expected to have good menus, hrs of operations, and just a little greeting at the restaurant would be good too. We visited the Bar/restaurant on April 7 at 2pm and excited about trying fancy/tropical drinks, and the bartender would not comment about any drinks, so...we had beers an sandwiches (that's their mune#. Next evening we tried their sushi restraurant, althought pricey, but service and food were great. a night beofore leaving Maui, we thought of having our meal and drinks at the bar/restaurant and when went there, they had about 8-10 customers. 2 tables on the balcony and 2 tables inside were occupied, plus a couple at the bar. Bartender and another lady staff, looked like a manager, were standing by one of the tables and having a good time with 2 customers and yet, 2 other tables were starring at them and awaiting service. Of course we were not greeted and we passed by them and sat ourselves down and waited. a young man appeared from the kitchen and asked if were're there to order food / drinks, and we said yes, so he gave us the menus and left for good. We waited and waited, bartender and the other staff member were chatting away and sometimes looked at us too, but I think they were just waiting for us to give up and leave. It was around 8:30pm, so we got to our rental car and drove to another Hotel #15 min. away#. I wouldn't name the hotel so you don't think I'm favouring them, but it was H???t. Service / menu / staff...were awesome and that's were we'll be staying next time. Overall, Ritz offered us very comfortable/clean room, but again we have that in our home. Oh, well...I think management at the Ritz are fully aware of the issues. Anyone can see how disconnect their staff are #except the houskeeping who are doing there jobs).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It would save you time to just go out to eat. You'd need to drive a little thought.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA
Jul 16, 2011

over-priced

great location, but room was way too pricey.. will stay at a different place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drealj
San Jose, California
Jan 12, 2014

Birthday Letdown

First, the trip was for my birthday. We check-in and nothing; not even a polite Happy Birthday from the front desk. Then I'm told we would be charged $30/day for internet access. Seriously? 30 bucks? But, only one item online at a time. Meaning, my iPad could be using the wireless if my husband was online via his computer. Next, the TV remote doesn't even work. If this hotel is rated as a 5 star hotel, the TV remote should at least work. My last and biggest issue: every night the hotel staff would come pound on the door and ask if we wanted turn down service. This was too much! The hotel should have a request card or something for people to fill out. Not my favorite place to stay and I don't recommend this hotel to anyone looking for relaxation. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loving and Living Life
Knoxville, TN
Feb 11, 2014

Relaxing

Room furnishings need to be updated. The bed was worn out and you felt like you were going to roll out of the bed. That being said, the resort has a very relaxing atmosphere. Great walking trails, especially the Coastal Trail. In addition to the room rate you will be charged $30/day as a resort fee. We were informed of this before the trip. You will also be charged $18/ day to self park. If you don't want to drive to dinner and shopping, this resort is not for you. If you want to get away from it all, this is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ferask
Seattle
Dec 10, 2011

Good Hotel. Not a Great Location

Its a nice property but its isolated from the action. If you like to have easy access to shopping and other activities, this is not the hotel for you. If you like peace and quite and an un-disturbed vacation, this hotel is a good option. The food is great, especially the banyan tree restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Banyan Tree

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love to Travel to HI
Portland, OR
May 31, 2012

Quiet Location, Little disappointing

For a 5-star hotel we found the facilities to be a little disappointing. There was a pool and the location near the coast was beautiful. However, the restaurants were average, menu limited, bar not very cosy, facilities not exceptional in any way- even a little run down in parts (carpets not clean, fixtures missing, for example). Room was average for 3-5 star - nicely appointed but nothing beyond what you'd expect from a 5-star. There was a $25 daily resort fee to cover water and coffee in the room. Service was average. Obviously a nice hotel but not necessarily worth the price compared to other high end hotels I have stayed in before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vincent L
Boca Raton, Fl
Mar 28, 2013

Not up to Ritz Carlton standards

I've stayed at many Ritz Carlton hotels and the one in Kapalua is not worthy of the name. It is a very nice hotel but when your expecting great it's lacking. The staff as always was very nice and helpful and the room was nice and comfortable. That's where it ended though. The restaurants were absurdly priced and nothing special. There were no restaurants open for breakfast except room service and in my mind that made no sense. Here you have great views in the morning and they want you in you room instead of exploring the beach or pool. Again it's a nice hotel but not worth the price. If your coming to Maui looking for a great vacation and top notch amenities skip the ritz and try the 4 seasons. You be glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trappermd30
morgantown, wv
May 25, 2013

not the typical ritz experience

after staying at several ritz before, we were very excited to stay at the kapalua ritz. unfortunately, this ritz is not up to par with the others. our deluxe ocean view room had no ocean view. it did have a great view of the pine trees though. when we called to discuss this with staff, they started to argue with my wife about what an ocean view meant. there were also stains on our sheets. the towels were also stained. the sushi restaurant is only open thurs-mon. the poolside food closes early and the room service is ok, but extremely pricey. we were so unhappy with our experience, we chose to switch hotels after two days, instead of our original 9 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search