$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
521 out of 521
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MUKESH PARIKH
Business
MAUI, HAWAI'I
Dec 12, 2013

BEST PLACE TO GO

STAIRS ARE DIRTY FROM POOL TO LOBBY WE NEVER THINK 5 STAR RESORT PL. GIVE OUR SUGGESTION TO THEM TO CLEAN & REPAIR MUKESH PARIKH

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

OK VERY EXPENSIVE & NOT GRATE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrtheman
Business
Tacoma, WA
Dec 9, 2013

Almost Ritz-Carlton Level

Ritz-Carlton Kapalua had many of the things you'd expect of this property. Rooms were comfortable, but each(we had to move once) had a bit more sand from the beach than we'd have expected. Property is a bit spread out, meaning some walking was necessary. Quiet for this time of year, a plus to us. Valet/bell staff was excellent, easily the best of the hotel. Strange fishy smell, presumably from Kai Sushi, on the nights it was open - in our opinion you should never smell the fish in a sushi restaurant, especially out past the lobby. Nice property, but we will stay elsewhere when next on Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrey TheMan
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2013

A true dimond in a somewhat remote location

The place is located on several acres so you do not feel busy; that does mean, however, that most of the destinations require a car or shuttle, with little walk-to opportunities. The service is up to the name, all over. The beach is sandy, but windy - there are better ones close by. The shuttle is provided free. The club level access is worth the money! Overall, will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the sushi on premises and walk to the sushi place across!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristiG
Business
Bells, TX
Dec 2, 2013

Perfect for honeymoon!

We just returned from the Ritz in Maui. We loved it! My husband had stayed at the Four seasons a couple of years before and said the Ritz was better! Since we went during an off peak, it was nice to have the extra attention by the hotel staff. The pool bartenders are so friendly and helpful! If you like sushi, go to Sansei, every night. I wish I could have it right now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seniha
Business
Washington DC
Dec 1, 2013

Ritz at Kapalua

We had a great time. Very friendly and nice staff. Food was excellent. We only wish it had more activities for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Both the Terrance Restaurant and the Sushi Restaurant was excellent. Sushi Restaurant is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chia2
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 11, 2013

Paradise

First class in everyway! From the greeting at the front door and personal valet's to local venues, we didn't want to go home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sporty sweed
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Nov 9, 2013

Shorter stay during our honeymoon

The overall experience was good. We expected more from the staff, which sometimes seem tired and unmotivated. Drinks and food we ok but nothing more. We also expects some kind a honeymoon greeting, but we didn't ever receive a card or a congratulations when checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Merriman's had fantastic food and a very romantic setting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on a getaway
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 4, 2013

Perfect getaway

Service was excellent and consistent. Enjoyed most amenities of the resort (tennis courts, spa, pool, etc) and was impressed by the cleanliness and attention to detail. Just a couple things would have made the stay absolutely perfect... in room entertainment system was down (they are fixing it) and the food was just a notch below other Ritz properties (luckily there were stellar options close by off-site).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgeta
Business
Roseville, CA
Oct 15, 2013

We enjoyed out stay... but

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Ritz. The gentleman who checked us in was wonderful and all but one of the staff members were absolutely wonderful. We would have scored higher on the staff but the gentleman checking out the towels was a little rude and made you feel like were bothering him when we approached him. Not really the feeling you expect to have at a luxury resort like the Ritz Carlton. The only other thing I would recommend is maybe offering beach umbrellas to your guests and assisting your guests with bringing the chairs down to the beach. I had an arm full of items and was a little disappointed to find out we carry the chairs down to the beach on our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R4dance
Business
Roseville
Sep 19, 2013

Our first time at a Ritz and Kapalua

I wanted to say you can never go wrong in Maui but this place and location was exceptional. Just the right speed for me. I don't like it too slow - La Haina was close enough to drive any time. The property was perfect they treated you like you mattered. Remembered your name if they happened to meet. They took the time to make sure you were comfortable. The hotel was clean and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

On Kapalua Bay - watch the sunset from their bar or restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top