$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
525 out of 525
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PDX Couple
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jun 14, 2010

Ritz Carlton just AWESOME

The Ritz Carlton at Kapalau was excellent. They accommodated us when we were unable to reach the hotel due to a fire breaching the highway leading to the Ritz, but once finally there the next day the experience was all, but worth the frustration. The property sits in one of the most beautiful places on Maui. It is quiet, relaxing and gorgeous. The pool is fantastic as well as the beach. There is only one word which describes the personnel at the Ritz, awesome. From the servers at the pool, to the valets, and the cleaning crew everyone was there to make your life and stay seamless. The restaurants on the property served the best meals all trip. The Banyan tree and Kai Sushi bar were 5 star restaurants. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rucinski Family San Francisco
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Kapalua Maui Trip-Ritz Carlton

OUTSTANDING. PERFECT ROMANTIC RELAXING GETAWAY. I WISH I LIVED AT THIS RITZ CARLTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SENSI restaurant in Kapalua Village rocks-go there as often as you can

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo
Jun 8, 2010

Nice stay in hawaii

The swimming pools are fantastic at the ritz as well as the multiple walking distance beeches. Food seemed a little below par for a ritz hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayzLB
Business
Silver Spring MD
Jun 7, 2010

Idyllic Escape

From check-in (free upgrade) to check-out (free extended check-out), this hotel experience ranked with the very best of our best. Before our first day was over, we were making plans about when we could come back. The hotel and grounds are simply gorgeous - ditto our accommodations (an OV suite that was HUGE!)- and staff are friendly and always aiming to please. There are 3 restaurants + beach and pool food/drink service; a well-equipped fitness center, limited shopping. And golf, golf, golf. Kapalua is about 20 minutes up the mountain from Tourist Central (Old Lahaina), which means it's quieter, more relaxing - and also cooler and breezier. There are taxis and the tour companies will pick up at the hotel, but we were very happy we rented a car so we could come and go as we pleased and also do some exploring on our own. Self-parking at the Ritz is free; otherwise, as to be expected, you pay Ritz prices at the Ritz. Also be prepared for high prices across-the-board in Maui. Even McDonald's will give you sticker shock! There's plenty to do in Maui, and so it's easy to lose whole days "on the road." For example, if you go on an organized tour, you will be the first pick-up and last drop-off because of the Ritz's location. Also to get to the major sights - like Haleakala, Road to Hana, Iao Valley - you have to first drive back to/through the airport area, and that's around an hour's drive one-way from Kapalua. So keep this in mind if your priority is relaxation. That said, we recommend you NOT skip a luau. We did Feast at Lele which was terrific; Old Lahaina Luau gets rave reviews as well. Also recommended: Ulalena show at Maui Theatre, Haleakala tour/visit and a helicopter tour. If you rent a car you'll be able to get off the beaten path and visit some of the small towns &/or other beaches. (BTW although we didn't do it this trip, it's very possible to go back/forth to Hana in a day, but as it's a very tough drive, you'll enjoy it more if there's more than one driver.) Hope your trip turns out as wonderfully as ours did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several dining options within the Kapalua Resort area that are a short drive away from the hotel. To escape Ritz-y prices though, take a short walk up the road from the hotel to the Honolua store, or a 20-minute drive to Old Lahaina Town where there are choices at all price levels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui HM
Business
Nashville,TN
Jun 6, 2010

Maui Hmoon

wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honolua General store for breakfast and lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Jun 4, 2010

Beautiful!

The hotel was beautiful and clean. However it was noisy at the pool because there were a lot of kids. There were no honeymoon accomadations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive over to whalers village, it's so much fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jun 3, 2010

Almost Typical Ritz

!st Ritz we stayed in where Club Level offerings not comparable to other Ritz'. No open bar; had to request alcoholic drinks; not available 24 hours. Although staff was great! Too windy for pool, golf, or sitting on patio. All of the 8 nites we were there! Next time will stay in Wailea again. Hate getting "nickeled and dimed" for resort fee, parking, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Forget golf at The Plantation and Bay courses; wind impossible to battle. NOt worth $$$$. Cheaper and better courses in Wailea, no wind.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jun 1, 2010

graet location..i will come again,,

diving ......diving.....diving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

free shuttle...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HawaiiMatt
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Nice stay

Wonderful stay at the Ritz, had a ocean view room as booked, twice daily maid service, and for golfers it is heaven. Only negative is long walk to the beach at least a few hundred meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the small store a short walking distance off the Ritz for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast buffet is $30 at the Ritz, you can get a good meal for a fraction of that at the store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edwardsville, IL
May 27, 2010

Perfect Honeymoon

Everyone at the hotel was helpful and friendly...the locals too for that matter. Hawaii is the perfect vacation spot. You're still in the states and it's simply paradise. Snorkel trips, golf, days by the pool and at the beach...and forget anything bad you've heard about the road to Hana - it's a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Gazebo in Kapalua...Sansei Sushi in Kapalua...and Mama's Fish House on the way to Hana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top