Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

3 stars
320 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
17 reviews
Great stay and locaion

The condo unit is right on the beach with a fantastic view. The only drawback is it is right next... See full review

  • Ronald1950
  • Jun 23, 2013
wailua bay view

This is actually an apartment building not a hotel. It was great though. It was a little older of a... See full review

  • Chris3863
  • Sep 25, 2009
Budget-friendly Wailua condominiums are all oceanfront, all ocean view
Every Wailua Bay View condominium has a view of Wailua Bay and is just 30 feet from the sand that arcs around the bay. Moderately priced, Wailua Bay View is easy on the budget but does not skimp on conveniences -- free high-speed Internet access, full kitchens and air conditioning in the bedrooms make vacation life here easy and pleasant. There are choices to be made, like whether to cook in the kitchen or out on one of the resort grills. But the hardest choice may be deciding between lounging around the pool and sunning on the sand.
Highlights
  • All ocean view
  • Steps from beach
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Moderately priced
  • All one-bedroom, one-bath condominiums
Location
Wailua Bay View condominiums sit just south of historic Kapaa on the Royal Coconut Coast of Kauai, close to the mouth of the Wailua River and near family-friendly Lydgate Beach Park. A number of popular Kauai sights are very close by, including Fern Grotto and Wailua Falls, and boat tours up scenic Wailua River begin just minutes from the resort.
Rooms
All of the units at Wailua Bay View are essentially the same. Each is a one-bedroom, one-bath vacation home with a lanai, fully equipped kitchen, ceiling fans and air conditioning, and a washer/dryer. Most also have a sofa bed in the living room for extra sleeping space. The units accommodate up to four people.
Features
In addition to the oceanfront setting and views, each Wailua Bay View condominium has a lanai that looks out to the Wailua River as it spills into the Pacific. Just beyond the river, Lydgate Beach Park draws families to calm, protected ocean waters, and there are a number of other Kauai hot spots both near the resort and father afield. When guests want info on where to explore each day, they can simply borrow a guidebook and other materials from the Wailua Bay View library.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Blue Hawaiian Helicopters (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Kee Beach (32 mi/51.5 km)
  • Alakai Swamp Trail (48.8 mi/78.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the condominium will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.
  • Important: Prior to leaving for your trip, please contact Condominium Rentals Hawaii at 1-800-367-5242 to obtain your condo unit # and lockbox combination.
  • Check-in procedure: Drive directly to the Wailua Bay View to check in and get your keys. Wailua Bay View is located at 320 Papaloa Road, Kapa'a, Hawaii 96746, on the island of Kauai.
  • Directions from Lihue Airport to the Wailua Bay View (drive time is approximately 10 minutes):
  • Head toward the airport exit on Ahukini Road (Hwy. 570).
  • Turn right onto Hwy. 51 (Kapule Highway), which then becomes Hwy. 56 (Kuhio Highway).
  • At the Wailua Shell station, turn right onto Papaloa Road.
  • Wailua Bay View is the first driveway on the ocean side, 320 Papaloa Road.
  • To check-in, please call the Guest Service Center at (888) 315-6453 upon arrival (9 AM to 5 PM).
  • For late check-ins, call (808) 264-2454 for assistance. Guests can also place a toll-free call from a pay phone at Lihue Airport to (808) 841-9776.
  • Parking pass is available at the resident manager’s office.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property Rooms

Premium 1 Bedroom
One bedroom oceanfront Premium one bedroom oceanfront Premium

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Nearest restaurant accross the street from the property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jun 30, 2009

Great location

This was a perfect location for our trip. Easy to access and great access to the rest of the island. Beautiful views and everything was neat and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronald1950
Business
Huntington, IN
Jun 23, 2013

Great stay and locaion

The condo unit is right on the beach with a fantastic view. The only drawback is it is right next to a busy highway. You won't notice this much after closing the windows (usually at night) and the sound of the surf off the balcony is fantastic. If you book through a rental agency, please sure to find out your room number and lock code before you arrive. You can still call a number after arriving but you are risking being able to get into your unit right away. The staff was very helpful and went overboard to help on our last day of stay when I got sick and they helped out in extending our stay for a 1/2 day as I recuperated and then caught our flight home. Would definitely stay here again. These units are individually owned and maintained and the unity had extras such as kids toys, umbrellas, binoculars and other items not normally found in hotel or condo units.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
il primo giove
Business
palo alto, ca
Jul 6, 2009

excellent place to explore from

Perfect location on East shore from which to explore. Includes kitchen and couch-bed, washer-dryer, full kitchen, balcony, free-wifi and a separate bedroom. great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fallon, NV
Sep 20, 2009

