$264 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

4 stars
4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
166 reviews
Amazing

Friendly staff, excellent rooms, next to a small private beach, restaraunt/bar on the beach. Only... See full review

  • Harleymomma
  • Mar 15, 2014
Hawaii retreat

Fantastic!!! Nothing else to say. Could not have been a better place to stay. See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Resort adds glam to Coconut Coast with fantasy pool and luxury condos
The beachfront resort spreads over 12.6 acres with a 300,000-gallon fantasy pool in the heart of it. Units range from hotel rooms to two-bedroom vacation condos, located in seven low-rise buildings across an expanse of manicured lawns dotted with pools, waterfalls and slender palms. Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort opened in 2007 and has a decidedly upscale look and feel, exemplified by the use of exotic wood and imported stone in accommodations. The Building Industry Association of Hawaii recognized the resort as a Parade of Homes "standout."
Highlights
  • 300,000-gallon fantasy pool with meandering river and dual serpentine slides
  • Full-service Spa by the Sea
  • Complimentary wired Internet in every unit
Location

Centrally located on Kauai's east coast between Kapaa and Wailua, the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort is just a 40-minute drive to Princeville or Poipu, giving guests easy access to the north and south shores of Kauai.

Rooms
Condos at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort have a distinctly upscale vibe created by rich Indonesian woods and Peruvian travertine accents. Granite countertops and top names in appliances in the full kitchens -- Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Fisher/Paykel, among them -- set a level of luxury and quality likely to appeal to discerning guests. Condos range from 898 to 1,853 square feet, giving families room to move. A few hotel rooms are also available, adding convenience for wedding parties and other groups traveling together. Maid service can be requested for a fee.
Features
Walk out onto Kauai's longest beach, a three-mile strand of creamy sand where vacationers can stroll or sun to the rhythms of the rolling Pacific. Among the amenities at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort are a 4,000-square-foot spa where visitors and locals choose from a full menu of massages, facials and other indulgent treatments, and a restaurant with a focus on locally grown, organic produce and fresh fish (open happy hour and dinner only). A small fitness center open 24/7 keeps workout junkies happy. Guests who want to create their own local dishes can use grills on the property and shop for groceries just across the street.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Coconut Marketplace (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wailua Falls (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Compact 550-square-foot business center with computer/printer keeps working guests connected

Hotel Map

22.0612 -159.32
Area served
Kapaa, Kauai
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Beachfront resort located on Kauai's eastern coast in Waipouli 8 miles north of Lihue airport. Lihue International Airport to Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort: Exit Lihue Airport and turn RIGHT at the first traffic signal onto KAPULE HWY/HWY 51. Continue on HWY 51 until it intersects with KUHIO HWY/HWY 56. Continue on KUHIO HWY/HWY 56 as it crosses the Waialua River Bridge. Continue past Coconut Plantation at Waipouli approximately 1 mile; Turn RIGHT into WAIPOULI BEACH RESORT. Kauai Village Marketplace is directly across Kuhio Hwy from Waipouli Beach Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Room feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep of include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Oasis on The Beach
The Oasis on the Beach, is now open daily from 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
msteemac
washington dc
Oct 7, 2012

perfect family spot

the kiddie pool is fantastic, the rooms are really plush, and the drinks (although not cheap) were the best I've had while visiting any Hawaiian island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2007

Good location but weak customer service

This hotel was in a very good central location to explore the rest of the Island. The rooms were very nice all the furniture, tvs, appliances were in excellent condition. We were dissappointed at the service level during check in and the lack of effort. We arrived at the hotel at noon and asked if we could check in early and the very blunt and indifferent reply was that check in was at 3pm. We were ok with this but asked that since we were already at the hotel, if they could move our room forward with cleaning we would appreciate it. I checked in at 2 pm and the response from the front desk was in a poor tone and they said, we are told not to talk to housekeeping and there was nothing they could do. I said ok and said that this experience was below my expectation for a hotel of this caliber. I checked in at 2:55pm to see if the room was ready and they responded again with their standard line that check in is at 3 pm. It was apparent that they had not made an effort to talk with housekeeping on status. We finally checked in at 4pm. The air conditioning was also not working for two nights. The tv reception was not working well or not at all and after several visits from the technicians the reception was not right. The pool bar lounge area was under construction the first 4 nights and when asked when it would open, the front desk was not truthful about the actual re openning. I would have prefer a more honest reponse. When we asked guest services for dining options and advice the representative said I don't really handle dining since activities are my main thing. You can look at the local magazine if you like. We were very bothered by this since we were referred to guest services by the front desk. It surprised me that a hotel of this apparent service level had such poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2007

