$589 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
521 out of 521
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian 2nd Time
Business
Maui
Nov 13, 2014

Good experience

Thought the housekeeping could have been better. Although still would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Aloha mixed plate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray the traveller
Business
Redwood City, CA
Nov 6, 2014

Great family vacation

Beautiful hotel with great pools including a kiddie pool and play area. Staff was great. Only complain is the rough beach conditions due to the hotel local - DT Fleming beach. Beach surf and weather conditions much more pleasant next beach down at Kanapalii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honolua General Store located at the hotel entrance- 5 min walk. Great place for casual breakfast & lunch and misc supplies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will go there again
Business
Fremont, CA
Nov 5, 2014

Excellent choice

The hotel was great along with the staff, the service and the gratitude. Location is the only thing that was not 5 star. If you plan on just staying on the west side of the island then this is great but if you have activities planned such as going to Hana or the crater then it is a long drive. Other than that EXCELLENT CHOICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Finally wrote a review
Business
Southern California
Oct 24, 2014

Perfect Vacation

Had a wonderful stay at this luxury resort. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Many activities located close by, including golf courses, driving range, hiking, and ziplines. Private beach is minutes from the hotel. Kapaula is far enough away from Lahaina and Kaanapali to get away from the touristy crowds, but still close enough for a daily visit to the eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ululani's in Lahaina has the best shave ice! Try the haupia pie at McDonald's in Kahana. Also, for you spam lover, they have the Local Deluxe Big Breakfast. Spam or portuguese sausage and rice for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon couple Maui
Business
Maui
Oct 22, 2014

Fantastic!

The Ritz offered exceptional service, clean rooms and extraordinary amenities. After viewing other hotels on Maui, the Ritz is still my top choice. However, If I'm being honest, my only criticism is pricing for food & drinks is way over the top. We enjoyed our stay but I recommend traveling elsewhere for dining and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginajet
Business
Salinas, CA
Sep 9, 2014

Beautiful pool

Staff was great (except one person), very friendly, smiling, always greeting you. Pool staff was phenomenal! Didn't appreciate the $30/day resort fee and $18/day parking. Food & drink ridiculously overpriced. We only ate there the first day. Beach beautiful, but quite a walk, especially on the way up. Take the golf cart ride, it's worth it. Stay on Maui every year at a different hotel and wanted to try the Ritz. It was a beautiful, great experience, but will go back to our just-as-gorgeous hotel with easier beach/bay access and no daily additional fees. When I booked this trip there was no mention of all the additional fees. I was just lucky to have had enough funds to cover the extra $500 the minute I walked into the hotel before I even saw my room. If you don't have a credit card, they charge $500 directly on your debit card. I was VERY turned off by that. Great room, clean, gorgeous view, lovely grounds. Happy I got to stay there once in my life but probably won't again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pioneer Inn!!! Go down the the wharf in Lahaina for excellent, cheap breakfasts and watch the boats get ready to leave for the day. Fantastic meal, super inexpensive, friendly staff and FAST service. Can't beat it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MariaLK
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Great place to relax

The best getaway ever! Beach is secluded and private so it makes the whole experience more intimate. Staff was extremely friendly at all times and compound is inviting. Will return. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out the zip-lining within walking distance from the hotel, next to the grocery store. It was awesome. Virgil, our guide, rocked!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Management Consultant Tra
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 8, 2014

Not Up to Standards of the Brand

While the amenities and room were nice, the service at this property left something to be desired. Overall, the "laid back and nice" attitude of the staff didn't quite translate into exceptional service. The location of the hotel, while quiet and more secluded, was in an area of the island that is quite windy and rains throughout the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Mom Lori
Business
Kailua, Hawaii
Jul 28, 2014

Mother and daughter getaway

I was spending the weekend on a much needed getaway with my daughter. My daughter is autistic and has an extremely limited diet. Unusually, when we eat out, the wait staff is thoroughly annoyed when I have to order her food. It was nice to be treated courteously the entire weekend. We had a wonderful time and both got some much needed R & R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meyer the Traveler
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 7, 2014

Gorgeous hotel with the best staff ever!

The Ritz Carlton Kapalua lives us to the reputation of the hotel chain. The hotel is beautiful, the pool areas were immense and relaxing, the grounds were a tropical paradise! I have never experienced such a welcoming and wonderful staff at any other hotel in my travels. Everyone was smiling and they jumped up to help with anything we needed. The valet even had our car washed because of the leaves that covered it after a storm! Over the course of 7 days, we played 5 rounds of golf at the 2 courses that surround the hotel. If you go golfing, don't forget your camera. The views from both the Bay Course (be sure to eat lunch at the Pineapple Grill) and the Plantation Course (dinner at the Plantation House is a MUST) are so amazing that it might help you forget how hard the courses are. There is a 1 1/2 mile nature trail that starts at the hotel and continues down the beach toward Napili. It has beautiful vistas and picture opportunities. Caution: the trail is not paved, so flip flops may not be the best way to navigate over the rocks - also, don't try the trail at night - way too many ways to twist an ankle in the dark. At the end of the trail, be sure to stop at Merriman's for another incredible dinner with great views. The ONLY drawback to the hotel is that it is situated a bit further off the beach than I would have preferred. When they were building the hotel, they discovered a Hawaiian burial ground near the beach that forced them to move the hotel back inland. During the day, they do run a golf cart shuttle down the hill to the beach if you don't want to make the walk. The water is a bit rougher than at Kapalua Beach which makes snorkeling a bit more of a challenge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to book a helicopter tour of the island. The hotel concierge helped us choose the best tour for us. It was the highlight of our trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top