$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
495 reviews
Great place to relax

The best getaway ever! Beach is secluded and private so it makes the whole experience more... See full review

  • MariaLK
  • Aug 10, 2014
Mother and daughter getaway

I was spending the weekend on a much needed getaway with my daughter. My daughter is autistic and... See full review

  • Single Mom Lori
  • Jul 28, 2014
Soft Hawaiian music drifts on the breeze, welcoming you to the tropical seclusion and lush beauty that make the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua a paradise. Relax by one of three languid, tri-level pools, indulge in a beachside massage, and savor fine island cuisine. Surrounded by swaying palms and sculpted gardens, this resort offers premium accommodations and outstanding guest services. Guests can don their swimwear and flip-flops before stepping straight out onto award-winning D.T. Fleming Beach using the hotel access point. After a dip in the sea, head back to your room to wash away the sand with soapy bubbles in your luxurious marble bathtub, then dress for dinner and head to Kai Sushi for raw seafood delights.
Key facts
  • 463 guestrooms
  • 5 suites
  • 9 floors
  • 3 pools
  • Restaurants and bars:  The Terrace Chef-Crafted, Kai Sushi, The Beach House, Alaloa Lounge, The Pool Bar & Cafe, The Terrace, Aina Gourmet
  • Gift shop
  • Conference and event spaces: 18 rooms
  • Ballroom and banquet facilities
  • 15-room spa
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Tranquil views of Fleming Beach stretch across the sheltered waters of Honokahua Bay, inviting you to enjoy this remarkable Maui property. The island's natural beauty is yours to explore with the Ritz-Carlton's exclusive access to Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment experience (charges apply). Practice photography under the ocean while you snorkel through brightly-colored coral reefs, or take a hiking tour deep into the Hawaiian rainforest. Two nearby golf courses offer world-class links with vistas set among historic pineapple plantations. Area dining selections range from farm-to-table barbeque, to exquisite sushi and exotic island fare. From on-site shopping excursions to horseback rides along the beach, design your days and nights around sunshine and starlight.
Hints and tips
The atmosphere at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is one of relaxation, but you'll need to make reservations for spa treatments, massage services and the golf courses.

Multilingual staff can help out with luggage storage and complimentary shuttle services, and the concierge gladly makes arrangements for limos and town cars (charges apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0007 -156.654
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport (OGG) Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM - complimentary shuttle from Kapalua airport only)
Area description
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is a AAA Five Diamond beachfront West Maui resort situated in the heart of Kapalua, less than 10 miles from downtown Lahaina and Ka'anapali Beach. Both cultural and environmental appreciation, combined with world-class service and exclusive facilities deliver a true escape.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Terrace Chef-Crafted
The Terrace Chef Crafted Hawaiian Cuisine the resort's newest dining experience featuring distinctive menus inspired by the freshest seasonal, organic and sustainable ingredients from Hawaii's local farms and Pacific coastlines which are showcased as brilliantly flavorful, chef-crafted delicacies. These culinary masterpieces are served alongside a world-class selection of fine wines and classic cocktails redefined with innovative mixology and local influence. The world-class cuisine and robust wine selection of The Terrace Chef Crafted is complemented by dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean, the Pailolo Channel and the lush flora of the resort. Open for dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30pm to 9:30pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (495)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
495 out of 495
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 9, 2010

Would go back in a heartbeat.

This is a wonderful property. Our first time to Maui - my husband and I with our 2 children - ages 11 and 17. The grounds are beautiful and the service is first-class. We were upgraded to an oceanview room on ground level, which I would recommend. Great access to the pool. Loved Maui - very relaxed. Will definitely go back. Living on east coast, we normally go the the Carribean every summer for our family vacation. We will rethink that based on this trip. Long flight -but certainly worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If it is not sunny in Kapalua (which is often) drive the short distance to Kaanapoli Beach area. The weather can be drastically different. We liked the Whalers Village area beach. Close to shopping and many places to eat/drink.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biz Traveler from WI
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 16, 2014

Secluded lovely location on Maui

We used the Ritz on Maui for a small corporate meeting. We used one of the room suites for our meeting place and it was perfect. We also loved the hiking and coastal walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean & Elly
Calabasas, CA
May 30, 2009

