$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
549 out of 549
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael B.
Business
LA
Jan 22, 2015

Hawaii Vacation

This hotel was awesome! My wife and I have a wonderful vacation, the hotel was perfect and we loved seeing Maui while staying here! It was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All mexico traveler
Business
Houston
Jan 19, 2015

Awesome Family Trip

I love the heated pool even when it was raining and cool outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
June B.
Business
san antonio
Jan 12, 2015

Exceeded Expectations!

Amazing, professional, warm, friendly, accommodating staff! Top notch facilities! Outstanding views! Definitely worth it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Free hula shows at local malls. Visit Hawaiian Museum for free at Queen Kaahumanu mall. Attend a free Wyndham timeshare presentation and get amazing discounts on luaus, trips, etc...paid less that $30 for one of the best luaus in town. Drive yourself to Heleakala but take the tour bus on the Road to Hana. Book with off-property companies...same excursions...waay cheaper!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roshan k.
Business
new york
Jan 8, 2015

Awesome trip..

beautiful resort.. excellent staff.. excellent food.. excellent service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micah A.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Super Nice and Excellent Staff

Had a great time on my honey moon and it was also our first time to Hawaii. Loved the trip and the service from the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little patra
Business
Torrance
Dec 30, 2014

Great Christmas Vacation!

What a great service this hotel provided for our family. But the location is too far from Hileakala Volcano or other famous places in Maui

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roger G.
Business
Los Gatos
Dec 29, 2014

Not what I expected from the Ritz Carton

From the Ritz Carlton you expect a 5+ rating experience. When we arrived for the weekend stay that was cut short due to weather issues at our departure point, we expected at least a view of the Ocean from our room. Well if you go to the balcony and lean crane your neck you can see the Ocean. This would be OK if the hotel was full, but not OK when they spent 20 min selecting a room with a good view for us at checkin. My expectation was something above and beyond. What we got was OK. For an OK experience we could have stayed at the Hyatt ! The issue for me was that when we did complain we were "Sorry, nothing we can do now". Once I went to the front desk and complained the lady where took off some of the charges. But all in all I can say that similar problems at the Fairmont had a totally different response that made me want to go back every time. Having said that the Sushi restaurant was excellent and the service there was excellent too. There was not enough value for me, I would not go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RachLauren
Business
Sherman Oaks, CA
Dec 3, 2014

Don't waste your money

Concierge is AWFUL!!! They recommended the WORST restaurants. Air Conditioning was broken. It Rained the entire time but everywhere else on the Island was bright and shinny. The beach at hotel is very small, and waves are too strong to swim, you have to leave hotel to go in Ocean. Food was AWFUL and over priced for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Monkey Pod Great Restaurant !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy mom needs a vacation
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Dec 2, 2014

Great restaurant staff

Very nice staff and manager in Kai sushi!!! My kids wanted to eat noodles the first day we arrived, but the room service items were all cold and basic, we went to lobby to look for foods, the staff (lady) in front door of Kai sushi and her manager did provide warm help to check all the restaurants in the hotel, even we did not get the wish food, but sincere appreciated their help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the Marine
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 30, 2014

Great Destination Resort

If you're good with the price and have a ton of money to spend, the Ritz is where its at. great location, great view. I recommend eating away from the hotel. For two of us, we spent $150 on breakfast that was good, but not spectacular. Don't get me wrong, this place is amazing, but you're going to spend a pretty penny on everything, not just your room cost. It's also a bit off the beaten path, so if you want to stay at the resort the whole time, it's good, but if you want to see central Maui, it's at least a 45 minute to an hour drive just to get into town. This place is amazing and beautiful, 2 PGA golf courses, beach access, amazing pool, etc., but only really practical if you're loaded and don't mind spending a ton of money. Would be really cool if the Ritz offered some sort of military discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Lahaina, Napili, or pretty much anywhere else on the island for everything. Stay here for the pool and the beach, but food and entertainment will break the bank if you stay at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top