$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
548 out of 548
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sporty sweed
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Nov 9, 2013

Shorter stay during our honeymoon

The overall experience was good. We expected more from the staff, which sometimes seem tired and unmotivated. Drinks and food we ok but nothing more. We also expects some kind a honeymoon greeting, but we didn't ever receive a card or a congratulations when checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Merriman's had fantastic food and a very romantic setting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on a getaway
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 4, 2013

Perfect getaway

Service was excellent and consistent. Enjoyed most amenities of the resort (tennis courts, spa, pool, etc) and was impressed by the cleanliness and attention to detail. Just a couple things would have made the stay absolutely perfect... in room entertainment system was down (they are fixing it) and the food was just a notch below other Ritz properties (luckily there were stellar options close by off-site).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgeta
Business
Roseville, CA
Oct 15, 2013

We enjoyed out stay... but

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Ritz. The gentleman who checked us in was wonderful and all but one of the staff members were absolutely wonderful. We would have scored higher on the staff but the gentleman checking out the towels was a little rude and made you feel like were bothering him when we approached him. Not really the feeling you expect to have at a luxury resort like the Ritz Carlton. The only other thing I would recommend is maybe offering beach umbrellas to your guests and assisting your guests with bringing the chairs down to the beach. I had an arm full of items and was a little disappointed to find out we carry the chairs down to the beach on our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R4dance
Business
Roseville
Sep 19, 2013

Our first time at a Ritz and Kapalua

I wanted to say you can never go wrong in Maui but this place and location was exceptional. Just the right speed for me. I don't like it too slow - La Haina was close enough to drive any time. The property was perfect they treated you like you mattered. Remembered your name if they happened to meet. They took the time to make sure you were comfortable. The hotel was clean and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

On Kapalua Bay - watch the sunset from their bar or restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave and Gwen
Business
Austin, Tx
Sep 18, 2013

All the right qualities without the crowds

Loved our 15 day stay at The Ritz-Kapalua. Even though the location is the furthest north in West Maui, we loved the seclusion and peacefulness. The staff was great and the hotel spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast -The Gazebo for a nice dinner or happy hour we loved Merriman's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frederiks
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Sep 15, 2013

Fantasic honeymoon getaway

The staff were amazing on our honeymoon! They were so welcoming! The best staff on our whole honeymoon trip in Maui, Waikiki & Big Island! The resort is beautiful as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hire a car and see the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coachmj
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 8, 2013

Great honeymoon location

The staff and facilities at the Ritz in Kapalua were exceptional. From the initial greeting they took care of everything. Can't wait for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
micchanchan
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 4, 2013

Nice, but should be better.

Overall hotel experience was clean and nice but not stellar, compared to other 5-star hotel experiences. Room amenities and towels were not always refreshed properly. The pools are lovely but the beach, which is more important at a beach resort location, was rough and not ideal for swimming or sun bathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron World Traveler
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 21, 2013

An amazing resort on an even more amazing property in beautiful Maui!

I was very pleased with my stay at the The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua. I knew virtually nothing about the island before my trip this August. I chose the resort based on name recognition basically. The resort was beautiful. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The bed was super comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The worst part was leaving. I'd go back in a heartbeat. 5 Star*****

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan on exploring then you definitely want to get a rental car. You'll save money and time by booking that in advance. There is a good restaurant called Pineapple Grill just a couple minutes drive away. We found this place to be of good value and high quality. Everything in Maui around the resorts is expensive. Also there is refrigerators in the rooms so get groceries to save cash on beverages and snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lanigirl
Business
Mililani, HI, USA
Aug 19, 2013

wonderful weekend getaway

Love the RC kapalua. The view was beautiful and the area is so well maintained. Great for early morning running. Didn't eat at the hotel but we did eat at Sansei. Don't forget to make reservations! Merriman's at Kapalua was great with spectacular sunset dinner. Also ate at the Plantation House high up on the hill was equally spectacular. Kapalua is the best if you want a hotel away from the crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top