$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
521 out of 521
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa Valley, Ca
Jan 23, 2011

Not quite ocean view!

Everyone at the hotel was very nice and professional, though we were quite dissappointed with the "ocean view". This was by no means the case. Quite frustrating and we will not do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaliMegan
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jan 25, 2011

An average stay at the Ritz Carlton

My husband and I spent 7 nights here in January (2011), and we were both a bit disappointed with the quality of the experience provided by the Ritz Carlton Kapalua. If you're accustomed to luxury hotels and resorts that pay careful attention to detail and provide outstanding service, I strongly suggest that you consider the Fairmont or perhaps the Four Seasons. The bottom line is that there is nothing particularly exceptional about the level of service, quality of accommodations, or the range of amenities offered at the Ritz Carlton. To be fair, the hotel is relatively pleasant and the staff is helpful, but not any more so than what you would expect from a Westin, Sheraton, or Hyatt (which don't have the reputation of Ritz Carlton, and are usually a lot less expensive). Overall, I was disappointed with the upkeep of the hotel. The 2008 remodel touted on the hotel's website was selective at best. Beyond the main entrance to the hotel (which is modern and comfortable, and provides a favorable impression), one will quickly notice years of wear and tear (shabby, worn out carpet, and doors and trim in serious need of repainting). The rooms have definitely been remodeled, but I thought the furnishings were on the cheap side. For example, the laminate floors (!) in our room were already severely scratched, and a couple of the planks were lifting from the subfloor. The cleanliness of our room also left something to be desired: lots of scary looking mold in the shower, and inconsistent vacuuming and dusting by the cleaning staff. I was also a bit surprised that I had to leave a note for the cleaning staff asking for replacement soap and shampoo. If someone had bothered to clean the shower during my 7-night stay, I suspect that it would have been obvious that our supply needed to be replenished. For a three or perhaps even a four-star hotel, these sorts of things might have been easily overlooked. But my expectations for luxury hotels are much higher, and sadly, the Ritz Carlton falls way short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt Pleasant, SC
Oct 5, 2009

Slightly disappointing

The Ritz-Carlton Kapalua was not quite up to my expectations of a luxury hotel. Rooms were attractively and comfortably furnished--nothing really dramatically special. BUT the pillows smelled musty and sour--I had to ask to have them replaced. Towels were fine, but not as fluffy and luxurious as I might have expected at a Ritz. Staff, especially the concierge staff, was unfailingly polite, cheerful and helpful. Food was fine, mostly (the chicken added to a salad one night was so dry as to be inedible), but everything is WILDLY expensive. Any mixed drink was a minimum of $12. Cold breakfast buffet (while nice) was $20; hot buffet was $28. Sandwiches were crazy expensive. Admittedly, it's the Ritz and Maui, a pricey combination. The pool was lovely, but unless you paid $100 a day for a cabana-ette (the "real" cabanas were $255 a day!), there was virtually no shade. A few umbrellas for the fair skinned and cancer-averse might be nice! All of this, plus the somewhat remote location on West Maui, might incline me to explore hotels in Ka'anapali on my next trip. If you're a runner, keep in mind this is very hilly territory! The Internet access is not wireless, and the wired location is hard to find (hidden in the side of the TV armoire) and awkward to use--small shelf that barely fit my Netbook, and no real chair/desk set up. Daily resort fee of $16 is annoying, and should just be merged into the room rate. Shopping boutiques are again very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 23, 2010

Fred

The bed was not great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicolle Vacation Warrior
Business
Temecula, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Ritz-Carlton

I was very excited to stay at the Ritz the location was amazing and the staff was great. However, as the week went on our room wasn't getting cleaned as well and that bothered me. In addition the fitness room smelled horrible and some of the amentities were average. I also didn't like how when we got there they added a $20. a day resort fee. I have mixed feeling about the Ritz, but it isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2011

Review

The hotel rooms were nice but not amazing. We stayed there for a great deal but if I would have paid full price, I would have been very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Traveller from Colorado
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 3, 2011

Decent Hotel

While The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua boasts a very professional and courteous staff, the hotel itself falls short of its reputation in some other areas. The staff, from front desk and concierge, to house keeping and room service are very warm and friendly. They make you feel welcome. One of the problems we had was with guests staying next door to us. While the hotel abides by the smoking-free law of the state of Hawaii, they did not do much to enforce it in this case. We were unable to use our room's balcony, which had a beautiful view, for the 5 days out of 7 days that we stayed there, due to second hand smoke of cigarette from balcony to the left of us. We couldn't even open the balcony door for that matter since the wind blew all the smoke right into our room. Imagine you're in paradise and you have to inhale someone else's cigarette smoke! This was loss of use in our opinion and prevented us from enjoying what we had paid for. This was brought to the attention of the staff and a manager on 2 occasions and both times we were assured that the matter would be resolved immediately. It did not happen until the smoking guests checked out days later. The second negative score would be the extra delivery tax on room service. It seems pretty obsolete to charge a guest a delivery tax. Usually, tips suffice, but apparently not at this hotel. Also, the office for guests is a tiny room with a computer and a screen in it. No room to sit down with a laptop and a couple of books. Overall, a very nice hotel, but sadly, I have to admit that I'm not too impressed with Ritz-Carlton, at least this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John NY
Business
Armonk, New York
Feb 4, 2014

Not so good if you don't golf

Beautiful grounds, and probably wonderful for golfers. We found the beach was not user friendly at all. Very high surf when we were there so you really had to fight the surf to get in the water. No umbrellas and reclining chairs near beach. A limited number of chairs on bluff above beach together with a few fancy recliners with awning for which you have to pay extra. A different set of truly awful singers and musicians in main lobby off bar/restaurant every day. Except for excellent buffer breakfast, restaurants have poor menu. However, excellent restaurants nearby which you can reach by hotel shuttle. Avoid in Jan-Feb. Weather was very poor when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pineapple Grill restaurant is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PmTrain
Business
San Francisco
May 5, 2014

Anniversary get away

Perfect for those who want to kinda disappear. It was my wife and I's 4th anniversary and we were celebrating our 1st child being in the oven. Needless to say she wasn't doing too many "heavy" things. the Ritz was a great blend of everything for everyone. A little too secluded from "action" for us but very great nonetheless. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Slappy Cakes for breakfast!!! Only about a mile down the road. For my pregnant wife it was a must, but for anyone looking for the best breakfast you can imagine it's worth the jaunt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Heather
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 17, 2009

Fantastic vacation

Our stay was a wonderful get-a-way! The hotel was awesome! The grounds are beautiful & very well kept. The golf is amazing! The pools & beach area are amazing as well! We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can pay a fee for a week of unlimited golf that is the same price as two individual rounds. Golf courses are beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top