$395 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
515 out of 515
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunburnt in Seattle
Couples
Seattle, Wa
Oct 27, 2010

Amazing, romantic getaway

Great service, clean, well keep rooms, delicious foods and tasty drinks... three beautiful pools, two hot tubs and a fully stocked spa make this a perfect getaway for two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ex-New Yorkers
Couples
Los Angeles,California
Oct 27, 2010

Anniversary Getaway

This is our second trip to the Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua. We stayed in an ocean view residential suite. The mini-kitchen makes it convenient and affordable for eating breakfast and lunch in the suite. The hotel restaurants are very expensive. There is a market very close to the hotel. Several area restaurants, Sansei and Cane and Taro offer early bird specials.The hotel staff was polite and very attentive. This hotel is about 10 min. from Kannapali and 15 min from Lahaina,it's a quieter resort.It was a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sansei restaurant has an early bird special.Food is really fresh and delicious.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle WA
Oct 26, 2010

Fantastic Place! Great for couples!

This was a wonderful hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming to everyone (I've stayed at some resorts where they treat some guests like VIPS but not all...and at this place we received wonderful service the entire trip from every employee.) The room was luxurious and comfortable. The pool and beaches were gorgeous. There were many dining options (Aloha Lounge--great for drinks, a light meal, and live music; Banyan Tree---very romantic/expensive option, small portion sizes; Terrace Restaurant--nice location overlooking the pool, great steak; Kai Sushi--great sushi and appetizers, and finally the Beachside grill--the perfect spot for lunch, beautiful views of the ocean and mountains.) We really enjoyed the Sunday night "dive in" movie on our first night there. They play a movie on two big screens poolside. We enjoyed dinner at the pool with the movie. I also suggust the Kapalua walking trail. It starts at the Ritz and follows the ocean along the coast. Parts of the trail are a boardwalk, parts are rocky, parts are a dirt path. You walk by beautiful beaches and rocky cliffs. Nice photo opportunities. It goes all the way from DT Flemming Beach to the end of Kapalua Beach (there are signs along the way to direct you).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a 5 minute walk away was the Honolua Store. This is the place to get a good,affordable breakfast or lunch. And they also have suntan lotion, souvenirs, groceries, and other odds and ends. Great prices!!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lost Umletes
Couples
Cincinnati, Ohio
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing Get Away.

We took full advantage of the Ritz facilities as well as explored the entire island. The staff was exceptionally friendly; although I will concede that there was maybe not enough staff around the pool area during the middle of the day.We enjoyed the advantage of the shuttle service to the restaurants and other facilities - they were very prompt and timely. The Pineapple Grill was a great bar hang out (good dinner food as well). Merrieman's IS the spot for a glass of wine while the sun sets. Staff there went out of their way to welcome us. Their dinner food was fair, wine bar food was good. Rooms were lovely, enjoyed a yoga class - good instructor, beach was clean-clean-clean, we loved that! We rarely ate breakfast at the Terrace - it seemed more food than we wanted and not worth the price. We generally went to the coffee house down the block - all the food was good. When we explored the island we rented a jeep. We did the Road to Hana - the valet service gave us a DVD to listen to for the ride - nice Touch. I would have loved to try out the spa but did feel like there was very little immediate information about the services and it seemed more trouble to investigate than it was worth. The shops carried nice merchandise - pricey as you would expect but nice. Concierges were not as versed in local info and we found just chatting with pool staff folks like [...] & [...] we got better suggestions and nuggets of local wisdom. We rented a pool cabana at a very "reasonable" price, as well as a Casa Bella down by the beach. We thought it was worth it both times since we wanted a little less party and more calm relaxing time. Overall we enjoyed ourselves and had a wonderful time. We would go again and recommend to family & friends. We are frequent Ritz Carlton travelers and this resort maintained all the expectations that we have when going to a Ritz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by the little market/coffee shop called Honolua and grab a bottle of wine, cheese, fruit (good selection of market foods)and take the shuttle to the Kapalua bay beach off to the right of Merriman's. Turtles visit there at sunset. Amazing sunset! There were a few couples getting married at the beach but it was not crowded and we had a lot of privacy. Very romantic.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin and Michelle
Couples
Los Angeles
Oct 17, 2010

Outstanding!!!!!!

Couldn't have been better. The staff was just wonderful, the facility was out of this world. Just a tad north of most of the things to do on the island, but we kind of liked that too. Just a little removed from all the other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Java Jazz and Soup Nutz. Great food and service, reasonable prices. They had great breakfasts and open at 6 for us time zone challenged travelers. Just a few minutes south of the hotel. Also Sansei, right next to the hotel. Great for a nice night out. Wonderful sushi.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Honolulu, HI
Oct 14, 2010

Overnighter, wished stayed longer!

Couldn't turn down the killer deal and was not dissapointed. Very nice hotel & property, excellent service from staff. Only did an overnighter, should have stayed longer, didn't have a chance to really take advantage of the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TTTTTTTTTTTTT
Couples
Santa Monica, CA
Oct 10, 2010

95% Fantastic

Restaurant servers did not have a "bank". If you elected to pay by cash you're out of luck. We waited once about 8 minutes for one of the servers to run a round to try and find change for fifty-dollars, and ended up having to pay by credit card. The overall hotel experience was great though, the property is beautiful and the staff is friendly and professional. The room (deluxe ocean view) was beautiful, except for the noise of the sliding balcony doors of the adjacent rooms - not good at all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sltexas
Couples
austin, tx
Oct 9, 2010

incredible!

Residential suites are beautiful, especially ocean view. Easy walk to the beach. Wonderful service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy "maui revealed" guidebook

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Encino, CA
Oct 8, 2010

best place on Maui

We enjoyed every thing this hotel had to offer! the pool was fantastic with great service and music just loud enough to be heard but quiet enough not to get in the way. The beach was gorgeous and they will bend over backwards to make sure you get what you need. We suggest you take a walk out on the lava that jut out into the ocean..lots of tidal pools and fish and crabs to see etc etc. I played the Bay course(as it was a bit easier than the Plantation) and it was in excellent condition with wonderful views. The hotel feels wonderfully isolated and you really feel as if you are on vacation. well away from the noise and bustle of Ka'anapali. We had seen on the reviews that some people complained about the food. but the food was great and there were many different styles-a little pricey maybe but this isn't a budget hotel AND they had a store literally a 2 minute walk up the hill with VERY reasonably priced, made to order dishes. We had a late flight out and they gave us a late checkout(2PM) and we could use all the facilities all day and take a shower at the health club before we left. IF you are wondering if you should stay there--DO IT! we will def be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the store just up the hill from the hotel for good cheap food(the short stack pancakes were excellent!)

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston MA
Oct 4, 2010

A paradise within paradise

Personal beach, friendly staff and great pool and hot-tubs. The only catch was there was a 20$ a day fees for use of facilities including Wi-Fi. This was mandatory and we were informed when we checked in. I wish the hotel had been more upfront about this and this should have been included in the cost when we booked. I would have carried my laptop had I known I had Wi-Fi available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Whalers village.

Back to menu Return to top