$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

4 stars
4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
165 reviews
Amazing

Friendly staff, excellent rooms, next to a small private beach, restaraunt/bar on the beach. Only... See full review

  • Harleymomma
  • Mar 15, 2014
Hawaii retreat

Fantastic!!! Nothing else to say. Could not have been a better place to stay. See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Resort adds glam to Coconut Coast with fantasy pool and luxury condos
The beachfront resort spreads over 12.6 acres with a 300,000-gallon fantasy pool in the heart of it. Units range from hotel rooms to two-bedroom vacation condos, located in seven low-rise buildings across an expanse of manicured lawns dotted with pools, waterfalls and slender palms. Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort opened in 2007 and has a decidedly upscale look and feel, exemplified by the use of exotic wood and imported stone in accommodations. The Building Industry Association of Hawaii recognized the resort as a Parade of Homes "standout."
Highlights
  • 300,000-gallon fantasy pool with meandering river and dual serpentine slides
  • Full-service Spa by the Sea
  • Complimentary wired Internet in every unit
Location

Centrally located on Kauai's east coast between Kapaa and Wailua, the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort is just a 40-minute drive to Princeville or Poipu, giving guests easy access to the north and south shores of Kauai.

Rooms
Condos at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort have a distinctly upscale vibe created by rich Indonesian woods and Peruvian travertine accents. Granite countertops and top names in appliances in the full kitchens -- Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Fisher/Paykel, among them -- set a level of luxury and quality likely to appeal to discerning guests. Condos range from 898 to 1,853 square feet, giving families room to move. A few hotel rooms are also available, adding convenience for wedding parties and other groups traveling together. Maid service can be requested for a fee.
Features
Walk out onto Kauai's longest beach, a three-mile strand of creamy sand where vacationers can stroll or sun to the rhythms of the rolling Pacific. Among the amenities at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort are a 4,000-square-foot spa where visitors and locals choose from a full menu of massages, facials and other indulgent treatments, and a restaurant with a focus on locally grown, organic produce and fresh fish (open happy hour and dinner only). A small fitness center open 24/7 keeps workout junkies happy. Guests who want to create their own local dishes can use grills on the property and shop for groceries just across the street.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Coconut Marketplace (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wailua Falls (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Compact 550-square-foot business center with computer/printer keeps working guests connected

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Room feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep of include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0612 -159.32
Area served
Kapaa, Kauai
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Beachfront resort located on Kauai's eastern coast in Waipouli 8 miles north of Lihue airport. Lihue International Airport to Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort: Exit Lihue Airport and turn RIGHT at the first traffic signal onto KAPULE HWY/HWY 51. Continue on HWY 51 until it intersects with KUHIO HWY/HWY 56. Continue on KUHIO HWY/HWY 56 as it crosses the Waialua River Bridge. Continue past Coconut Plantation at Waipouli approximately 1 mile; Turn RIGHT into WAIPOULI BEACH RESORT. Kauai Village Marketplace is directly across Kuhio Hwy from Waipouli Beach Resort.

Dining

Oasis on The Beach
The Oasis on the Beach, is now open daily from 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 165
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2007

Good location but weak customer service

This hotel was in a very good central location to explore the rest of the Island. The rooms were very nice all the furniture, tvs, appliances were in excellent condition. We were dissappointed at the service level during check in and the lack of effort. We arrived at the hotel at noon and asked if we could check in early and the very blunt and indifferent reply was that check in was at 3pm. We were ok with this but asked that since we were already at the hotel, if they could move our room forward with cleaning we would appreciate it. I checked in at 2 pm and the response from the front desk was in a poor tone and they said, we are told not to talk to housekeeping and there was nothing they could do. I said ok and said that this experience was below my expectation for a hotel of this caliber. I checked in at 2:55pm to see if the room was ready and they responded again with their standard line that check in is at 3 pm. It was apparent that they had not made an effort to talk with housekeeping on status. We finally checked in at 4pm. The air conditioning was also not working for two nights. The tv reception was not working well or not at all and after several visits from the technicians the reception was not right. The pool bar lounge area was under construction the first 4 nights and when asked when it would open, the front desk was not truthful about the actual re openning. I would have prefer a more honest reponse. When we asked guest services for dining options and advice the representative said I don't really handle dining since activities are my main thing. You can look at the local magazine if you like. We were very bothered by this since we were referred to guest services by the front desk. It surprised me that a hotel of this apparent service level had such poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2007

Good location but weak customer service

This hotel was in a very good central location to explore the rest of the Island. The rooms were very nice all the furniture, tvs, appliances were in excellent condition. We were dissappointed at the service level during check in and the lack of effort. We arrived at the hotel at noon and asked if we could check in early and the very blunt and indifferent reply was that check in was at 3pm. We were ok with this but asked that since we were already at the hotel, if they could move our room forward with cleaning we would appreciate it. I checked in at 2 pm and the response from the front desk was in a poor tone and they said, we are told not to talk to housekeeping and there was nothing they could do. I said ok and said that this experience was below my expectation for a hotel of this caliber. I checked in at 2:55pm to see if the room was ready and they responded again with their standard line that check in is at 3 pm. It was apparent that they had not made an effort to talk with housekeeping on status. We finally checked in at 4pm. The air conditioning was also not working for two nights. The tv reception was not working well or not at all and after several visits from the technicians the reception was not right. The pool bar lounge area was under construction the first 4 nights and when asked when it would open, the front desk was not truthful about the actual re openning. I would have prefer a more honest reponse. When we asked guest services for dining options and advice the representative said I don't really handle dining since activities are my main thing. You can look at the local magazine if you like. We were very bothered by this since we were referred to guest services by the front desk. It surprised me that a hotel of this apparent service level had such poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent traveler 57
Portland OR
Mar 3, 2013

