$264 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

4 stars
4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
165 reviews
Amazing

Friendly staff, excellent rooms, next to a small private beach, restaraunt/bar on the beach. Only... See full review

  • Harleymomma
  • Mar 15, 2014
Hawaii retreat

Fantastic!!! Nothing else to say. Could not have been a better place to stay. See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Resort adds glam to Coconut Coast with fantasy pool and luxury condos
The beachfront resort spreads over 12.6 acres with a 300,000-gallon fantasy pool in the heart of it. Units range from hotel rooms to two-bedroom vacation condos, located in seven low-rise buildings across an expanse of manicured lawns dotted with pools, waterfalls and slender palms. Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort opened in 2007 and has a decidedly upscale look and feel, exemplified by the use of exotic wood and imported stone in accommodations. The Building Industry Association of Hawaii recognized the resort as a Parade of Homes "standout."
Highlights
  • 300,000-gallon fantasy pool with meandering river and dual serpentine slides
  • Full-service Spa by the Sea
  • Complimentary wired Internet in every unit
Location

Centrally located on Kauai's east coast between Kapaa and Wailua, the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort is just a 40-minute drive to Princeville or Poipu, giving guests easy access to the north and south shores of Kauai.

Rooms
Condos at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort have a distinctly upscale vibe created by rich Indonesian woods and Peruvian travertine accents. Granite countertops and top names in appliances in the full kitchens -- Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Fisher/Paykel, among them -- set a level of luxury and quality likely to appeal to discerning guests. Condos range from 898 to 1,853 square feet, giving families room to move. A few hotel rooms are also available, adding convenience for wedding parties and other groups traveling together. Maid service can be requested for a fee.
Features
Walk out onto Kauai's longest beach, a three-mile strand of creamy sand where vacationers can stroll or sun to the rhythms of the rolling Pacific. Among the amenities at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort are a 4,000-square-foot spa where visitors and locals choose from a full menu of massages, facials and other indulgent treatments, and a restaurant with a focus on locally grown, organic produce and fresh fish (open happy hour and dinner only). A small fitness center open 24/7 keeps workout junkies happy. Guests who want to create their own local dishes can use grills on the property and shop for groceries just across the street.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Coconut Marketplace (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wailua Falls (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Compact 550-square-foot business center with computer/printer keeps working guests connected

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Room feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep of include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0612 -159.32
Area served
Kapaa, Kauai
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Beachfront resort located on Kauai's eastern coast in Waipouli 8 miles north of Lihue airport. Lihue International Airport to Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort: Exit Lihue Airport and turn RIGHT at the first traffic signal onto KAPULE HWY/HWY 51. Continue on HWY 51 until it intersects with KUHIO HWY/HWY 56. Continue on KUHIO HWY/HWY 56 as it crosses the Waialua River Bridge. Continue past Coconut Plantation at Waipouli approximately 1 mile; Turn RIGHT into WAIPOULI BEACH RESORT. Kauai Village Marketplace is directly across Kuhio Hwy from Waipouli Beach Resort.

Dining

Oasis on The Beach
The Oasis on the Beach, is now open daily from 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester Mn.
Mar 3, 2011

Hawii vacation

It was the best hotel I have ever been at. First class all the way. From the stainless kitchen appliances to the balcony on the ocean front where we watched whales jump every day. The two seperate whirlpools were great. The pool area was perfect to. The hotel was centrally located on Kauai. Besides the best hotel, the rest of the island was the perfect vacation place [...]. Thank you for a perfect vacation. Joe and Barb Ryan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of places to eat. The Lemongras and the Olympic cafe in Kapa'a were the two best. The one to stay away from was the Bull Shed.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I like to go!
Texas
Mar 20, 2011

Very nice condo

This was the best place to stay...across the street from two grocery stores, had its own beach and great pool, kitchen was wonderful. We couldn't have asked for anything else. Next time we will stay here@

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amharach
Kailua-Kona HI & Florence MT
Jan 28, 2013

