$429 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
502 reviews
True 5 Star Experience

When the pool staff swims up to you with a tray of pineapple to sample you know you are having a... See full review

  • imdutch
  • Nov 14, 2014
Great family vacation

Beautiful hotel with great pools including a kiddie pool and play area. Staff was great. Only... See full review

  • Ray the traveller
  • Nov 6, 2014
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is a AAA Five Diamond beachfront West Maui resort situated in the heart of Kapalua, less than 10 miles from downtown Lahaina and Ka'anapali Beach. Both cultural and environmental appreciation, combined with world-class service and exclusive facilities deliver a true escape. From island-inspired guestrooms and suites to 36 holes of golf, three-tiered pools with luxurious cabanas, lavish spa and tropical dining at one the resort's onsite restaurants and bars, this resort provides an unforgettable retreat. Steps away from the white sand of D.T. Fleming Beach and captivating natural surroundings, the resort allows guests to explore a unique Maui destination. The Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment program for adults and children features an environmental and cultural education center with excursions led by expert naturalists. A free shuttle transports guests to championship golf courses, secluded beaches, Kapalua Airport, Kapalua restaurants and tennis.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Terrace Chef-Crafted
The Terrace Chef Crafted Hawaiian Cuisine the resort's newest dining experience featuring distinctive menus inspired by the freshest seasonal, organic and sustainable ingredients from Hawaii's local farms and Pacific coastlines which are showcased as brilliantly flavorful, chef-crafted delicacies. These culinary masterpieces are served alongside a world-class selection of fine wines and classic cocktails redefined with innovative mixology and local influence. The world-class cuisine and robust wine selection of The Terrace Chef Crafted is complemented by dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean, the Pailolo Channel and the lush flora of the resort. Open for dinner Tuesday through Saturday from 5:30pm to 9:30pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (502)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
502 out of 502
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bashtage
Business
London, UK
Sep 7, 2012

Good but not great

We stayed 6 nights at the Ritz Kapalua. It is a very nice resort that aims to be 5 stars. The hotel is in far northwest Maui, and so it takes nearly an hour to reach virtually any attraction on the island. We spent a ot of time in the car, and didn't manage to see the waterfalls which were about 3 hours away (one way). Our room was not exceedingly clean - definitely not 5 stars clean. We could feel sand even before we went to the beach, and when we were looking for anything that we may have left under the bed,discovered that the rug was filthy under the furniture. The resort food was also only adequate. The breakfast did not open on time which made making early morning activities stressful. I probably would not return at the current prices (more than $500 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TonyXXX
Business
New York
Sep 7, 2012

So much is left to be desired...

Front-end staff is ok. Mmm... Not as friendly as other properties I have been to. E.g. Marriott Chicago! Checking-in wasn't anything spectacular. But, I got an oceanview room upgrade. So, not much complain there. I think the Ritz tries to create an exclusive atmosphere. I do appreciate it but didn't notice a lot of mingling. E.g. where are the japanese guests? Not too many to be found. Unless they are hiding in their own social gathering spots, I didn't see too many of them. They are scarce. For a high end resort, the Ritz at Kapalua, is definitely dated. E.g. furnishings. Or is this their corporate identity? The gym .... Ummm.... the equipment are so OLD. Even my neighborhood gym has newer more up to date equipment. Not only is it not great from the standpoint of keeping up to standards, but also not clever from a safety standpoint. SOme of these equipment are really rickety; completely incongruous with what a high end resort claims to provide as their amenities. There are not a lot of dining options on site! Mainly room service. My biggest peev is the signage. There are only signs for room numbers but nothing for "lobby" and other parts of the sprawling complex. I was there 2 nights, 3 days, and still got lost every time. What if there is fire / evacuation etc? All said, the pool is great. I was able to do laps when it was not too crowded. Would I visit again? Maybe. But I will like to try other resorts in the area, such as the Westin. Stay tuned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hyperbaric RN
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Sep 4, 2012

Decompress vacation

The hotel and location was fabulous. The only drawback expecting a quiet experience was the noise level in our room. We were awakened each morning by the housekeeping staff cleaning either the room above us or the one below. The rooms need better sound proofing! Other than that detail the experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recent bride
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 28, 2012

Quiet,

I spent my honeymoon at this hotel. We enjoyed a complimentary upgrade offered upon our arrival. The room was spacious and housekept twice a day. All staff members are polite and accommodating. One thing that was not as pleasant was the fact that the location of the resort is a very windy one, so you find yourself holding on to your belongings and not being able to enjoy the beach, the pool or your tanning time as long as you would like. The beach at Kanapali is more enjoyable ( though more crowded also), if you get tired of the wind you can go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When you visit the Haleakala reserve (the crater) bring pants a jacket and a lot of water, so you are able to take even the shortest of the trail, being in Maui you tend to think it is going to be hot everywhere but it isn't, it is really high and it gets windy and cold!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tinner1
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Aug 24, 2012

Perfect 25th Anniversary

We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton Kapalua before and the experience was the same, this is a first class resort. We had a great time, the staff was exceptional, the room was wonderful and we loved having such great beaches so close. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fleetwood's on Front Street in Lahaina, Maui has great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happily Mauied
Business
New York
Aug 24, 2012

Complete Privacy

If you are looking to be on a crowded pool or beach then the Ritz is not for you. However, if you are looking to have complete relaxation and privacy with incredible customer service then please head to the Ritz. They did a remarkable job making my wife and I feel special during our honeymoon and went above and beyond making our stay memorable. It is a first class resort with first class services. We will defiantly be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Happy hour specials throughout Maui from 2-5. It saved us a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shadow2010
Business
Pasadena, California
Aug 24, 2012

Not so fantastic family getaway

We got the package and when the time got closer to the trip, I called and asked to make sure I would get the double beds I requested that you guys never even put in the system. When I gave my conf number, they were like, that's not our number, I was soo confused and then I realized it was because of your number is different. When you speak to a manager and when you know someone with a connection, you get upgraded to a suite because of their comment. I wish your hotels would treat everyone the same. I have a retail shop and I don't discriminate when I sell something on sale. very hurtful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmeyer
Business
East bay
Aug 20, 2012

Perfect

Best vacation ever! Staff was amazing. Room service was really tasty. We ate breakfast every morning on our balcony. Kind of pricey but well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and family3
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 9, 2012

Keeps getting better

The ritz continues to shine with its service and location. The winds keep you cool while there is plenty of sunshine to be had. Great week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rich happy vacation
Business
colorado springs
Jul 31, 2012

the ritz was great~

everything was perfect, hotel, food, golf, everythign

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top