$264 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

4 stars
4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
166 reviews
Amazing

Friendly staff, excellent rooms, next to a small private beach, restaraunt/bar on the beach. Only... See full review

  • Harleymomma
  • Mar 15, 2014
Hawaii retreat

Fantastic!!! Nothing else to say. Could not have been a better place to stay. See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Resort adds glam to Coconut Coast with fantasy pool and luxury condos
The beachfront resort spreads over 12.6 acres with a 300,000-gallon fantasy pool in the heart of it. Units range from hotel rooms to two-bedroom vacation condos, located in seven low-rise buildings across an expanse of manicured lawns dotted with pools, waterfalls and slender palms. Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort opened in 2007 and has a decidedly upscale look and feel, exemplified by the use of exotic wood and imported stone in accommodations. The Building Industry Association of Hawaii recognized the resort as a Parade of Homes "standout."
Highlights
  • 300,000-gallon fantasy pool with meandering river and dual serpentine slides
  • Full-service Spa by the Sea
  • Complimentary wired Internet in every unit
Location

Centrally located on Kauai's east coast between Kapaa and Wailua, the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort is just a 40-minute drive to Princeville or Poipu, giving guests easy access to the north and south shores of Kauai.

Rooms
Condos at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort have a distinctly upscale vibe created by rich Indonesian woods and Peruvian travertine accents. Granite countertops and top names in appliances in the full kitchens -- Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Fisher/Paykel, among them -- set a level of luxury and quality likely to appeal to discerning guests. Condos range from 898 to 1,853 square feet, giving families room to move. A few hotel rooms are also available, adding convenience for wedding parties and other groups traveling together. Maid service can be requested for a fee.
Features
Walk out onto Kauai's longest beach, a three-mile strand of creamy sand where vacationers can stroll or sun to the rhythms of the rolling Pacific. Among the amenities at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort are a 4,000-square-foot spa where visitors and locals choose from a full menu of massages, facials and other indulgent treatments, and a restaurant with a focus on locally grown, organic produce and fresh fish (open happy hour and dinner only). A small fitness center open 24/7 keeps workout junkies happy. Guests who want to create their own local dishes can use grills on the property and shop for groceries just across the street.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Coconut Marketplace (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wailua Falls (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Compact 550-square-foot business center with computer/printer keeps working guests connected

Hotel Map

22.0612 -159.32
Area served
Kapaa, Kauai
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Beachfront resort located on Kauai's eastern coast in Waipouli 8 miles north of Lihue airport. Lihue International Airport to Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort: Exit Lihue Airport and turn RIGHT at the first traffic signal onto KAPULE HWY/HWY 51. Continue on HWY 51 until it intersects with KUHIO HWY/HWY 56. Continue on KUHIO HWY/HWY 56 as it crosses the Waialua River Bridge. Continue past Coconut Plantation at Waipouli approximately 1 mile; Turn RIGHT into WAIPOULI BEACH RESORT. Kauai Village Marketplace is directly across Kuhio Hwy from Waipouli Beach Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Room feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep of include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Oasis on The Beach
The Oasis on the Beach, is now open daily from 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jan 24, 2010

Outrigger Waipouli

This place is in a great location, close to the supermarket, restaurants, and on a great beach. The condos are well appointed and has most everything you may need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are 2 supermarkets within walking distance. For us, we went to Safeway and had our discount card with us which saved us a few bucks on snacks and drinks.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Dec 23, 2010

Great resort for kids!

This was our fourth time in Kauai, but our first time at the Waipouli Resort. We will definitely come back again to Waipouli. It is ideally located on the east side of the island. East side beaches are not recommended for swimming, but it is an easy drive to beautiful swimming beaches in the North and South. The resort grounds were beautiful and the pool was a lot of fun for the kids. Our suite was well equipped for cooking. The king bed was very comfortable, but the couch bed for our son was not very comfortable. The AC unit in our suite broke during our stay and could not be fixed. Two of three hot tubs on the grounds were also not working. Despite these inconveniences, which we attributed to bad luck, we had a great stay. This is a great resort if you have kids. There were tons of kids in the pool every day well into the evening. Honeymooners or others looking for a kid-free vacation may want to stay elsewhere. The restaurant on the grounds poolside is too pricey with a menu that is very high-end and particular. Given how much time everyone spent poolside, it would have been great to have a restaurant that offered more casual dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lydgate Park is one exception for safe swimming on the East side of Kauai. For kids, it offers a protected cove for swimming and snorkeling and one of the best playgrounds I have ever seen. It is a very short drive from the resort.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Sep 14, 2009

