$493 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Aug 27, 2010

5 Star Service for Honeymooners

Fantastic service, we were upgraded for our honeymoon which we greatly appreciated. Awesome pools, facilities, views etc. It was by far the nicest location and facilities we have ever experienced. Bobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Aug 22, 2010

Great Getaway

The room was quiet and spacious. The beds were very confortable. I would recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I liked the Hotel,but it was a long drive to the attractions and entertainment.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlantic CIty , NJ
Aug 21, 2010

fantastic adventure

This place was great. The staff was friendly and prompt with help. The site is beautiful and very clean. The location is away from commericalism, so you can relax. Rent a car to take the adventure trips like snorkeling, the waterfalls a Hanna, the Iao Valey and Haleakala volcano. The restaurants here are very good, but you'll want to try other places if you stay for a week or more. Nothing bad to say about this place and I've been around in the US and Europe. Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karlamou
Business
Pasadena, CA
Aug 16, 2010

Great family vacation!

Beautiful hotel with fantastic views. The staff was friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sansei sushi was excellent and an easy walk from the Ritz.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShimmerSF
Business
San Francisco CA
Aug 16, 2010

Absolutely Fabulous Trip

This trip exceeded our expectations, from the United non stop flight to the fabulous hotel. I am definatley going to shop on [...] for furture travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is adjacent to the best beach in Maui DT flemming , great waves and snorkling. We saw Dolphines and Turtles, I highly recommend signing up for a hotel snorkle, kayake tour, they have a great staff and it is worth it!!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evergreen, CO
Aug 16, 2010

Beautiful hotel

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, beautiful hotel, the Ritz is it. If you are looking for hopping nightlife and places you can walk to for dinner and shopping, this isn't for you unless you don't mind driving. My husband and I loved the location because the resort is on its own without other hotels on top of you. The hotel is beautiful including the rooms, pool and restaurants. You could probably stay here for your entire trip and be happy if you wanted to, although the food is extremely pricey for what you get. Napili and Kaanapali are just a short trip down the street if you feel like trying another beach, place for dinner or to go shopping. Our room was beautiful, it faced the pool and we were even able to see the ocean from our balcony (we had booked a Deluxe Room but asked just before we got there if we could get a room facing the pool). I really can't say anything bad about the room other than the bathroom wasn't always spotless (to my standards) but it was clean for the most part. The bed was so comfortable that we weren't even looking forward to our own bed back home (which we usually do). And instead of the icky scratchy 'reusable' comforters they had down comforters with soft, white, clean covers. It was just heavenly. We love the beach rather than pools but the beach at the hotel was rather windy and the water was a bit more choppy than other nearby beaches. Still beautiful and we did try it a couple of days. No chairs are provided by the hotel so you either have to bring your own or sit on your towel. As for the pool, we wish we took more advantage of it. We went once or twice towards the end of the trip and realized how relaxing and nice it was. As for the food, there are several restaurants at the hotel. Not all are open every night. The food surprisingly wasn't very good. I was expecting the food at the resort to be expensive but I was really let down at the meals I had. We ate at the hotel 5 of the 7 nights we were there. The Banyan Tree is the priciest restaurant on site. It has a beautiful view of the ocean and grounds. I ordered the chicken dish and that is what I got, plain boring chicken, no sauce, no sides, just a piece of baked chicken with some salt and pepper seasoning. Very disappointing and was even more upset that the entree alone was like $50. Service was good here although they were a bit pushy on some of the expensive items. Service at the Terrace Restaurant and upstairs at the Bar/outside area for dinner was pretty poor. Our waiters were not friendly and we felt that they wanted to be somewhere else. They just seemed annoyed at being there. Food at both places were ok (hit or miss). Room service for dinner was just ok. Service everywhere else on the property (front desk, valet/outside greeters, concierge, spa, pool attendants) was excellent. Overall, we were pretty satisfied and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If the Ritz' beach is too windy for you, try Kapalua Beach or Napili Beach. They are just down the street from the hotel. You can take the Shuttle or drive and park. So beautiful!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karlamou
Business
Pasadena, CA
Aug 16, 2010

Great family vacation!

Beautiful hotel with fantastic views. The staff was friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sansei sushi was excellent and an easy walk from the Ritz.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica
Aug 14, 2010

Great Off-Season Vacation

Very nice hotel and great pools. Food was good but pricey. Order a Red Orchid at the pool bar. Secluded beach area was great. Movie nights by the pool in the evenings were fun. Stock up at the Honolua general store for juice, deli, fresh fruit and wine and beer. Store prices are very reasonable. Look for George Lucas' license plate up onto the left when you enter the store, C-THREE. The hotel shuttle will take you there and pick you up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Honolua General Store

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MauiFirstTimer
Business
SoCal
Aug 13, 2010

Ritz Schmitz

The hotel is away from the crowds, which was appreciated, but also rather far from the shore, which was hated. (Incidentally, it should have been closer, if not for a hawaiian burial site that happened to be on the initial construction site). The architecture is bland, almost boring, only saved by a spectacular vista from the terrace. The ones with the good fortune to be in the the ocean front suites, they may have a nice vacation, the rest will suffer in silence - if they are hearing impaired, if not they will have their sorrows crushed by the sounds of the lawn mowers starting at 5:30 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's Kapalua is quite a treat.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Aug 11, 2010

First Class

The Ritz Kapalua is 1st class! We picked this because of the quiet location, great beach, fantastic pool and amazing beauty. The hotel is close to some of the best snorkling on the island. The service and food was eceptional, althought the drink prices were a little excessive. Overall, I don't know how you can beat this hotel and we have stayed at 4 others in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honolua Store is just a block from the hotel and has great breakfast and lunches not to mention a great little store.

Back to menu Return to top