Nice room, crummy service

The physical furnishings of our 1 bedrm ocean view condo were very nice. The location is only notable for being close to a grocery store. The facilities are nice but quality of service is poor (ie every 3 day cleaning was very superficial and we were refused a request for extra soap or towels with this). Little touches like coffee filters and laundry detergent would have been nice. The pool looks nice but is too overrun with children to be enjoyable for adults. Overall the facility was nice, but we didn't feel it was a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jun 7, 2010

Beautiful Rooms and Quiet Pool area

This is a really nice resort that I would stay at again. The grocery store across the street was really helpful. It was more expensive than the mainland, but still quite a bit cheaper than eating out every meal. The beach was not very swimmable due to the coral, but both the beach and the pool areas were pretty quiet during the day. The onsite restaurant was fairly expensive and we didn't eat there. There were a number of places within walking distance, including Wahoos, which was expensive but really good. We paid for an ocean-front room and they intially put us on a ground floor with a limited view. After some discussions with them, they moved us to another room that had a much better view, though it still wasn't what we had pictured. Be specific about what kind of room you want when you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two grocery stores within walking distance. It helped to load up on cereal and snacks there before heading to the beach or hiking.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Steff
SEattle, WA
Oct 27, 2010

Awesome romantic spot!

This hotel has an awesome location and is easy to drive to the north and south parts of the island. It is also very close to the airport! The staff was friendly and attentive. The grounds were well kept and the pool was a lot of fun to swim and hang out in. There are also many whirlpools with sand at the bottom! The beach area was decent, but small. There wasn't much land to really take a walk on the beach. Our room was very nice with a full kitchen and really nice appliances! Safeway was right across the street for groceries and the town of Kapaa has tons of nice restaurants. There was a nice breeze from the second floor, but could also use A/C if necessary. Overall, it was very enjoyable staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen's Birthday Extravaganza
St. Louis, MO
Aug 13, 2009

Awesome accomodations lacking location

The Outrigger Waipouli provide almost everything you need in their condos. They are well furnished with contemporary bedding and appliances. We felt right at home in our condo. Our view wasn't all that spectacular but we didn't want to upgrade since we didn't plan on spending much time in the condo. The pool is a lagoon type which we really enjoyed with waterfalls, a slide and sand bottom whirlpools. Very nice! The resort is in the East and most of the activities are in the North or South. It was nice to be in the middle at times but the weather in the East wasn't all that great and we wished we were in the South where is was sunny most of the time with awesome beaches. We enjoyed ziplining and our zodiac rafting tour. Highly recommended!!! Overall I recommend the Outrigger for the price and quality. If you don't mind a 30-40 minute drive you can pretty much get to anywhere you want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We thought we would save a lot of money buying our own groceries at the Safeway across the street. Boy were we suprised at the prices at the grocery store. $5 for a loaf of bread. If you have a membership card to Safeway or a grocery chain in Kauai bring it along! Saves a lot of money. Or eat at Subway!

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
apple valley
Nov 4, 2010

great hotelk

rocks in water at beach need shoes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good food next door and across street at palms

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jun 7, 2010

Beautiful Rooms and Quiet Pool area

This is a really nice resort that I would stay at again. The grocery store across the street was really helpful. It was more expensive than the mainland, but still quite a bit cheaper than eating out every meal. The beach was not very swimmable due to the coral, but both the beach and the pool areas were pretty quiet during the day. The onsite restaurant was fairly expensive and we didn't eat there. There were a number of places within walking distance, including Wahoos, which was expensive but really good. We paid for an ocean-front room and they intially put us on a ground floor with a limited view. After some discussions with them, they moved us to another room that had a much better view, though it still wasn't what we had pictured. Be specific about what kind of room you want when you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two grocery stores within walking distance. It helped to load up on cereal and snacks there before heading to the beach or hiking.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Zoomys
Chicagoland
Sep 8, 2009

Awesome week at the Outrigger!

The Outrigger's location on the east side of Kauai was a great spot to access the resort areas of the south shore and the magnificent beaches of the north shore. We spent a lot of time in the rental car to see and do things around the island, and Kapaa seemed to be about as centrally located as it gets. The condo itself was huge and very well maintained; we appreciated the large bathrooms, comfy beds/pillows, and big fridge in the kitchen. The resort is across from a couple of grocery stores so it was nice to stock up on breakfast stuff for the week and save ourselves from eating all meals out. Sunrises on the beach were AMAZING. The only thing I'd complain about is that our "garden view" condo was more of a "parking lot" view. But we didn't spend a lot of time sitting around the condo anyway as there's so much to see and explore in Kauai. Plus, if we wanted to see the ocean it only took about 90 seconds to walk from our second story unit down to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunset surfer
Dallas, tx
Jul 9, 2010

Great condo resort

Good central location to explore the island. Large spacious rooms with top if the line amenities. Beautiful pool and wonderful landscaping that almost drawrf the ocean view. Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. On site dining was top notch. As for activities check out the beautiful na pali coast it will leave you speechless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For great island barbeque with an unbelievable view check out Scotty p's barbeque on kapaa.

Back to menu Return to top