The best vacation EVER

The Wailua Bay View was perfectly located and we had a great view of the ocean from the lanei. The beach is a short walk from the condo and there are supplies in the condo to take to the beach (beach towels, chairs, umbrella, small ice chest, boogie boards). There's lots of good snorkeling at Tunnels and Ke'e beach(we brought our own snorkel gear). You can rent Kayaks at Hanalei and paddle down the river to the bay and play in the waves-that was great fun! The Princeville Ranch Adventure is lots of fun-ziplining above the jungle is a must. We also took a catamaran tour that was incredible (Holo Holo Charters). On this tour you get to snorkel, see the Na Pali coast, see dolphins and see turtles and lunch is included. Dining out can be pricey but there are some great restaraunts to visit. Every place we went had great, friendly service and we didn't have one bad meal. One of the best places was right across the street from the condo. It's a little Mexican restaraunt that serves some great seafood-the shrimp diablo is the best! Wahoo and the Lemon Grass Bar and Grill are also very good. There are little restaraunts all up and down the highway-just know that food on Kaua'i is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris3863
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 25, 2009

wailua bay view

This is actually an apartment building not a hotel. It was great though. It was a little older of a building, but everything was clean and nice. It's located on a good beach for boogie boarding or fishing and like 1 mile from their little downtown area. I will stay here again next time I go to kaui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to bubba's burgers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim in da U.P.
Business
Iron River, Mi.
Mar 5, 2011

Perfect Location

The location was perfect for us. Our main love is snorkeling and the northern 2/3 of isle are the best. The room (#207) has everything you could possibly need.Even a cooler for packing a lunch and drinks. I suppose to some the street noise could be a little loud in the mornings but we were so exhausted by days end we didnt realy notice.Since our bodies were still on Central time we were the first up and on the road to see all the sights. Never had to fight crowds or tour buses or look for a place to park. By 5:PM Our day was over and we were ready for a good dinner.Restaurants start getting real busy after 6:pm.Only negative about condo was having the house keeper([...]) call the day before our departure to ask "when I was leaving because she had someone coming in the next day" and "would I start the last load of laundry for her"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont bother bringing your own snorkel equipment. You can rent a complete quality set at SNORKEL BOBS for $9.00 per week. Go to Cosco when you arrive and pick enough grocery for a quick breakfast, pack a lunch, and splurge for dinner. All eats are very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R n B
Business
Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great Stay

We booked this as part of a package so we really did not know what unit we would get till we checked it. We had 106 a ground floor unit with a great ocean view and no steps to deal with. Unit was a little dated but very clean and well maintained. We found a few minor items missing and the staff replaced them right away. We loved this location being midway up the island for our day trips and beach adventures. Traffic could be a bit heavy from time to time with a bit of noise being the bedrooms are on the back traffic side of the units. But the sound of the surf made up for it. We would stay here again. Very Pleased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma WA
Sep 26, 2009

Wailua Bay View

Great place to stay on Kauai. Central location, right on the beach, WONDERFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, and Salt Lake City Utah
Aug 19, 2009

I love having the washer and dry in unit

It was very relaxing and beautiful views of the beach. The old resturant broken down next to our room is a bit of an eye sore, otherwise all else was perfect. Friendly property manager [...] was so helpful and great guy..Really did his job. I had a late check out and they worked with me and it saved my butt...Thank you..I will come here again...Marilyn Murdock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailua Bay View - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CV girl
Business
Carmel valley, CA
Feb 13, 2011

Sounds of the surf...

A nice, clean condo, with a friendly + helpful manager. Our lanai was 20 feet from the surf. Great convenient location to get to anything on the island. Nearby good options for food.Pizza - Bobby V'sMexican - MonicosDinner: Hukilau LanaiLunch: Mermaid Cafe in Kapaa on the main street. (Looks a bit questionable, but fabulous satay plate and ahi burritos)Coffee: Icing On The Cake bakery next door - Buy some "Blue Bottle coffe from them - great!Ask [...]for the Condo unit # and code before getting there - that's needed for check-in, and aparently [...]doesn't always pass-on this info.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Fever in the coconut maketplace for resort-wear shopping. Really nice unique stuff, gorgeous fabrics, and pretty good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top