Good location but weak customer service

This hotel was in a very good central location to explore the rest of the Island. The rooms were very nice all the furniture, tvs, appliances were in excellent condition. We were dissappointed at the service level during check in and the lack of effort. We arrived at the hotel at noon and asked if we could check in early and the very blunt and indifferent reply was that check in was at 3pm. We were ok with this but asked that since we were already at the hotel, if they could move our room forward with cleaning we would appreciate it. I checked in at 2 pm and the response from the front desk was in a poor tone and they said, we are told not to talk to housekeeping and there was nothing they could do. I said ok and said that this experience was below my expectation for a hotel of this caliber. I checked in at 2:55pm to see if the room was ready and they responded again with their standard line that check in is at 3 pm. It was apparent that they had not made an effort to talk with housekeeping on status. We finally checked in at 4pm. The air conditioning was also not working for two nights. The tv reception was not working well or not at all and after several visits from the technicians the reception was not right. The pool bar lounge area was under construction the first 4 nights and when asked when it would open, the front desk was not truthful about the actual re openning. I would have prefer a more honest reponse. When we asked guest services for dining options and advice the representative said I don't really handle dining since activities are my main thing. You can look at the local magazine if you like. We were very bothered by this since we were referred to guest services by the front desk. It surprised me that a hotel of this apparent service level had such poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimer's Mom
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2013

Family vacation

My 10 years old son loves the pool. The room is average for a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Jul 13, 2011

average

was disappointed that there was not a pool grill/bar. the one that was on site didnot open til 4 pm. You could not take a cooler to the bar with drinks. it was a pain going back and forth to room. the rooms where great, fully equipped with everything. did not know that there where privately owned and had so many rules. would not stay there again. was there for wedding that wasn't at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T in Montana
Victor, MT
Sep 22, 2011

Long awaited vacation

Did not meet my expectations. I admit my expectations were high for this property. Upon arrival I was ignored for about 5 minutes before the second employee realized I needed to check in. The check in process then took about 15 additional minutes. Throughout our stay, I noticed that very few employees (with the exception of the housekeeping staff who were very friendly) actually made eye contact with the guests and greeted them. I have stayed at some very nice resorts, and that is not typical. Did not make me feel very welcome. The property is lovely; nice, big rooms (we had a 2 bedroom condo)and furnishings were impressive, except for the couch which was worn and dirty looking. Maid service was daily, but I doubt our room was even vacuumed or swept often since the sand was present even after our rooms were cleaned. Our mountain view room turned out to be a view of their parking lot, the highway and Safeway's parking lot. Although the resort appeared to be half full, at best, they would not move us to another room unless we paid an additional $40 per night. Since we spent most of our time elsewhere (other beaches and locations on the island), we choose to stay put. Very nice pool and not a lot of use by other guests. In other words, not crowded. If you wanted to be on the beach,the resort did not routinely put out lounge chairs there so you either had to pull your own out there or sit on the sand. Pretty view on beach, however, not very swimmable. When we left, I was not even asked how our room was or how our stay was. I guess they don't care. Very poor customer service for a resort of this caliber. Could not recommend it, unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you rent portable chairs for your beach trips. It makes it so nice to stay on the beach and watch the waves or to dry off after swimming. Places like Snorkel Bobs rent them.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T in Montana
Victor, MT
Sep 22, 2011

