$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
521 out of 521
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago suburbs
Apr 15, 2010

Not up to expectations

We have stayed at Ritz Carlton hotels many times in the past and this particular hotel once before. The service level was not up to the standard that Ritz Carlton has set for itself. The food was at best mediocre and quite pricey. My son's room service breakfast of 6 pancakes and some fruit was $60. The pool was dirty and many of the pool chairs were broken. This hotel underwent a complete renovation less than 3 years ago. However, the furniture in the room was faded. The valet/doorman staff was very pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping staff appeared to do a great job and were also quite friendly and helpful. However, a $500 credit which was part of our reservation package was not credited to our account until I called the front desk on the day of checkout. We utilized the concierge staff to make reservations for activities and they seemed helpful and efficient. We did have a problem with one of our activities being cancelled and no one notifying us. I do not know however whether the communication breakdown was with the vendor or the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madrid,spain
Apr 11, 2010

Great location,,excellent service

beautifull place and beaches,very friendly service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamstom, MI
Apr 8, 2010

It's what you would expect from a "Ritz"

Very friendly staff. Upgraded our room due to three adults traveling at no upcharge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to dining if you choose not to eat at hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparcs
Business
Perrysburg, Ohio
Apr 5, 2010

My First Ritz Carlton Experience

First trip to Maui and first time stay at a Ritz Carlton hotel. It took a few days for Maui to grow on me because I was comparing it to my first trip to the Hawaiian Islands (Kauai), which I loved. I was immediately taken by the Ritz Carlton's hospital staff and the beauty of our room and the location in general. I thoroughly enjoyed my spa experience and highly recommend this to anyone staying at the hotel. The only negatives would be the extremely high restaurant prices. We chose to use the Kapalua gift / grocery and deli marketplace which were only steps away from the hotel for breakfast and snacks. The only other surprise was the noise factor whereby we were forced to close our patio door due to the wind or the chatter of guests playing shuffleboard, swinging on the hammock or slamming doors on the lower level upon exiting their room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The road to Hana was just ok. Too much hype for the amount of driving that was involved and because of previous scenic drives that I have experienced, the journey as well as the destination may be overly sold.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 5, 2010

Ritz Maui

Concierge was great with helping to book events, friendly staff, made you feel very welcome. The only thing that wasn't great was the tv service, but we didn't spend enough time in the room for it to matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hula Girl was great for a dinner cruise, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah the Newly Wed
Business
Kansas City, KS
Mar 29, 2010

Complete and total paradise

This hotel is off the beaten path, which is wonderful for a honeymoon. The staff was amazing. They had a charger for my camera battery when I noticed I left mine alone. And they even gave us towels to go swimming across the island. They thought of everything. It is truly luxurious and wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at the Honolua Store next to the hotel and if you love sushi, you have to go to Sansei.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2010

Ritz-Carlton Kapalua

Overall very good. Good service. Beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner at Sansei

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Mar 27, 2010

Nice getaway

Nice rooms and amenities in room and evening maid staff did ask if we needed anything. Clean rooms. Hotel is non-smoking, but daily smelled cigarette smoke coming from another room while on the balcony. Nice beach location but windy. As a result, area is cooler than other parts of Maui. One night, sat in outside upstairs lounge area for over twenty minutes without being asked about ordering. We had menus but waitress walked by several times and ignored us. We went indoors to the lounge area and another staff person immediately took our drink and food order. Spa area was nice. I was on hold trying to get an appointment for over thirty-minutes. Finally, I went downstairs to make the appointment in person. Resturant - Every morning a different type of smoothie was available to try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great getaway in a lovely location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Mar 26, 2010

Paradise

A great 5 star resort that lives upto it's name and expectations. They upgraded our room without even asking! Rooms are elegant and comfortable. There isnt much choice with food or shopping; you can go to Front road in Lahaina for that, it's a 10 min drive. Overall, a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Florida
Mar 25, 2010

Break from Florida

Room service a bit pricey. Very comfortable beds. No vending machines, but frig in room allowed us to bring in refreshments and snacks for later. Beautiful location, great nature walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top