$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
496 reviews
Great place to relax

The best getaway ever! Beach is secluded and private so it makes the whole experience more... See full review

  • MariaLK
  • Aug 10, 2014
Mother and daughter getaway

I was spending the weekend on a much needed getaway with my daughter. My daughter is autistic and... See full review

  • Single Mom Lori
  • Jul 28, 2014
Soft Hawaiian music drifts on the breeze, welcoming you to the tropical seclusion and lush beauty that make the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua a paradise. Relax by one of three languid, tri-level pools, indulge in a beachside massage, and savor fine island cuisine. Surrounded by swaying palms and sculpted gardens, this resort offers premium accommodations and outstanding guest services. Guests can don their swimwear and flip-flops before stepping straight out onto award-winning D.T. Fleming Beach using the hotel access point. After a dip in the sea, head back to your room to wash away the sand with soapy bubbles in your luxurious marble bathtub, then dress for dinner and head to Kai Sushi for raw seafood delights.
Key facts
  • 463 guestrooms
  • 5 suites
  • 9 floors
  • 3 pools
  • Restaurants and bars:  The Terrace Chef-Crafted, Kai Sushi, The Beach House, Alaloa Lounge, The Pool Bar & Cafe, The Terrace, Aina Gourmet
  • Gift shop
  • Conference and event spaces: 18 rooms
  • Ballroom and banquet facilities
  • 15-room spa
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Tranquil views of Fleming Beach stretch across the sheltered waters of Honokahua Bay, inviting you to enjoy this remarkable Maui property. The island's natural beauty is yours to explore with the Ritz-Carlton's exclusive access to Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment experience (charges apply). Practice photography under the ocean while you snorkel through brightly-colored coral reefs, or take a hiking tour deep into the Hawaiian rainforest. Two nearby golf courses offer world-class links with vistas set among historic pineapple plantations. Area dining selections range from farm-to-table barbeque, to exquisite sushi and exotic island fare. From on-site shopping excursions to horseback rides along the beach, design your days and nights around sunshine and starlight.
Hints and tips
The atmosphere at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is one of relaxation, but you'll need to make reservations for spa treatments, massage services and the golf courses.

Multilingual staff can help out with luggage storage and complimentary shuttle services, and the concierge gladly makes arrangements for limos and town cars (charges apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0007 -156.654
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport (OGG) Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM - complimentary shuttle from Kapalua airport only)
Area description
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is a AAA Five Diamond beachfront West Maui resort situated in the heart of Kapalua, less than 10 miles from downtown Lahaina and Ka'anapali Beach. Both cultural and environmental appreciation, combined with world-class service and exclusive facilities deliver a true escape.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Terrace Chef-Crafted
The Terrace Chef Crafted Hawaiian Cuisine the resort's newest dining experience featuring distinctive menus inspired by the freshest seasonal, organic and sustainable ingredients from Hawaii's local farms and Pacific coastlines which are showcased as brilliantly flavorful, chef-crafted delicacies. These culinary masterpieces are served alongside a world-class selection of fine wines and classic cocktails redefined with innovative mixology and local influence. The world-class cuisine and robust wine selection of The Terrace Chef Crafted is complemented by dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean, the Pailolo Channel and the lush flora of the resort. Open for dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30pm to 9:30pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (496)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
496 out of 496
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loving and Living Life
Knoxville, TN
Feb 11, 2014

Relaxing

Room furnishings need to be updated. The bed was worn out and you felt like you were going to roll out of the bed. That being said, the resort has a very relaxing atmosphere. Great walking trails, especially the Coastal Trail. In addition to the room rate you will be charged $30/day as a resort fee. We were informed of this before the trip. You will also be charged $18/ day to self park. If you don't want to drive to dinner and shopping, this resort is not for you. If you want to get away from it all, this is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redmond, WA
Mar 11, 2011

Very good but not great

The hotel is in quite a dramatic but slightly remote location. For a luxury hotel, it was not outstanding. The views are good. The rooms are good. The staff addressed our needs but only one lady (who cleaned our room) was in any way exceptional and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Wouldn't return but only because I think there are probably many equally good (and probably better) hotels in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pineapple Grill is easily accessible from the hotel grounds. The staff are wonderful (we were remembered after one visit a week prior), the food is very good indeed and, if you go Wednesday's they have a 50% off wine promotion and, if you go twice, you can get dessert for free the second time. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bryan Seattlite
Seattle, Washington
Jul 8, 2012

Beautiful location but overpriced and aging building.