Long awaited vacation

Did not meet my expectations. I admit my expectations were high for this property. Upon arrival I was ignored for about 5 minutes before the second employee realized I needed to check in. The check in process then took about 15 additional minutes. Throughout our stay, I noticed that very few employees (with the exception of the housekeeping staff who were very friendly) actually made eye contact with the guests and greeted them. I have stayed at some very nice resorts, and that is not typical. Did not make me feel very welcome. The property is lovely; nice, big rooms (we had a 2 bedroom condo)and furnishings were impressive, except for the couch which was worn and dirty looking. Maid service was daily, but I doubt our room was even vacuumed or swept often since the sand was present even after our rooms were cleaned. Our mountain view room turned out to be a view of their parking lot, the highway and Safeway's parking lot. Although the resort appeared to be half full, at best, they would not move us to another room unless we paid an additional $40 per night. Since we spent most of our time elsewhere (other beaches and locations on the island), we choose to stay put. Very nice pool and not a lot of use by other guests. In other words, not crowded. If you wanted to be on the beach,the resort did not routinely put out lounge chairs there so you either had to pull your own out there or sit on the sand. Pretty view on beach, however, not very swimmable. When we left, I was not even asked how our room was or how our stay was. I guess they don't care. Very poor customer service for a resort of this caliber. Could not recommend it, unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you rent portable chairs for your beach trips. It makes it so nice to stay on the beach and watch the waves or to dry off after swimming. Places like Snorkel Bobs rent them.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlotte Saelemakers
Belgium
Jul 11, 2014

All good but extra costs for cleaning!! And unfriendly stafff

We had to pay 80dollar per day if we wanted cleaning of the room. We said 'no thank you' and cleaned ourselves but than at the and of our stay during check-out we had to pay 192! Dollar for cleaning of the room! On top of that they dare to ask us if we would like to moove to a smaller room so they could led our room to more people. We went to have a look at the "full ocean view" room they offerred us but it was very small and didn't have any ocean view....so we diclined that 'offer' and got a very ugly face of the guy behind the counter.... The hotel itself is very nice and well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Jul 13, 2011

average

was disappointed that there was not a pool grill/bar. the one that was on site didnot open til 4 pm. You could not take a cooler to the bar with drinks. it was a pain going back and forth to room. the rooms where great, fully equipped with everything. did not know that there where privately owned and had so many rules. would not stay there again. was there for wedding that wasn't at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberley8
Randolph, Minnesota
Feb 5, 2014

Learned out Lesson not a family friendly resort.

The resort is nice for a family smaller than 2 adults and 4 little kids. We liked the pool with the slides but as soon as we walked in with swim noodles and an innertube we were immediately told that the GM informed the employee that they were no longer allowed in the pool. The lazy river starts at one end and dead ends at the other and no floaties to be lazy on were allowed. In the room: very thin glass cups that broke when I tap one on another glass in the dishwasher, very dangerous with little kids. The few plastic cup only held a 12 oz. with no ice. No adult glasses for margarittas/daquarris in the room. very fragile wine glasses. There was not a table that fit 6 people, 4 at a table and 2 at the coffee table everyday. Our garden view faced a parking lot and if you leaned really far over the outside and twisted your head you could see part of the garden. Not worth the money when someone else got a room there on a different website for $200/night and it was truly partial oceanview and ours was $315/night with a $62 cleaning fee. I would suggest anyone staying on the south side of the island like we have done for 16 years and wouldn't stay in the husle busle of Kapaa again, traffice is terrible and hearing ambulances and cops is hard for the kids to hear and keep asking about. Poipu and Koloa is much quieter, warmer and sunnier than Kapaa. I am not much for complaining but this is not a family friendly resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Get most of your food at Walmart and pick up boogie boards at the Salvation Army.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent traveler 57
Portland OR
Mar 3, 2013

Nice room, crummy service

The physical furnishings of our 1 bedrm ocean view condo were very nice. The location is only notable for being close to a grocery store. The facilities are nice but quality of service is poor (ie every 3 day cleaning was very superficial and we were refused a request for extra soap or towels with this). Little touches like coffee filters and laundry detergent would have been nice. The pool looks nice but is too overrun with children to be enjoyable for adults. Overall the facility was nice, but we didn't feel it was a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top