$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
550 out of 550
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nurse Lauren
Business
Seattle, Washington
Feb 24, 2013

Fabulous Vacation

This was my Husband and I's second time staying at the Ritz-Carlton in Kapalua and it definitely will not be our last. Although the weather was not as perfect as it could have been the hotel staff and accommodations made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do not want to wait in line at Sensai's, wait until around 6:30 after the line has dwindled and you will be able to get in without a long wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas11111
Business
Houston
Feb 8, 2013

Very Nice but windy and off location

We stayed here for 7 nights, 2 adults and 2 small children. Then continued with 6 nights at the Marriott Wailea. Most things were great an as expected! You get a high quality stay without paying the price of the four seasons in Wailea. Just make sure that you're aware of a few basic things. 1) all hotels in Maui are one step down from what you'd expect elsewhere in the world. Most hotels were built in the 70's with renovations taking place but you still feel that its not brand new and fresh. 2) Kapalua is off location. 3) wonderful suroundings, huge garden and nice beach. 4) kapalua holds a very nice golf course essentially on the Ritz property. 5) hotel was renovated in 2007/2008 and is in good shape. In fact we expected it to be outdated as most hotels are in Maui, but even if some areas like the beach bar are still not the nicest we've seen, its still matches a 5 star expectation on Maui. Again not paying four seasons rates. 6) gym is ok and only ok. 7) limited areas and expensive activities for kids. They charge $69-$79 for most 3 hours activities. 8) price level is high for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is good quality and we had breakfast at the hotel most of the days. Kids under 5 eats free which is a nice plus! 9) alot of groups and company perks/parties were held at the hotel which makes you feel a step behind if you've paid out of own pocket for your stay. All in all a nice hotel and MUCH higher quality then the "fake category 7 Marriott Wailea". Most of the other chain hotels are pretty low standard compared to the price you pay so The Ritz-Carlton is a best second pier hotel to the Four Seasons. Hope this helps for anyone considering this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Kids under 5 eats free at the breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyoming Bound
Business
Jackson, WY
Feb 8, 2013

RC Kapalua

for those of us who are being charged a $25 a day resort fee but not using the WiFi, why not free coffee in the lobby - or are you concerned about competing with the coffee shop...really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
starved for sun
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 5, 2013

Better than expected

We loved staying here!! The service and the staff at the resort are first class. The hotel provides anything you might need for your daily trips to the beach - water, beach towels, sunscreen, beach chairs, an umbrella, and a shuttle to take you there and back (for those who are complaining about walking – didn’t get it - the beach is only 5 minutes away). In addition to their fabulous pool, there is a kids’ pool and a small play area. There are hammocks all throughout the property, which our daughter loved. The food is a bit expensive if you eat at the hotel, but there are many options within the property, like a little convenience store that also serves food (not the best, but reasonably priced). You will need a car to get to anything around the island, but there are a few great beaches within walking distance. Try their Mai Tai and Pina Colada from the lobby bar – the best we’ve ever had! And the evening entertainment is a nice touch too. We will be back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for options outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alvinfromhawaii
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Luxurious

The hotel was amazing. Staff were very friendly. Hotel was beautiful. Amenities were awesome. A pleasant surprise was when we got to our room they had bought in a crib for our son and provided wall plugs, fever strips, bandaids, shampoo, lotion, blanket, pail and a stuffed animal. One thing to remember is that there is a $25 daily resort charge so it is best to make the most of the resort facilities. They also have a kid pool and play ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of local places near by that are much more affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The HI Life Travler
Business
Pearl City, Hawaii
Jan 25, 2013

First Time To Maui

It was my first time to Maui. I didn't know what to expect, but all I knew it was rated very highly. When approaching the hotel I was amazed! It really felt like a real getaway! I pulled up to the valet and asked if there was a place I could just self park. They pointed to me the area, and then kindly asked if I wanted my luggage and bags sent to my room as I parked my vehicle. Talk about great customer service! When entering the lobby I was greeted with a lei and pointed to the check in counter. All I can say was that the staff and experience were the greatest I've ever had! Starting from the valet to even the cleaners. I would definitely use this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you can get the pool side view you will get the most amazing view!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samsther
Business
Long Beach, California
Jan 24, 2013

Dream of the Ritz

Just as wonderful as you want it to be! Service was superb and everything was just fantastic! Thank you for the great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Sansei up the road! Get in line by 4:30 to get the opening special!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
imdutch
Business
San Diego
Jan 24, 2013

Great staff, pool

Wonderful staff, always helpful. Great pool area. Beach cafe farm to table salad with chicken or shrimp for lunch a great beachside lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Haliimaile General Store for lunch before departure or after flight arrival. Order the fish special and a Kaffir Lime Daquiri. We stop there every trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alle1
Business
Colorado
Jan 22, 2013

Great for family vacation

Everything was perfect my family. Banyan Tree was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GreggWein
Business
Central Jersey
Jan 21, 2013

Wonderful resort stay

Excellent resort all the way around. Staff super, no problem with any aspect of our stay. For an older resort, kept up to 5 star expectations. No visible signs of age. Use the concierge services, they are fantastic. Pool area second to none. Great way to celebrate 10th wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top