$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
View map of One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
522 out of 522
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The HI Life Travler
Business
Pearl City, Hawaii
Jan 25, 2013

First Time To Maui

It was my first time to Maui. I didn't know what to expect, but all I knew it was rated very highly. When approaching the hotel I was amazed! It really felt like a real getaway! I pulled up to the valet and asked if there was a place I could just self park. They pointed to me the area, and then kindly asked if I wanted my luggage and bags sent to my room as I parked my vehicle. Talk about great customer service! When entering the lobby I was greeted with a lei and pointed to the check in counter. All I can say was that the staff and experience were the greatest I've ever had! Starting from the valet to even the cleaners. I would definitely use this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you can get the pool side view you will get the most amazing view!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samsther
Business
Long Beach, California
Jan 24, 2013

Dream of the Ritz

Just as wonderful as you want it to be! Service was superb and everything was just fantastic! Thank you for the great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Sansei up the road! Get in line by 4:30 to get the opening special!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
imdutch
Business
San Diego
Jan 24, 2013

Great staff, pool

Wonderful staff, always helpful. Great pool area. Beach cafe farm to table salad with chicken or shrimp for lunch a great beachside lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Haliimaile General Store for lunch before departure or after flight arrival. Order the fish special and a Kaffir Lime Daquiri. We stop there every trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alle1
Business
Colorado
Jan 22, 2013

Great for family vacation

Everything was perfect my family. Banyan Tree was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GreggWein
Business
Central Jersey
Jan 21, 2013

Wonderful resort stay

Excellent resort all the way around. Staff super, no problem with any aspect of our stay. For an older resort, kept up to 5 star expectations. No visible signs of age. Use the concierge services, they are fantastic. Pool area second to none. Great way to celebrate 10th wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gray92106
Business
San Diego, ca
Jan 20, 2013

Great place to stay

We had a great time! The complimentary shuttle around Kapalua is great. Can be a bit windy up there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lanaeli
Business
Vancouver
Dec 30, 2012

fantastic grounds and service

The location is beautiful and the service is wonderful Kapalua beach is beautiful and well known for snorkeling. The winds can be high and so on these days you can't really sit on the beach but the pool is great. We loved the ABC store in Kapalua village for supplies and the great plate lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattletravel
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 26, 2012

Maui Trip 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ritz-Carlton. The service could've been a little better. One night we called for a water bottle and no one came to drop it off. Had to call again the next day. Valet parking should be complimentary. Also, food was not very good and expensive. Rest of it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IloveMauiHAwaii
Business
Michigan
Dec 23, 2012

Beautiful Ground, more secluded

This is a great hotel and an awesome value. The ground are really nice and this is more of a romantic location (the beach is not as crowded, less children) compared to the hotels are Wailea. However, it is a lot windier and there is more rainfall on this side of the island. The beach was too windy to lay out on the days I was here. We ended up driving to Wailea beaches on several occasions because there is better weather there. However, those beaches are a lot more crowded. Way more kids running around. I stayed here in December which is a windier season across the whole island. The value of this hotel cant be beat to the Wailea ones and you are still staying in luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merrimans is an amazing restaurant! Upscale, amazing food, beautiful sunset. Three minute drive from hotel. The Ritz will shuttle you there as well. The Gazaebo Grill was a good local place for breakfast food. There is always a wait in the morning but the macadamia nut pancakes were really good. It is about three minutes from the Ritz as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rat Doc
Business
Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Dec 21, 2012

Disappointing stay on Maui

Nice setting and beautiful views. But not from our "garden" room that was the cart path for the staff to zoom up and down at all hours of the day and night. Not sure why were given this deluxe room when we never saw other guests on our trek to and from the lobby. Our check in person was "Joy" which she was not. Her attitude was not helpful, snotty is a good and graphic word. I also checked out with her and it became evident that because we had booked a package deal we were not up to snuff compared to other guests. The house staff were very good and helpful. But could not make the room up with all amenities, had to chase down the cart a couple of times to get towels and other items. Unfortunate because the setting is really beautiful. The best feature of our stay were Loco and Moco, pot belly pigs that loved having their tummies rubbed and seemed truly appreciative of our presence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a scrumptious dinner at Kimo's at sunset. Had local Maui cowie beef, wow, best prime rib I have ever had. Great service, attentive but not annoying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top