$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
808 reviews
Mother and daughter getaway

I was spending the weekend on a much needed getaway with my daughter. My daughter is autistic and... See full review

  • Single Mom Lori
  • Jul 28, 2014
Wedding Proposal

It was awesome, we had a great time! The view was incredible as soon as we entered hotel! See full review

  • HouAtlVegas
  • Jul 2, 2014
Soft Hawaiian music drifts on the breeze, welcoming you to the tropical seclusion and lush beauty that make the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua a paradise. Relax by one of three languid, tri-level pools, indulge in a beachside massage, and savor fine island cuisine. Surrounded by swaying palms and sculpted gardens, this resort offers premium accommodations and outstanding guest services. Guests can don their swimwear and flip-flops before stepping straight out onto award-winning D.T. Fleming Beach using the hotel access point. After a dip in the sea, head back to your room to wash away the sand with soapy bubbles in your luxurious marble bathtub, then dress for dinner and head to Kai Sushi for raw seafood delights.
Key facts
  • 463 guestrooms
  • 5 suites
  • 9 floors
  • 3 pools
  • Restaurants and bars:  The Terrace Chef-Crafted, Kai Sushi, The Beach House, Alaloa Lounge, The Pool Bar & Cafe, The Terrace, Aina Gourmet
  • Gift shop
  • Conference and event spaces: 18 rooms
  • Ballroom and banquet facilities
  • 15-room spa
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Tranquil views of Fleming Beach stretch across the sheltered waters of Honokahua Bay, inviting you to enjoy this remarkable Maui property. The island's natural beauty is yours to explore with the Ritz-Carlton's exclusive access to Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment experience (charges apply). Practice photography under the ocean while you snorkel through brightly-colored coral reefs, or take a hiking tour deep into the Hawaiian rainforest. Two nearby golf courses offer world-class links with vistas set among historic pineapple plantations. Area dining selections range from farm-to-table barbeque, to exquisite sushi and exotic island fare. From on-site shopping excursions to horseback rides along the beach, design your days and nights around sunshine and starlight.
Hints and tips
The atmosphere at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is one of relaxation, but you'll need to make reservations for spa treatments, massage services and the golf courses.

Multilingual staff can help out with luggage storage and complimentary shuttle services, and the concierge gladly makes arrangements for limos and town cars (charges apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0007 -156.654
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport (OGG) Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM - complimentary shuttle from Kapalua airport only)
Area description
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is a AAA Five Diamond beachfront West Maui resort situated in the heart of Kapalua, less than 10 miles from downtown Lahaina and Ka'anapali Beach. Both cultural and environmental appreciation, combined with world-class service and exclusive facilities deliver a true escape.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Terrace Chef-Crafted
The Terrace Chef Crafted Hawaiian Cuisine the resort's newest dining experience featuring distinctive menus inspired by the freshest seasonal, organic and sustainable ingredients from Hawaii's local farms and Pacific coastlines which are showcased as brilliantly flavorful, chef-crafted delicacies. These culinary masterpieces are served alongside a world-class selection of fine wines and classic cocktails redefined with innovative mixology and local influence. The world-class cuisine and robust wine selection of The Terrace Chef Crafted is complemented by dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean, the Pailolo Channel and the lush flora of the resort. Open for dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30pm to 9:30pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (808)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
808 out of 808
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madision Wisconsin
Jan 15, 2011

Surpassed all expectations!!

Removed from the the main 'Hotel Zone', The Ritz offered tranquility in paradise. Only a short drive to other activites. We rented a car which was helpful. Had food in our room as restaurants are naturally expensive. $30.00 Breakfast Buffet was definitely worth the $$. The Concierge gave recommendations and scheduled all of our excursions during our stay. We attended the Feast at LeLe, had surf lessons, went whale watching, and went to Concierge recommended restaurants which were amazing. We also took the 'Road to Hana'. Unbelievable! No one got car sick. The road has recently been paved and is very smooth. Beyond Hana, we visited the Seven Sacred Pools. Also, my teenage daughters went cliff diving on Kanapalli Beach. The entire trip was first class. EVERYONE at the motel was very friendly, courteous and professional. They anticipated all needs. Amazing pool as well as beautiful beach which was not crowded. The only negative was when we checked in the did not have our requested room available (2 queesn) The stated they only had one King bed (for 4 people). After speaking with the manager, we were escorted to a ocean front room with 2 queen beds. Very large bathroom with separate tub and shower. No microwave but we didnt miss it. Too busy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Have concierge schudule and give recommendations.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 29, 2010

