$493 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica
Aug 14, 2010

Great Off-Season Vacation

Very nice hotel and great pools. Food was good but pricey. Order a Red Orchid at the pool bar. Secluded beach area was great. Movie nights by the pool in the evenings were fun. Stock up at the Honolua general store for juice, deli, fresh fruit and wine and beer. Store prices are very reasonable. Look for George Lucas' license plate up onto the left when you enter the store, C-THREE. The hotel shuttle will take you there and pick you up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Honolua General Store

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Mar 27, 2010

Nice getaway

Nice rooms and amenities in room and evening maid staff did ask if we needed anything. Clean rooms. Hotel is non-smoking, but daily smelled cigarette smoke coming from another room while on the balcony. Nice beach location but windy. As a result, area is cooler than other parts of Maui. One night, sat in outside upstairs lounge area for over twenty minutes without being asked about ordering. We had menus but waitress walked by several times and ignored us. We went indoors to the lounge area and another staff person immediately took our drink and food order. Spa area was nice. I was on hold trying to get an appointment for over thirty-minutes. Finally, I went downstairs to make the appointment in person. Resturant - Every morning a different type of smoothie was available to try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great getaway in a lovely location.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Great Time!

The Ritz is a great hotel...You really can't go wrong with them. It is located on the west side of Maui close to where there was decent nighttime activities if you just wanted to walk around. The rooms were well kept and up to par with what we expected. The service was great too, but there was definite room for improvement, not that we had a bad time. Just realized, its hard to have a true 5 star experience when the theme of the island is just hang loose and enjoy. None the less, my wife and I had a great time and enjoyed our stay at the Ritz. By the way, if you have the option at the time of booking or call the hotel in advance and ask for a pool view. You will have a better shot of seeing the ocean than the garden view which focusses on the surrounding golf courses. (Think of the hotel with arms flanking out to the side encompassing the pool area...If you are on the outside of those arms you will have a better shot at the landscape then the ocean). Having driven to Wailea and seen the Grand Wilea and the Four seasons, the hotel grounds each have their unique points, but didn't feel that one out shined the rest. The good and bad things of the location of the Ritz was it was an hour drive from the airport and obviously a distance from the east side of the island where the Road to Hana is as well as other east side outings, but in comparison to Wailea, it was nice to drive to along the coast line and walk along Lahaina at night. The Spa is up to par with other 5 star resorts we have been too, but very pricey...It was almost $600 dollars for an 80 minute couples massage with the Service Charge (AKA tip) included). They actually threw in a 20 minute scrub which was a special they were having while we were there. All in all, my wife and I were happy with our stay and would recommend this to a friend. Take Care and Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It never hurts to contact your concierge service ahead of time to help plan your week, most things can be reserved ahead of time without a deposit and 24 hour cancellation fee. The Zip line was booked solid while we were there. Don't only rely on your concierge, I would also use guide books to direct you to more enjoyable and reputable excursions.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globetrekker
Business
washington, d.c.
Aug 18, 2011

Hawaiian getaway summer 2011 at the Ritz Carlton Kapalua

We had a wonderful time at the resort. The hotel staff and the staff at the restaurants in the hotel were great and made us feel very welcome! Only two issues with the hotel - first, better reading material -- I wish the hotel offered better reading material, especially newspapers. All we were offered was a local newspaper and the Wall Street Journal (not the most reputable paper anymore). The bookstore did not contain a wide selction of magazines or books. Also, more nighttime activiities -_ I wish the resort lounges were open later into the night and that there were more nighttime activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the more popular restaurants near the hotel like Sansei are booked early on for popular dining times.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mklucky
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Excellent resort, disappointing food

The poor economy meant that only three of the five restaurants were open (only two at dinner time). I ate dinner at the hotel twice, and both times I had to send the entree back. The first, a $65 Kobe Rib Eye at their high end "Banyan Tree", was overcooked and then sat around before they brought it out, so it was luke warm with wilted greens on top. The next time I ate dinner was at the bar, the "Alaloa Lounge." I ordered Ahi and was surprised when she asked how I would like it cooked, but said med-med/well - it came out rare (only seared top and bottom, raw inside)! These are basic things that definitely shouldn't happen at a Ritz-Carlton. I stayed at the Kapalua in the mid 90's a few times and had some excellent meals at the Ritz. But now that they have remodeled it has lost the luster that one would expect (and what I remember) from the Ritz, Kapalua. On the upside my Residence suite was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The property is extremely beautiful with a lot of nature and a lack of the mega-resort feel that has plagued most beach properties in Hawaii. The golf courses are excellent! The food at the Honolua Store was better than the Ritz at a fraction of the cost. The two golf course restaurants were excellent. Ultimately I had a very peaceful and relaxing vacation, but the Ritz has definitely lost what it once was (even after the $180 million remodel). Save $$$, stay at a Kapalua Villa to take advantage of a beautiful 23,000 acre property. Oh yeah, my card/key consistently took about 10 tries to unlock my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Honolua Store.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
May 28, 2009

captures resort in one nice sentence

-enjoyed beach-side dining -played by beach -enjoyed pool -visited education center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Florida
Mar 25, 2010

Break from Florida

Room service a bit pricey. Very comfortable beds. No vending machines, but frig in room allowed us to bring in refreshments and snacks for later. Beautiful location, great nature walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Nov 23, 2009

it was great over all

the hotel was very nice, staff very nice, room very nice pool very nice but and there is always a but food very expencive but worth the price. valet was 18 bucks a day and park yourself was a good 250 feet from the front door of the hotel. but still it was very very very very nice. we loved it. had the time of a life time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

what we did was in the beginning of the trip we decided what we wanted to do as far as shows snorkaling and heli rides its all very expensive but we stopped by a time share store and set up a 2 hr time share appointment and booked all our activites for the week at a great savings and i mean 500.00 savings. its worth the 2 hrs.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeNina
Business
Colorado
Jul 4, 2009

Honeymoon on Kapalua

Great location for our honeymoon. People talked about how windy it is on the west side of the island, and it is but the wind is appreciated when it warms up. The food (please note we are not fish fans and the fish I heard was good) was not worth the money. Take the hike up to the Plantation House for good food as reasonable prices and great views. The service was more like 70/30. 30% of the time we felt like we were intruding on their property. Once or twice they sideswiped us going done to the beach with their carts. 70% they were great. So take that as not everyone can be nice. The grounds and pool were excellent. 75% full and we never had an issue finding a chair at the pool or feeling overcrowded. Most of the time we felt we had the resort to ourselves. Great place to get away from it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Must go to the Plantation house for breakfast or lunch. Meals $8-12 for good food and great view.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atj3
Business
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Best pool and beach

This hotel showed it's wear and tear...something I would've never expected from the Ritz Carlton. However, it was clean and the staff was great. I will recommend it! Kapalua Resort is wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top