Beautiful spacious rooms

Top notch appointments- sub zero frig, Wolfe oven, granite & travertine, great mattresses and baths. Huge 2 bed 3 bath w living area 2 lanai's & balcony. Safeway across the street, well located for travel. The room has everything you need include wash/dryer and 3 plasma tvs. Comparable to a Westin with lots of space & kitchen. Well kept pool 3 sand bottomed jacuzzis water slides outdoor BBQ's and right on the ocean. Koi pond and great gardens. Kapa'a has shopping and restaurants and nothing on island is far. 25-30 min to Hanalei, 20-25 mins to spouting horn & south shore. Lihue airport just minutes. Take a helicopter tour see a few things and enjoy this facility. Really hated to leave and ave stayed at many places. Will be returning to this property!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour. Worth every $$. See inside all of Waimea canyon (w/o a 12 mile hike) and No Pali coast even when closed jan-may. This island has so much and is lush. Waterfalls from air are everywhere! Kamaiina. Then go to Hanalei town and drive to po'ipu. We only had 3 days and this made the trip. Try for 5 days or more.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
asullivan
Seattle, WA
Oct 11, 2009

Great Vacation Spot!

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at the Waipouli Beach Resort. The location was great - good beach access, shopping center across the street, easy drive to both the North and South shore of the island. We had a 'garden view' condo which faced the parkinglot, but the landscaping was beautiful and I hardly noticed we were by the parkinglot. Our condo was fully stocked with all of the necessary kitchen amenities, however we did talk to one couple who were in a condo that was for sale, and their kitchen was missing a lot of basic cooking equipment. We had a very relaxing, comfortable stay at the Waipouli Beach Resort, and we would definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lydgate Park is the perfect spot for beginner snorkeling. The swimming area is completely walled in by large rocks to protect the area from the surf. Tons of tropical fish live and feed along the rocks. Also, it is shallow enough in most places that you can stand up if you need to adjust your equipment. You can rent the snorkel gear on the drive to the park from Boss Frog or Snorkel Bob's.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tyngsborough, MA
Feb 6, 2011

One of the greatest Hawaiian resorts

Amazing hotel! The two bedroom suite is wonderful. We saw a monk seal right on the beach, even though we couldn't get close. The beach was fairly rough, but the pool was amazing. It was more like a river with a cave and two water slide. Many great attractions in the area, being as it is right between Poipu and Princeville. if you are going horseback riding, check out CJM stables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a plaza across the street with shopping, though there is not many high end shops in the area.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Mar 7, 2009

Great place to stay

this is a great condo-style apartment. my room was amazing. kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need to cook. great pool. the place is across the street from some restaurants and a safeway (since you have a full kitchen at your disposal). spa clinic at the hotel was also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store across the street.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
msteemac
washington dc
Oct 7, 2012

perfect family spot

the kiddie pool is fantastic, the rooms are really plush, and the drinks (although not cheap) were the best I've had while visiting any Hawaiian island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iuki& Keoni
Chicago, IL
Jun 15, 2010

5 Star Paradise!

We enjoyed a boot camp class that was held on Tuesday & Thursdays. It was a great workout on the beach with a great instructor. We ate breakfast everyday in the condo and enjoyed the beautiful waterfall garden outside our lanai. It was hypnotizing along with the sound of the birds. The condo was spacious, clean, state of the art appliances. The bathrooms were very large with two washing bowls at the sink. These are million dollar condos that you're staying in and everything is top of the line! We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended it a few more days. It was one of the best and most relaxing vacations we took in years. We met some very nice people there and the locals are the nicest people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Hills, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Great location for a destination wedding

We loved the hotel - beautiful suites and grounds and super service! The only thing I can ding is that the lighting in the bedrooms was some what dim. We're readers and we like bright lighing. Other than that we loved it all and plan to return as soon as we can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip and Dip was great.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, ID
Apr 9, 2011

Our best family vacation

For our first vacation in Kauai, we wanted a hotel that was kid-friendly, easy access to the beach and with all the amenities (kitchen, washer/dryer, plenty of space) to make it comfortable. My husband and kids spent most mornings by the pool, while I went jogging on the nearby path along the ocean. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location for day-trips to the rest of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Costco in Lihue to buy groceries for the week and save on eating out. Also try the popular "Sunshine" markets for fresh produce.

Back to menu Return to top