$248 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

4 stars
4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Amazing

Friendly staff, excellent rooms, next to a small private beach, restaraunt/bar on the beach. Only... See full review

  • Harleymomma
  • Mar 15, 2014
Hawaii retreat

Fantastic!!! Nothing else to say. Could not have been a better place to stay. See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Resort adds glam to Coconut Coast with fantasy pool and luxury condos
The beachfront resort spreads over 12.6 acres with a 300,000-gallon fantasy pool in the heart of it. Units range from hotel rooms to two-bedroom vacation condos, located in seven low-rise buildings across an expanse of manicured lawns dotted with pools, waterfalls and slender palms. Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort opened in 2007 and has a decidedly upscale look and feel, exemplified by the use of exotic wood and imported stone in accommodations. The Building Industry Association of Hawaii recognized the resort as a Parade of Homes "standout."
Highlights
  • 300,000-gallon fantasy pool with meandering river and dual serpentine slides
  • Full-service Spa by the Sea
  • Complimentary wired Internet in every unit
Location

Centrally located on Kauai's east coast between Kapaa and Wailua, the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort is just a 40-minute drive to Princeville or Poipu, giving guests easy access to the north and south shores of Kauai.

Rooms
Condos at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort have a distinctly upscale vibe created by rich Indonesian woods and Peruvian travertine accents. Granite countertops and top names in appliances in the full kitchens -- Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Fisher/Paykel, among them -- set a level of luxury and quality likely to appeal to discerning guests. Condos range from 898 to 1,853 square feet, giving families room to move. A few hotel rooms are also available, adding convenience for wedding parties and other groups traveling together. Maid service can be requested for a fee.
Features
Walk out onto Kauai's longest beach, a three-mile strand of creamy sand where vacationers can stroll or sun to the rhythms of the rolling Pacific. Among the amenities at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort are a 4,000-square-foot spa where visitors and locals choose from a full menu of massages, facials and other indulgent treatments, and a restaurant with a focus on locally grown, organic produce and fresh fish (open happy hour and dinner only). A small fitness center open 24/7 keeps workout junkies happy. Guests who want to create their own local dishes can use grills on the property and shop for groceries just across the street.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Coconut Marketplace (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wailua Falls (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Compact 550-square-foot business center with computer/printer keeps working guests connected

Hotel Map

22.0612 -159.32
Area served
Kapaa, Kauai
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Beachfront resort located on Kauai's eastern coast in Waipouli 8 miles north of Lihue airport. Lihue International Airport to Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort: Exit Lihue Airport and turn RIGHT at the first traffic signal onto KAPULE HWY/HWY 51. Continue on HWY 51 until it intersects with KUHIO HWY/HWY 56. Continue on KUHIO HWY/HWY 56 as it crosses the Waialua River Bridge. Continue past Coconut Plantation at Waipouli approximately 1 mile; Turn RIGHT into WAIPOULI BEACH RESORT. Kauai Village Marketplace is directly across Kuhio Hwy from Waipouli Beach Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Room feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep of include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Oasis on The Beach
The Oasis on the Beach, is now open daily from 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 107
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlotte Saelemakers
Belgium
Jul 11, 2014

All good but extra costs for cleaning!! And unfriendly stafff

We had to pay 80dollar per day if we wanted cleaning of the room. We said 'no thank you' and cleaned ourselves but than at the and of our stay during check-out we had to pay 192! Dollar for cleaning of the room! On top of that they dare to ask us if we would like to moove to a smaller room so they could led our room to more people. We went to have a look at the "full ocean view" room they offerred us but it was very small and didn't have any ocean view....so we diclined that 'offer' and got a very ugly face of the guy behind the counter.... The hotel itself is very nice and well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disappointed by provider
Kapaa, Kauai
Feb 8, 2014

good value

Property was excellent and had all the features we wanted, good location, excellent pool, full kitchen and nice appointments. Staff was essentially not present and did not provide information that would have helped make our stay more pleasant. We would come back, but will surely check out other options when we return to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bull Shed restaurant was next door essentially and while it was old fashioned (actually a plus) it was an excellent meal with good service and great atmosphere.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie C.
san jose, California
Oct 28, 2013