Beautiful, Great Service and Food

The Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is a great place when you want to get away in style and comfort. The service, rooms and food are outstanding. The resort is on the quiet side. For more activities, it is only a 10 minute drive to the shops in the Kaanapali area, and a 15 - 20 minute drive to Lahaina. The only complaint about the hotel is that the walls are thin, and we could hear people talking in the halls, or hear people wheeling suitcases in the rooms next to or above the room we were in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Concierge Desk is very helpful!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Mommy of 1
Covington, OH
Feb 10, 2010

Great Trip! Excellent Hotel.

We went for a last-minute get-away, and the first w/o our 2 yr old daughter. We wnated quiet and relaxation, so were a little apprehensive due to the size of the resort. (Somewhere around 250 rooms..) It was very relaxing and peaceful even with the larger size. Granted, it was only about 60% occupied that week, but still, very relaxing.. The service was great, and we enjoyed the whales, driving the island, and other things. The resort has several dining options, and all were excellent (especially the $$$$ Banyon Tree..) But one annoying thing was that each of them is closed 2-3 days out of the week, so that limited our options a little on various days. We also chose to eat off the property several times - partly because of that. Service was generally Great. No complaints. The room we had was just the less expensive garden view room and it was GREAT. Plenty large, great bathroom, great view, and very quiet and peaceful. We have stayed at a couple other Ritz Carltons and a few Four Seasons as well and this was very comparable and generally excellent. Although, it is hard to beat a Four Seasons we stayed at on Koh Samui, Thailand. On the location..... It is about 10 miles away from alot of other activities and crowds. So... depending on the desire you have to be close to that stuff, that can be a positive or a negative. You make that call, but for us was a definite plus - except for the longer drive when we wanted to go somewhere. Still to be more secluded was what we specifically wanted, and got here.. That being said, we would definately recommend to anyone..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 21, 2009

Ritz Carlton, Kapalua

Great hotel, great restaurants, great beach, and great rooms. The only downsides are that the hotel's location is a little remote and the late night room service menu is a little small for such a nice hotel. Overall the hotel is wonderful and I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, KS
May 29, 2011

Ritz-Carlton Kapalua

Outstanding service, beautiful room, and a wonderful time. Kids learned to surf, we zip-lined, snorkeled, played golf, and spent plenty of time on the beach boogie boarding. Some of these activities were done a short distance away from the hotel, but the resort shuttle is very convenient. The wind on the beach was the only real negative as it did blow sand at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The bell-hops were very helpful and friendly. They loaned us two boogie boards to use during out stay, thus we didn't have to buy or rent them for our kids to use.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica - World traveler
Santa Monica
Jul 6, 2011

Awesome hotel for the price

We loved the spa, Gym faciliites. Swimming pools and tennis courts are well maintained. My children would enjoy the pool better if there were some slides and some appealing water activities. We went to other hotels to check them out, but still liked Ritz better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Children eats free program helped saving on dining for family with small children.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ca
Jan 14, 2011

Luxury Resort

This was the fifth hotel I stayed at in Maui and the nicest by far

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo,NY
Aug 30, 2010

*Fantastic Family getaway

We went to relaz and enjoy the sun. The resort is completely away from anything but only 15 to 20 mins. to Lahaina. There are only two fine dining restaurants and they coordinate vice a versa each nite for service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's- Beautiful setting -overlooking the ocean, food was delicious.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington,DC.
Jul 20, 2009

Fantastic Family getaway

When we got there the first person we met at the front desk( [...] ) was not very friendly, we complained to the mangment about her. Now that I am back , I saw that Hotel has charged us for our stay, while we had already pre paid the Cheapticket.com I am going to find out why? The service at the resturant in the Hotel was not good at all, and was ver expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atl
Oct 24, 2009

Great Trip

It was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top