$493 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville, CA
Jun 17, 2010

Great hotel, but a little secluded.

The grounds and the rooms were very beautiful. This is a very plush and relaxing hotel. It's a little further out there location wise, but makes for a great get away. I went with my two daughters, 22 and 25. It seemed a little more couple oriented, or for couples with young kids. Not really the best kind of place for two young girls in their 20's. However, we were very comfortable there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Texas
Jun 17, 2010

Awesome.

Awesome. The hotel was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick D
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 15, 2010

Great Resort

The Ritz-Carlton always impresses with service and atmosphere. I wish that one of the pools was restricted to adults only, but there was plenty of room. The location of the hotel is near many great restaurants as well, Merriman's, Pineapple Grill, and Sansai are all excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sansai Sushi Karaoke

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PDX Couple
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jun 14, 2010

Ritz Carlton just AWESOME

The Ritz Carlton at Kapalau was excellent. They accommodated us when we were unable to reach the hotel due to a fire breaching the highway leading to the Ritz, but once finally there the next day the experience was all, but worth the frustration. The property sits in one of the most beautiful places on Maui. It is quiet, relaxing and gorgeous. The pool is fantastic as well as the beach. There is only one word which describes the personnel at the Ritz, awesome. From the servers at the pool, to the valets, and the cleaning crew everyone was there to make your life and stay seamless. The restaurants on the property served the best meals all trip. The Banyan tree and Kai Sushi bar were 5 star restaurants. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rucinski Family San Francisco
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Kapalua Maui Trip-Ritz Carlton

OUTSTANDING. PERFECT ROMANTIC RELAXING GETAWAY. I WISH I LIVED AT THIS RITZ CARLTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SENSI restaurant in Kapalua Village rocks-go there as often as you can

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo
Jun 8, 2010

Nice stay in hawaii

The swimming pools are fantastic at the ritz as well as the multiple walking distance beeches. Food seemed a little below par for a ritz hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayzLB
Business
Silver Spring MD
Jun 7, 2010

Idyllic Escape

From check-in (free upgrade) to check-out (free extended check-out), this hotel experience ranked with the very best of our best. Before our first day was over, we were making plans about when we could come back. The hotel and grounds are simply gorgeous - ditto our accommodations (an OV suite that was HUGE!)- and staff are friendly and always aiming to please. There are 3 restaurants + beach and pool food/drink service; a well-equipped fitness center, limited shopping. And golf, golf, golf. Kapalua is about 20 minutes up the mountain from Tourist Central (Old Lahaina), which means it's quieter, more relaxing - and also cooler and breezier. There are taxis and the tour companies will pick up at the hotel, but we were very happy we rented a car so we could come and go as we pleased and also do some exploring on our own. Self-parking at the Ritz is free; otherwise, as to be expected, you pay Ritz prices at the Ritz. Also be prepared for high prices across-the-board in Maui. Even McDonald's will give you sticker shock! There's plenty to do in Maui, and so it's easy to lose whole days "on the road." For example, if you go on an organized tour, you will be the first pick-up and last drop-off because of the Ritz's location. Also to get to the major sights - like Haleakala, Road to Hana, Iao Valley - you have to first drive back to/through the airport area, and that's around an hour's drive one-way from Kapalua. So keep this in mind if your priority is relaxation. That said, we recommend you NOT skip a luau. We did Feast at Lele which was terrific; Old Lahaina Luau gets rave reviews as well. Also recommended: Ulalena show at Maui Theatre, Haleakala tour/visit and a helicopter tour. If you rent a car you'll be able to get off the beaten path and visit some of the small towns &/or other beaches. (BTW although we didn't do it this trip, it's very possible to go back/forth to Hana in a day, but as it's a very tough drive, you'll enjoy it more if there's more than one driver.) Hope your trip turns out as wonderfully as ours did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several dining options within the Kapalua Resort area that are a short drive away from the hotel. To escape Ritz-y prices though, take a short walk up the road from the hotel to the Honolua store, or a 20-minute drive to Old Lahaina Town where there are choices at all price levels.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui HM
Business
Nashville,TN
Jun 6, 2010

Maui Hmoon

wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honolua General store for breakfast and lunch

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Jun 4, 2010

Beautiful!

The hotel was beautiful and clean. However it was noisy at the pool because there were a lot of kids. There were no honeymoon accomadations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive over to whalers village, it's so much fun

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jun 3, 2010

Almost Typical Ritz

!st Ritz we stayed in where Club Level offerings not comparable to other Ritz'. No open bar; had to request alcoholic drinks; not available 24 hours. Although staff was great! Too windy for pool, golf, or sitting on patio. All of the 8 nites we were there! Next time will stay in Wailea again. Hate getting "nickeled and dimed" for resort fee, parking, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Forget golf at The Plantation and Bay courses; wind impossible to battle. NOt worth $$$$. Cheaper and better courses in Wailea, no wind.

Back to menu Return to top