$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
496 reviews
Great place to relax

The best getaway ever! Beach is secluded and private so it makes the whole experience more... See full review

  • MariaLK
  • Aug 10, 2014
Mother and daughter getaway

I was spending the weekend on a much needed getaway with my daughter. My daughter is autistic and... See full review

  • Single Mom Lori
  • Jul 28, 2014
Soft Hawaiian music drifts on the breeze, welcoming you to the tropical seclusion and lush beauty that make the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua a paradise. Relax by one of three languid, tri-level pools, indulge in a beachside massage, and savor fine island cuisine. Surrounded by swaying palms and sculpted gardens, this resort offers premium accommodations and outstanding guest services. Guests can don their swimwear and flip-flops before stepping straight out onto award-winning D.T. Fleming Beach using the hotel access point. After a dip in the sea, head back to your room to wash away the sand with soapy bubbles in your luxurious marble bathtub, then dress for dinner and head to Kai Sushi for raw seafood delights.
Key facts
  • 463 guestrooms
  • 5 suites
  • 9 floors
  • 3 pools
  • Restaurants and bars:  The Terrace Chef-Crafted, Kai Sushi, The Beach House, Alaloa Lounge, The Pool Bar & Cafe, The Terrace, Aina Gourmet
  • Gift shop
  • Conference and event spaces: 18 rooms
  • Ballroom and banquet facilities
  • 15-room spa
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Tranquil views of Fleming Beach stretch across the sheltered waters of Honokahua Bay, inviting you to enjoy this remarkable Maui property. The island's natural beauty is yours to explore with the Ritz-Carlton's exclusive access to Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment experience (charges apply). Practice photography under the ocean while you snorkel through brightly-colored coral reefs, or take a hiking tour deep into the Hawaiian rainforest. Two nearby golf courses offer world-class links with vistas set among historic pineapple plantations. Area dining selections range from farm-to-table barbeque, to exquisite sushi and exotic island fare. From on-site shopping excursions to horseback rides along the beach, design your days and nights around sunshine and starlight.
Hints and tips
The atmosphere at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is one of relaxation, but you'll need to make reservations for spa treatments, massage services and the golf courses.

Multilingual staff can help out with luggage storage and complimentary shuttle services, and the concierge gladly makes arrangements for limos and town cars (charges apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0007 -156.654
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport (OGG) Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM - complimentary shuttle from Kapalua airport only)
Area description
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is a AAA Five Diamond beachfront West Maui resort situated in the heart of Kapalua, less than 10 miles from downtown Lahaina and Ka'anapali Beach. Both cultural and environmental appreciation, combined with world-class service and exclusive facilities deliver a true escape.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Terrace Chef-Crafted
The Terrace Chef Crafted Hawaiian Cuisine the resort's newest dining experience featuring distinctive menus inspired by the freshest seasonal, organic and sustainable ingredients from Hawaii's local farms and Pacific coastlines which are showcased as brilliantly flavorful, chef-crafted delicacies. These culinary masterpieces are served alongside a world-class selection of fine wines and classic cocktails redefined with innovative mixology and local influence. The world-class cuisine and robust wine selection of The Terrace Chef Crafted is complemented by dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean, the Pailolo Channel and the lush flora of the resort. Open for dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30pm to 9:30pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (496)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
496 out of 496
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparcs
Perrysburg, Ohio
Apr 5, 2010

My First Ritz Carlton Experience

First trip to Maui and first time stay at a Ritz Carlton hotel. It took a few days for Maui to grow on me because I was comparing it to my first trip to the Hawaiian Islands (Kauai), which I loved. I was immediately taken by the Ritz Carlton's hospital staff and the beauty of our room and the location in general. I thoroughly enjoyed my spa experience and highly recommend this to anyone staying at the hotel. The only negatives would be the extremely high restaurant prices. We chose to use the Kapalua gift / grocery and deli marketplace which were only steps away from the hotel for breakfast and snacks. The only other surprise was the noise factor whereby we were forced to close our patio door due to the wind or the chatter of guests playing shuffleboard, swinging on the hammock or slamming doors on the lower level upon exiting their room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The road to Hana was just ok. Too much hype for the amount of driving that was involved and because of previous scenic drives that I have experienced, the journey as well as the destination may be overly sold.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2010

