$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
525 out of 525
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrtheman
Business
Tacoma, WA
Dec 9, 2013

Almost Ritz-Carlton Level

Ritz-Carlton Kapalua had many of the things you'd expect of this property. Rooms were comfortable, but each(we had to move once) had a bit more sand from the beach than we'd have expected. Property is a bit spread out, meaning some walking was necessary. Quiet for this time of year, a plus to us. Valet/bell staff was excellent, easily the best of the hotel. Strange fishy smell, presumably from Kai Sushi, on the nights it was open - in our opinion you should never smell the fish in a sushi restaurant, especially out past the lobby. Nice property, but we will stay elsewhere when next on Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evergreen, CO
Aug 16, 2010

Beautiful hotel

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, beautiful hotel, the Ritz is it. If you are looking for hopping nightlife and places you can walk to for dinner and shopping, this isn't for you unless you don't mind driving. My husband and I loved the location because the resort is on its own without other hotels on top of you. The hotel is beautiful including the rooms, pool and restaurants. You could probably stay here for your entire trip and be happy if you wanted to, although the food is extremely pricey for what you get. Napili and Kaanapali are just a short trip down the street if you feel like trying another beach, place for dinner or to go shopping. Our room was beautiful, it faced the pool and we were even able to see the ocean from our balcony (we had booked a Deluxe Room but asked just before we got there if we could get a room facing the pool). I really can't say anything bad about the room other than the bathroom wasn't always spotless (to my standards) but it was clean for the most part. The bed was so comfortable that we weren't even looking forward to our own bed back home (which we usually do). And instead of the icky scratchy 'reusable' comforters they had down comforters with soft, white, clean covers. It was just heavenly. We love the beach rather than pools but the beach at the hotel was rather windy and the water was a bit more choppy than other nearby beaches. Still beautiful and we did try it a couple of days. No chairs are provided by the hotel so you either have to bring your own or sit on your towel. As for the pool, we wish we took more advantage of it. We went once or twice towards the end of the trip and realized how relaxing and nice it was. As for the food, there are several restaurants at the hotel. Not all are open every night. The food surprisingly wasn't very good. I was expecting the food at the resort to be expensive but I was really let down at the meals I had. We ate at the hotel 5 of the 7 nights we were there. The Banyan Tree is the priciest restaurant on site. It has a beautiful view of the ocean and grounds. I ordered the chicken dish and that is what I got, plain boring chicken, no sauce, no sides, just a piece of baked chicken with some salt and pepper seasoning. Very disappointing and was even more upset that the entree alone was like $50. Service was good here although they were a bit pushy on some of the expensive items. Service at the Terrace Restaurant and upstairs at the Bar/outside area for dinner was pretty poor. Our waiters were not friendly and we felt that they wanted to be somewhere else. They just seemed annoyed at being there. Food at both places were ok (hit or miss). Room service for dinner was just ok. Service everywhere else on the property (front desk, valet/outside greeters, concierge, spa, pool attendants) was excellent. Overall, we were pretty satisfied and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If the Ritz' beach is too windy for you, try Kapalua Beach or Napili Beach. They are just down the street from the hotel. You can take the Shuttle or drive and park. So beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 20, 2009

I want to live here!

The service, the grounds, even the smell... everything was practically perfect. I'm picky, and I could only see a few very minor flaws in the facilities or guest room. The room service was a bit disappointing, but overall the food was also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet at "The Terrace" is exceptional. It isn't cheap, but includes made to order eggs benedict and pancakes (including banana-macadamia pancakes) and high quality items like smoked salmon in addition to the usual egg dishes, potatoes, fresh fruit, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 31, 2010

very good

excellent service, a little bit expensive ($30 breakfast buffet for example) and missing microwave in rooms. All the rest was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A lot of opportunities on Maui for different activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Sep 13, 2010

Very nice...mostly

Bed was a bit uncomfortable especially towards the end of the week. Pools are open 24hrs which sounds good until you realize that means people are making noise in the pool 24hrs. They nickel and dime you for everything. Or more like $1 and $5 you. Don't forget anything like toothpaste. Nothing's free here. ...But it was nice and the food was very good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Mar 19, 2010

Unbeatable quality for the price

The resort is first class and conveniently located to an area conference. However, the location is also where most of the wind is which made the water very rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy groceries for suite at Safeway in Lahaina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fromrochester
Business
Henderson, NV
Jan 21, 2010

One Great Resort

This is a beautiful, very peaceful resort with a great staff. There is a wonderful beach at the foot of the hotel itself as well as another great beach for snorkeling accessible with the hotel shuttle. There are several restaurant options outside the hotel on the resort itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redwood City, CA
May 29, 2009

5 star resort on maui

Unfortunately, our toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom on the first night. We had to pack everything up and move at 11pm after flying all day. The service from the front desk was not what i would expect from the Ritz, a premium 5 start hotel. Not their fault, but the power went out for most of our third night. Otherwise the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. we had the orbitz deal, so it was a fantastic price for a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Banyan Tree restaurant was amazing. A must. Plantation House was also amazing for the view. Take the free shuttle. Renting a car is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom in Maui
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 17, 2010

Pleased but not impressed

While the hotel location and grounds were wonderful and the rooms were clean and comfortable with a great balcony for hanging out, there was nothing exceptional about the experience. We stayed in a room facing the golf course and also had a partial view of the ocean, and it was very peaceful and calming. We enjoyed the pool area most. There was a fun kiddie pool and playground for our daughter to play in, and the Pool Cafe had good quality food and drinks. The staff was pleasant - always with a greeting in the hallway and typically willing to answer questions about the local area. Compared to other resort areas that we visited in Maui, it was more secluded and peaceful which we preferred over the busier areas. We chose the hotel because it was one of the smaller ones, but at the end of the day, it's still a big resort without personalized service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Honolua Store which is just across the hotel parking lot is a great place for an inexpensive breakfast and snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Feb 20, 2011

Stay in Feb at Ritz

Very nice properties. Beach is smaller but very nice. Interior also very nice, but needs some repair, ie shower control loose from wall, ac musty smelling. costly to use business office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sansei VERY good. be prepared to wait for a table

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top