$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
550 out of 550
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Jun 30, 2010

Not the Typical Ritz

Not your typical Ritz...pool side service was lacking, you had to grab your own towels and chair covers. No nightly bottled water unless you begged for it, and no recognition of our honeymoon, even though I called weeks in advance to inform them and even received an e-mail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Order off the kids menu at the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Del Mar, CA
Dec 26, 2010

Excellent service, Very friendly staff,

This hotel is understated in its appearance. It has an island feel to it, in terms of its decor and surrounding foliage. The pools are traditional, with no slides or children's apparatus. They do sell blow up toys for the kids to use in the pool. I did find the setting to be very tranquil and relaxing. Not too fussy. The staff was EXCELLENT! Everyone was extremely pleasant and friendly and very eager to help in any way. That really made the vacation very enjoyable. There's a beach/cliff/lava rock walk accessible from the hotel grounds through a nearby development, Ironwoods, through the locals access route. I definitely recommend checking it out - breathtaking views of the surf, ocean, surfers, and beach! We went on a whale watching boat through a Lahaina company. Lucked out and saw lots of whale activity. We were told that it was unusual to see so many whales. I guess timing is everything. The food was great at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We also ate at Roy's in Lahaina and Lelanis. Definitely check those out, too. Order fish tacos and a hula pie at Lelanis in Whaler's Village.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Awesome place for couples/honeymooners

When you enter the hotel in the day time the first thing you would see is the beautiful blue pacific ocean. Words can't describe how beautiful this hotel is. We saw some other 5 star hotels around the area such as Sheraton, Marriott, Westin and Hyatt but Ritz was by far the best. Its located in the Kapalua resort. If you are looking for some place quiet to go for your honeymoon... this is the place to be. There are 3 beaches in the resort... all very quiet and perfect to spend some alone time with your special someone. The whole resort area is breathtakingly beautiful. We had booked for an ocean view room. Upon arrival we found out that we got an upgrade to a club level suite which was absolutely gorgeous with a huge balcony over looking the golf course and the ocean. The club level had a lounge where there was free food and drinks all day. We had breakfast there everyday. There was a balcony there too. The lounge was always very cold with the AC so we took our food outside on the balcony. Watched the ocean while we had our breakfast. Breakfast was from 7am to 10am. They served light lunches and snacks after breakfast. Served dessert at 7pm. Closed at 9pm. The staff were really nice and friendly. There's a lagoon style pool. We did not go to any of the restaurants because they were all very pricey... besides we were getting free food at the club lounge. It is a 5 star hotel and therefore, very expensive. The only reason we picked it was because we wanted to stay at a 5 star hotel for our honeymoon. If you are looking for 5 star accommodation in Maui and don't care about the price... this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Honulua Bay Store in the resort has a deli with comparatively cheap food. Otherwise if you have a car, you can always drive to Front Street in Lahaina which is the main tourist spot in Maui with tons of stores and restaurants both cheap and expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 22, 2009

Me and the Ritz

Played in sand. Played in the pool. Had drinks at the pool bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2010

Great location

Very slow service at the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AttyPete
Business
Mansfield, MA
Mar 3, 2011

Nice hotel & beach, but expensive

The Ritz-Carleton Hotel is a very nice facility located next to Flemming Beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge staff. Late check-outs are a problem for management and they make you pay for an extra day if you have an evening flight. Unless you are going to stay just at the resort, a rental car is necessary as taxi fare to airport is $105 each way and $35 each way to the town of Lahaina. Location on far northwest coast of Maui is the furthest away of the west coast hotels - the Hyatt and Westin are more convenient. Plantation House Restaurant at neighboring Plantation Golf Course had the best food and service (even better than the Banyon Tree next to the hotel itself)and it is easily accessible by resort shuttle. A 3 minute walk to the resort store and deli provides for affordable lunches and breakfast stuff if you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurants. The Spa was top notch, although the couples massage for my wife and I was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Reserve your luau tickets for the Old Town Luau in Lahaina in advance before departing as they frequently sell out a week in advance. The luxury van tour by Temptation Tours along the Road to Hana offered incredible scenery. The tour is worthwhile as driving it oneself along 600 twisting turns and 50 one-lane bridges is not for the faint of heart. The sunrise tour to the top of the dormant volcano as Mt. Haleakala was beautiful, even if it means getting up at 2:15 AM. If you have breathing difficulties, check to make sure the trade winds are blowing. VOG (http://hawaii.gov/gov/vog) does not usually impact Maui, but it did during our Feb. 2011 trip making an emergency room visit necessary for my asthmatic wife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schnell
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 1, 2011

Great resort for everything but dining

The Ritz-Carlton at Kapalua is a beautiful property, and you can't ask for a better location. We traveled with an infant with the intention that we would spend the majority of our time on the property, so we weren't particularly concerned with access to offsite activities. Golfing is of course world-class, there are wonderful walking/running trails nearby, and the beach access is great.The rooms were nice, concierge/staff service was great, and the amenities in general were what you would expect from the Ritz. The only notable disappointment was that the on-site dining options were comparatively few, predictably overpriced, and featured very small and unimpressive menus (especially the sushi restaurant). It's a great hotel and location but if you're a foodie - or a cheapie - plan to eat offsite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a short distance up the hill to the Honolua General Store or the Kapalua club to get your staples and breakfast, lunch (especially plate lunch or deli sandwiches) or a dinner to expand your options and save a LOT of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnP
Business
Moorpark, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Maui Ritz

Overall no matter what you are still in the best place on earth, Maui. The hotel was great except for the room. The first one we got had a mold smell. Once I complained they moved us right away. The second one was great till the folks next door started smoking. The property is supposed to be smoke free. Other than that the pool is the best as are the views. Restaurants are good and you are near a number of other good ones also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good breakfast at Honolua General Store right in front of hotel. Cost is about $10 per person versus $30 for the hotel's buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
Feb 28, 2011

Nice Resort

Stayed in an ocean view suite #2714. Huge room (1 3/4 baths). More of a golf course view than an ocean view but nice. Lots of kids at this resort, fewer at Four Seasons. Renting a car is a must so you can buy your own groceries for the mini-fridge. 1 hour + drive to/from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car so that you can dine out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Great get away!

Staff was wonderful! Very accomodating and friendly. Location was perfect, as well as, the view. Rooms were nice, but not as high end as expected from the Ritz Carlton. Rug was a bit worn and noticed some garbage, crumbs, window smears, etc. around the resort. We spent most of our time outside the resort, so overall, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sensei is right in Kapalua and is famous for it's sushi. On Thursdays and Fridays they have half price sushi after 10 pm and karaoke. Super fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top