Great location

Very slow service at the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AttyPete
Mansfield, MA
Mar 3, 2011

Nice hotel & beach, but expensive

The Ritz-Carleton Hotel is a very nice facility located next to Flemming Beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge staff. Late check-outs are a problem for management and they make you pay for an extra day if you have an evening flight. Unless you are going to stay just at the resort, a rental car is necessary as taxi fare to airport is $105 each way and $35 each way to the town of Lahaina. Location on far northwest coast of Maui is the furthest away of the west coast hotels - the Hyatt and Westin are more convenient. Plantation House Restaurant at neighboring Plantation Golf Course had the best food and service (even better than the Banyon Tree next to the hotel itself)and it is easily accessible by resort shuttle. A 3 minute walk to the resort store and deli provides for affordable lunches and breakfast stuff if you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurants. The Spa was top notch, although the couples massage for my wife and I was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Reserve your luau tickets for the Old Town Luau in Lahaina in advance before departing as they frequently sell out a week in advance. The luxury van tour by Temptation Tours along the Road to Hana offered incredible scenery. The tour is worthwhile as driving it oneself along 600 twisting turns and 50 one-lane bridges is not for the faint of heart. The sunrise tour to the top of the dormant volcano as Mt. Haleakala was beautiful, even if it means getting up at 2:15 AM. If you have breathing difficulties, check to make sure the trade winds are blowing. VOG (http://hawaii.gov/gov/vog) does not usually impact Maui, but it did during our Feb. 2011 trip making an emergency room visit necessary for my asthmatic wife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki Doodle
White Lake, MI
Aug 24, 2009

5 Star Hotel But Pack a Lunch!

The hotel was very clean, and the staff was excellent. We were greeted with leis, and a much needed comfy bed after our long flight. The pool is set up with cabanas (but no swim up bar), and it's very clean. There were a lot of kids, which for me, was sometimes entertaining and other times too noisy early in the morning. Our ocean view was really only viewable if you stood up to the balcony door because it was really a POOL VIEW, as are half the rooms there. I guess if you can see it partly from your room, you technically have a ocean view. The food is VERY EXPENSIVE. Ouch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

BIGGEST ADVICE for anyone who's NOT RICH: pack a lunch! Or find some good places to eat off the property. You get a great hotel for the price, but with it comes the expectation that it's ok to pay a day's salary for a meal. We mistakenly relied on the hotel food the first day we got there, and after paying that bill for a burger and fries, and a little sushi, we swore never to do that again. NEXT, RENT A CAR. You'll need it to get to cheaper (more reasonable) offsite restaurants and events. There's a Melting Pot restaurant and an Outback Steakhouse not too far from the hotel area. You'll pass it on your way to the hotel. In my opinion, if you're spending that much for a meal, go to The Melting Pot, it's much more worth it. If you're rich, no worries. The food's pretty good, and you'll never have to leave the resort. It's gorgeous, and there are several places to eat without ever getting into a car. If you're just spoiling yourself for a once-in-a-lifetime event but don't really want to spend $500-800/day, plan on getting out a little. This resort is north of the main string of resorts, so you'll definitely be driving anywhere you go to shop or see the sights. The resort doesn't even offer a Luau. My advice, if money's an issue, spend it on fun things to do and go for a cheaper hotel so you've got more money for the things to do. Most events are over a hundred/ea for ANYTHING including horseback riding, snorkling, surfing, zipline, etc. What goes with cheaper hotels (I said cheaper, not CHEAP)? Cheaper, good food. Think about it and best of luck! The much acclaimed "Gazebo" restaurant (look it up, people wait an hour in line for breakfast - we did, too) is not far from this hotel and in a very blue collar resort area that's on the same waterfront. Try some cool cheaper things like surfer-watching on the popular Front Street, or a day trip on the Road to Hana, and Happy Travels!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alvinfromhawaii
San Francisco, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Luxurious

The hotel was amazing. Staff were very friendly. Hotel was beautiful. Amenities were awesome. A pleasant surprise was when we got to our room they had bought in a crib for our son and provided wall plugs, fever strips, bandaids, shampoo, lotion, blanket, pail and a stuffed animal. One thing to remember is that there is a $25 daily resort charge so it is best to make the most of the resort facilities. They also have a kid pool and play ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of local places near by that are much more affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Destination Wedding Goer
Idaho
Dec 4, 2012