Big, comfortable beds, efficient housekeeping, friendly bartender. The ocean and pool views are fantastic and interesting. Our first room started leaking from the ceiling in the bedroom on the second night and smelled of rotten eggs. After waiting a half-hour, an engineer came up and told us we had to change rooms. We collected our things and waited as he said a bellhop would be arriving shortly. An hour later, we called and they apparently never dispatched one. We were moved to a smaller room, but it had an ocean view, which was nice. The adjacent beach is nice and quiet, albeit incredibly windy - don't expect to be able to sit on the sand, it just blows into your face the entire time. The pool is very comfortable and is nicely separated for children and adults. Towels are also available at every beck and call (both at the pool and beach), which is immensely appreciated. Overall, it's a nicely remodeled building, but you'll find parts that are way old (e.g. the ice room), and you might be hit with a leaking/stinky room. This place is not cheap (of course). We'd rather spend more on dinner, so we went to the Safeway in Lahaina and picked up some bagels so we didn't have to deal with finding breakfast or paying the $26/person for a continental breakfast (please). Finally, the activities are very expensive, but were a lot of fun. We did the snorkeling and underwater photography. At $90/person, it's expensive, but was a great experience. We were the only people on this expedition so we had free reign and a lot of time. The guide was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you know how to snorkel already, or know what to look out for in coral, you could skip the snorkeling and underwater photography activity and head over to Kapalua bay. Fantastic coral and underwater ecosystem. A lot of fun. Otherwise, it was totally worth the $90/person to have that guide and know what to do and what to look for. Also, go into Lahiana and hit up the Safeway for some snacks and drinks. We picked up some bagels, chips, and coke to help satisfy our munchies without paying through the nose for room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TonyXXX
New York
Sep 7, 2012

So much is left to be desired...

Front-end staff is ok. Mmm... Not as friendly as other properties I have been to. E.g. Marriott Chicago! Checking-in wasn't anything spectacular. But, I got an oceanview room upgrade. So, not much complain there. I think the Ritz tries to create an exclusive atmosphere. I do appreciate it but didn't notice a lot of mingling. E.g. where are the japanese guests? Not too many to be found. Unless they are hiding in their own social gathering spots, I didn't see too many of them. They are scarce. For a high end resort, the Ritz at Kapalua, is definitely dated. E.g. furnishings. Or is this their corporate identity? The gym .... Ummm.... the equipment are so OLD. Even my neighborhood gym has newer more up to date equipment. Not only is it not great from the standpoint of keeping up to standards, but also not clever from a safety standpoint. SOme of these equipment are really rickety; completely incongruous with what a high end resort claims to provide as their amenities. There are not a lot of dining options on site! Mainly room service. My biggest peev is the signage. There are only signs for room numbers but nothing for "lobby" and other parts of the sprawling complex. I was there 2 nights, 3 days, and still got lost every time. What if there is fire / evacuation etc? All said, the pool is great. I was able to do laps when it was not too crowded. Would I visit again? Maybe. But I will like to try other resorts in the area, such as the Westin. Stay tuned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiffany Sheree
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 20, 2011

Beautiful location, needs service help

We decided on Maui for our long-awaited honeymoon. I did some research, and I decided between Hyatt Regency and The Ritz. My husband preferred the Ritz, and, coming from a Four Seasons background, I agreed. I wondered why it was such a good deal. I then read an article about how this Ritz-Carlton location had just gone through bankruptcy and therefore auctioned off, so I called the hotel to inquire about change in ownership and asked how it would affect service (I went through this myself when the Four Seasons location where I worked changed just like this, and most of the employees left). Maybe because I do come from the luxury hotel industry, I was sensitive to certain things, but many things I thought would be standard were certainly not at this location. 1) LOCATION: Gorgeous. Private beach (so does the Four Seasons on the other side of the island) was so awesome. Good pool. Although service was good at the pool, it was very slow (but this is usual....I'm used to staying in cabanas in Las Vegas and service is always very slow) so I expected it. 2) Upon check in, I'm accustomed to the front desk clerk inquiring if guests are celebrating something special. She did not. And, being that we booked through a 3rd party, we weren't asked. Although this is minor, our friends booked directly with the Ritz were asked (they were celebrating an anniversary, we were celebrating a honeymoon), and received a bottle of wine in the room and we did not. Again, minor, but with luxury hotels and how much money you are spending, should be a standard question. BUT the clerk did let us check in early, so we didn't have to wait around to get the trip started. 3) AMENITIES: Business center was supposedly open and attended with a clerk, but there was no one to be found and I needed to send a time sensitive fax. The fax machine required a password so I couldn't send the fax without an attendant. I waited for over 15 minutes, and asked someone else in the hotel when they would be back, as it was rather important, but they said that the clerk might be on break, which is fine but at least open the fax machine for guests before break. The greeter ended up sending the fax for me. 4) HOUSEKEEPING Our room went completely unserviced one day! I was shocked. Not only that, but as was standard at Four Seasons, when housekeeping would service the room, I expected that when the shampoo/shower gel ran out they would replace it with a new. After the 3rd day, I was completely out of everything (I kept expecting them to replace the products...I thought there is no way I would have to ask at a luxury hotel) I had to call down myself. They asked if I wanted it right then or at turn down. I didn't want to be a bother so I said at turn down, but they STILL didn't provide it. I didn't bring my own shampoo/conditioner, but I felt like I had to beg for these amenities. If you're going to choose this hotel, BRING YOUR OWN SHAMPOO/CONDITIONER/SHOWER GEL! 5) CONCIERGE: The woman was very short and it felt like we were bothering her. She helped us book a bike tour w/ Cruiser Phil's. My friends went with us and they allowed us to use the military discount (it was $135 instead of $150). BUT I still wondered why, out of all the bike tours available, this one was $50 more than the others. She just said, "they're the most trusted." Didn't really make sense after taking the tour, because they cut the tour short after a phone call saying a road was closed. I thought that was legitimate, but being that the tour was shorter, I thought we might get some money back but we didn't. Word to the wise: Don't book an activity through concierge, as they will charge you 50% more (prob get a kick back). We booked other activities on our own and were much happier and spent less. Other than that, the hotel is beautiful and the valet drivers are great. They were the best "customer service" people. The private beach is awesome and you're only 10-15...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Gazebo restaurant. Such a great view and the macadamia pancakes are wonderful! *****I clicked, yes, I would recommend this hotel to a friend....but with MAJOR cautions.*****