Good location, great island

We came for a 10-day vacation. We enjoyed the proximity to both the north and south shore sites. Our room overlooked the parking lot, the busy street, and the shopping center across the street. The cost of upgrading was high, so we didn't. We did eventually get used to the view and we didn't stay around the hotel very much, so it was probably the right decision, but it didn't feel like a remote tropical resort, more like a nice city hotel. The room was comfortable with 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a kitchen and a main living room. This allowed us to have a cup of coffee and bowl of cereal while our teenaged son slept in. No real complaints, the housekeeping staff wanted to come around 9:00 am. If we were still in the room at that time we had to call to get housekeeping. The pool looked pretty - we didn't go. The beach was not the best, so we went elsewhere. Enjoyed local music in the poolside bar - K Town Boys were great! We didn't know the ukelele could do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Red Hot Mama's burritos are worth the drive to the North shore. Stop by if you are up there.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunset surfer
Dallas, tx
Jul 9, 2010

Great condo resort

Good central location to explore the island. Large spacious rooms with top if the line amenities. Beautiful pool and wonderful landscaping that almost drawrf the ocean view. Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. On site dining was top notch. As for activities check out the beautiful na pali coast it will leave you speechless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For great island barbeque with an unbelievable view check out Scotty p's barbeque on kapaa.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Contreras
Bakersfield, CA
Mar 25, 2012

FUN, Relaxation, & Comfort!!!

My Inlaws, Husband and I had an amazing time. Great location, good people, very friendly and always something to do. A tip for the resort is to update the BBQ Grill's. The pool is still fabulous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Must check out the Luau at the Grand Hyatt in Poipu!

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cami Bear
Sacramanto CA
Jul 25, 2009

Excellent choice...

It was very nice that they offered a courtesy suite to us to use after we had checked out. We had taken a day cruise with snorkeling and needed showers before the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Safeway is very convenient as is the Panda Express.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cami Bear
Sacramanto CA
Jul 25, 2009

Excellent choice...

It was very nice that they offered a courtesy suite to us to use after we had checked out. We had taken a day cruise with snorkeling and needed showers before the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Safeway is very convenient as is the Panda Express.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gram Linda
Johnstown, Colorado
Feb 19, 2010

Relaxing and delightful!

We were upgraded to an ocean view room. The rooms were very beautiful. It would have been nice if there had been a snack bar at the pool area, but I think it will open next week. The pool was outstanding. The three hot tubs were very restful and it was great to visit with the other guests. We loved spending time on the beach. It was so relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Hanapepe and eat at the Grinds Cafe. They served the best fish sandwich we had the whole time we were on Kauai.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly (aka Hotel Snob)
SF Bay Area
May 26, 2009

What a SURPRISE!

We were initially put off by the lack luster entry and [...]@ reception was a snob over his messy work area--Once we got to our room, we were VERY surprised! It reminded me of the Ritz Carlton in St Thomas: Plantation style, with heavy mahogony doors/moldings. Modern kitchen with all amenities.The pool looked great but we hung @the beach with our own private hut/lounge chairs where we would see maybe 5 people during our days of sunning. We will definately come back with the kids and rent a 2 bedroom--then we will hang out at the cool looking waterslides@the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is within 20 min drive--see it all!

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly (aka Hotel Snob)
SF Bay Area
May 26, 2009

What a SURPRISE!

We were initially put off by the lack luster entry and [...]@ reception was a snob over his messy work area--Once we got to our room, we were VERY surprised! It reminded me of the Ritz Carlton in St Thomas: Plantation style, with heavy mahogony doors/moldings. Modern kitchen with all amenities.The pool looked great but we hung @the beach with our own private hut/lounge chairs where we would see maybe 5 people during our days of sunning. We will definately come back with the kids and rent a 2 bedroom--then we will hang out at the cool looking waterslides@the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is within 20 min drive--see it all!

Back to menu Return to top