Beautiful Resort, to many hidden fees

The staff was fantastic, the view doesn't get any better. The ammenities are super. But the locations was a long ways from anything we did. They charged a $25.00 fee a day on top of paying top rate for a hotel which I feel was rediculous and then also charge you to park. Depends on how much money you have if $40.00 a day minimum on top of the hotel rate doesn't bother you will love it! I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do a Luau

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeNina
Colorado
Jul 4, 2009

Honeymoon on Kapalua

Great location for our honeymoon. People talked about how windy it is on the west side of the island, and it is but the wind is appreciated when it warms up. The food (please note we are not fish fans and the fish I heard was good) was not worth the money. Take the hike up to the Plantation House for good food as reasonable prices and great views. The service was more like 70/30. 30% of the time we felt like we were intruding on their property. Once or twice they sideswiped us going done to the beach with their carts. 70% they were great. So take that as not everyone can be nice. The grounds and pool were excellent. 75% full and we never had an issue finding a chair at the pool or feeling overcrowded. Most of the time we felt we had the resort to ourselves. Great place to get away from it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Must go to the Plantation house for breakfast or lunch. Meals $8-12 for good food and great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nate1971
Business
Denver
May 17, 2013

Nice hotal but the weather??

The hotel is great but please beware of where the hoteel is located. It is on the windward side of the island and it WILL RAIN. Most days it is windy and you can count on rain during your stay. The good news, if it does rain you can drive 4-5 miles south and get to nice beaches where it will be dry. If this hotel was located 5 miles south it would be the only place to stay on Maui. If you want sunshine everyday of your stay, stay closer to Lahaina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Great Time!

The Ritz is a great hotel...You really can't go wrong with them. It is located on the west side of Maui close to where there was decent nighttime activities if you just wanted to walk around. The rooms were well kept and up to par with what we expected. The service was great too, but there was definite room for improvement, not that we had a bad time. Just realized, its hard to have a true 5 star experience when the theme of the island is just hang loose and enjoy. None the less, my wife and I had a great time and enjoyed our stay at the Ritz. By the way, if you have the option at the time of booking or call the hotel in advance and ask for a pool view. You will have a better shot of seeing the ocean than the garden view which focusses on the surrounding golf courses. (Think of the hotel with arms flanking out to the side encompassing the pool area...If you are on the outside of those arms you will have a better shot at the landscape then the ocean). Having driven to Wailea and seen the Grand Wilea and the Four seasons, the hotel grounds each have their unique points, but didn't feel that one out shined the rest. The good and bad things of the location of the Ritz was it was an hour drive from the airport and obviously a distance from the east side of the island where the Road to Hana is as well as other east side outings, but in comparison to Wailea, it was nice to drive to along the coast line and walk along Lahaina at night. The Spa is up to par with other 5 star resorts we have been too, but very pricey...It was almost $600 dollars for an 80 minute couples massage with the Service Charge (AKA tip) included). They actually threw in a 20 minute scrub which was a special they were having while we were there. All in all, my wife and I were happy with our stay and would recommend this to a friend. Take Care and Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It never hurts to contact your concierge service ahead of time to help plan your week, most things can be reserved ahead of time without a deposit and 24 hour cancellation fee. The Zip line was booked solid while we were there. Don't only rely on your concierge, I would also use guide books to direct you to more enjoyable and reputable excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PWS2011
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 5, 2011

Ritz Carlton like a Ritz Cracker

The hotel did not meet our expectations as a luxury type resort. For having a mandatory resort fee, we expected that there would be free or a small fee for water sports equipment, instead the hotel did not offer these amenities. Additionally, the hotel failed to give us "lei's" upon arrival. The concierge was very helpful with planning activities but they were always looking to "sell us" the highest costing activity. I guess that's how all hotels would be like. Overall, we expected a lot more from the Ritz Carlton as a luxury hotel instead it would have been better to just stay at a full service Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the hotel is $30 per person. The same meal can be bought at the Honolulu Store less than a block away for $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search