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Nov 29, 2010

Honeymoon

Having gone to Maui and Hawaii a few other times i thought it would be nice to stay away from the tourists for a change in Kapalua. The Ritz was by far one of the nicest resorts i have stayed at. The only downside is its not on the beach...it is a trek to walk down to the beach etc. the pool is really nice, but going to Hawaii I am all about the beach. It was really windy in Kapalua.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Sea House in the Napili Kai resort! the best place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2011

Review

The hotel rooms were nice but not amazing. We stayed there for a great deal but if I would have paid full price, I would have been very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Traveller from Colorado
Denver, CO
Jul 3, 2011

Decent Hotel

While The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua boasts a very professional and courteous staff, the hotel itself falls short of its reputation in some other areas. The staff, from front desk and concierge, to house keeping and room service are very warm and friendly. They make you feel welcome. One of the problems we had was with guests staying next door to us. While the hotel abides by the smoking-free law of the state of Hawaii, they did not do much to enforce it in this case. We were unable to use our room's balcony, which had a beautiful view, for the 5 days out of 7 days that we stayed there, due to second hand smoke of cigarette from balcony to the left of us. We couldn't even open the balcony door for that matter since the wind blew all the smoke right into our room. Imagine you're in paradise and you have to inhale someone else's cigarette smoke! This was loss of use in our opinion and prevented us from enjoying what we had paid for. This was brought to the attention of the staff and a manager on 2 occasions and both times we were assured that the matter would be resolved immediately. It did not happen until the smoking guests checked out days later. The second negative score would be the extra delivery tax on room service. It seems pretty obsolete to charge a guest a delivery tax. Usually, tips suffice, but apparently not at this hotel. Also, the office for guests is a tiny room with a computer and a screen in it. No room to sit down with a laptop and a couple of books. Overall, a very nice hotel, but sadly, I have to admit that I'm not too impressed with Ritz-Carlton, at least this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
resort stayer
california
Jun 17, 2011

beautiful location but rude staff

I came here for two weeks and to be honest by the second week I switched resorts. The Ritz Carlton is world reknowned for its excellent service and luxurious resots.... at least it used to be. The staff was rude. The front desk people such as "[...]" and a "[...]" do not live up to their names. These girls had bad attitudes and made my stay that much more unenjoyable. The room service was mediocre and the overall feel of the resort can be somewhat pleasant minus the staff. However, if your used to staying at the Ritz Carlton and expect first class service, goto the Four Seasons or somewhere else. They have lost their touch and I am dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Front St.great place for shopping and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just want a relaxing vacation
San Diego
Nov 14, 2010

Not as good as expected

The Ritz Carlton Kapalua was a nice resort but I expected better from a place with amenities for children. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely and had a bellman take our luggage to our room. He explained all the amenities about the hotel and pointed out where the gym, pools, beach, spa, and restaurants were located. Over the course of our stay, the staff always smiled and had a pleasant greeting. The housekeeping staff was especially pleasant with our 3 year old daughter and took the time to fold her blankets and line up her stuffed animals every day and that made her happy. The pool area and the beach were nice and my wife said the spa was very pleasant. Almost every morning, we went down to the Terrace Restaurant and had breakfast and the staff there was very pleasant and the food was delicious. Outside of breakfast, we only ate 4 other meals at the hotel the entire time. Two of those were room service which was very good, one was at the upstairs bar area by the lobby (terrible service, slow with food, forgettful with orders), and one was at the pool area (forgot to put the order in and we waited a total of an hour). We were comp'd for the two meals with bad service but it seems like we weren't the only ones complaining about service. As for the rest of the amenities, every thing was nice from the time we got up until right about dinner time. The pools were great and the beach was fun. From dinner time on, it felt like the hotel became kid-tolerant and not kid-friendly. There were no activities for small children other than the kids pool and playground but the "quiet time" started at 6pm so a 3 year old who screams with joy in the pool isn't welcome and the playground closes at 6pm anyway. We had to ask for a kids menu at all restaurants at dinner and it was all unhealthy food (fried or hot dog) with a side of fruit. We were the only people we saw with a small child for 2 days and felt like people looked at us like diseased rats after dinner. It got better after some other families showed up. I would go back if it was just my wife and I but I wouldn't go back with kids. Look elsewhere with small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach and pool area are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search