Maui Getaway

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It was just amazing. Beautiful, Gorgeous, breathtaking. Rooms were clean. Staff was just amazing. They gave us free upgrade before we even checked in, just call ahead of time. They send us a bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries because of our special occasion. I had ordered chocolate covered strawberries and rose pedals at the time of check in, but they had forgotten to put them in the room. However as soon as I notified the management, they took care of the situation and more. Property was one of a kind. The beach, Flemings Beach was amazing, apparently voted number one in the country at some point. Shuttle service was available to pretty much everywhere. The restaurant, the Banyan Tree was phenomenal. Room service was quick. The club level was just fantastic with amazing presentations, well worth it. I cannot say enough about the pool. It was nice, large and quiet with a breath taking view. The lobby was beautiful as well. Everyone was as nice as it gets. It was truly a five star hotel. By the way, we read a lot of reviews about how it was windy there at the property. At least during our stay, it wasn't all that windy. In fact there was a very small breeze that made it even more perfect. But it wasn't anything more than a breeze. Overall, I would recommend this property to everyone. I know it can be a little pricey but trust me when I say its well worth it. Truly a spectacular experience. This is a 5 star hotel or more in my book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurants are all great. A little pricey but worth it. Try The Banyan Tree. Ask to meet chef [...]. He's great!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Happy Hollisters
Salem, OR
Sep 9, 2009

Incredible Stay @ for the right price

It was our 10 year anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better deal on the Best place in Maui.. the Ritz Carlton is 1st class all the way around. Incredible grounds, view, beach, rooms, staff, shopping and weather. Gentlemen if you are trying to plan a great romantic getaway for your wife, this is the place to do it at. Thank you Orbitz for making this possible for us:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Whalers Village is the spot to shop.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristiG
Bells, TX
Dec 2, 2013

Perfect for honeymoon!

We just returned from the Ritz in Maui. We loved it! My husband had stayed at the Four seasons a couple of years before and said the Ritz was better! Since we went during an off peak, it was nice to have the extra attention by the hotel staff. The pool bartenders are so friendly and helpful! If you like sushi, go to Sansei, every night. I wish I could have it right now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Our Hawaii get away
San Diego, CA
Jun 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

It's was our anniversary and frankly, I don't think we could have picked a better spot--I had heard a great deal about Hawaii, so our expectations were high. We did NOT get disappointed! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deep six
San Rafael, California
Jun 21, 2014

Excellent

Everything was perfect! The only thing I may do differently next time is stay in wailea because it's more centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at sensei sushi after 10 pm. It's 50% off.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vacaville, CA
Jul 9, 2009

Honeymoon in Maui

The Ritz-Carlton at Kapalua was paradise. The staff was super friendly and location was perfect for our honeymoon. It was more than I had expected and would definately recommend them and hopefully I can make it back soon for another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

visit the aloha mixed plate. It's soooo good

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco, ca
Jul 9, 2011

great hotel

Great hotel -- beautiful pool and beach. No problem finding chairs. Kapalua is a bit off the beaten trail, but it's an easy 10 minute drive to the other more tourist areas. It's also very windy -- it wasn't a problem when we were there, as it was close to 85 each day, but if the weather is chilly and windy it could be bad. Nice large rooms! all have a balcony and fridge - nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluestarbutterfly
Chicago
Nov 17, 2009

Hard not to feel fabulous at the Ritz

We have to admit that we were a bit nervous about what to expect given the news of how slow the economy has been in Maui and the deep price cuts that the Ritz was offering, but have no fear this is still the Ritz. The staff is great (in fact sometimes there are more workers than guests), the food is wonderful and most of the resturants have dinner and/or wine specials, they are not advertised so ask before you pick a place. The rooms are clean and large. We had a wonderful time and loved that D.T. Flemings beach was on site, this beach has waves and allows for some surfing and boogie boarding. Grocery store, Maui Tacos and Boss Frog Rentals all very near by in Napili shopping center. My only very small negative is that the pools and spas are open 24 hours, but they don't have towels available 24 hours, so plan ahead if you're doing any late night hot tubbing or early morning dips. Over all a really lovely place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many resturants on site and a short walk down the main drive, and they all have dinner specials at least one night during the week, ask if your looking to have a great meal and save a few bucks.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search