25 yr anniversary celebration

Very nice place to stay. Beautiful kitchen. Our 1 bedroom had a large bathroom with 3 sinks and 2 toilets! Great having a washer and dryer right in the unit. Also had it's own water heater so no chance of running out of hot water. It was pretty quiet but on a few occasions the gardeners started their work too early. The only other issue was the bed was a bit too soft for our liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai Lovers FML WKL
Tucson Arizona
Jun 15, 2013

perfectly located, beautiful grounds, super ocean view,great staff

Our two bedroom condo was simply the best. Spotless rooms, wonderful kitchen top notch appliances ,dreamy mattress, tastefully appointed. Very Comfortable. Views are 5 star. pool's and grounds are beautiful and well maintained friendly staff . perfectly located to home base to visit all island has to offer . we stayed 5/7 5/15 and are planning our return for next year. great job with the monk seals sharing the beach.A True Paradise. We Loved Our Stay. need a light by washer & dryer and traffic light out front needs to be calibrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hukilau And Gaylords a Must. Excellant Fine Dining.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyra M
Boise
Jun 7, 2013

Paradise

My significant other and I researched and researched before picking a hotel. This was our first time to Hawai'i and we wanted everything to be perfect. Outrigger exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect as it is smack dab in the middle of the North and South beaches. While the beach here definitely isn't swimmable, it gives a beautiful view of the sunrise and if you pay attention, there are really cute little crabs on the beach early in the morning. The pool is beautiful though it was slightly chillier than I was expecting. Our room was completely stocked with everything! Pots, pans, silverware, etc in the beautiful kitchen. The soaker tub in the bathroom was fantastic after a day of walking and soaking up the sun! Definitely recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

While the restaurant on the grounds (Oasis) is convenient, the food is not worth the cost. Just walk across the street to Safeway and cook yourself a meal.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent traveler 57
Portland OR
Mar 3, 2013

Nice room, crummy service

The physical furnishings of our 1 bedrm ocean view condo were very nice. The location is only notable for being close to a grocery store. The facilities are nice but quality of service is poor (ie every 3 day cleaning was very superficial and we were refused a request for extra soap or towels with this). Little touches like coffee filters and laundry detergent would have been nice. The pool looks nice but is too overrun with children to be enjoyable for adults. Overall the facility was nice, but we didn't feel it was a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katleen
Morgan Hill, Ca
Nov 18, 2012

Perfect for families

My husband and I spent 7 days here and had a great time. The rooms are very comfortable and gorgeous. You are seconds away from the ocean and there is a grocery store right across the street. The pool is shallow, but has some fun little water falls and a slide. We found that mostly families with small children stayed here. So if you are looking for a social young crowd atmosphere, this might not be the place. Otherwise, the staff was very helpful with planning excursions. The only thing I was a little disappointed with.... the garden view room is really a view of the parking lot and we had to wait for our room to be cleaned long after check in time. But they gave us a $50. credit to the Oasis restaurant. The restaurant is a good atmosphere, but would give the food 2 stars. Overall we would stay here again, especially when we start a family!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For an awesome sunset and social night go to Poipu. The Tortilla Republic was very good and great view of ocean and sunset.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingers
Chicago, IL
Nov 3, 2012

Honeymoon

The condo provided all the amenities of home. We loved the kitchenette and loved the layout of the condo. It was a good location for all of the activities we had planned for our stay. We highly reccomend kayaking the Wailua River and hiking Waimea Canyon. The views are breathtaking. Our favorite dining spot was about a mile north of our resort. Eastiside restaurant is a must do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler1915
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 1, 2012

Great hotel

Really nice, fully upgraded suites. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moto1965
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 11, 2012

Great Honeymoon

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and had a fantastic time. Being a condo complex it was really nice having a full kitchen as well as two full bathrooms. The rooms only get cleaned once every 3 days which some people have an issue with but we found no problem in it. We dont like being disturbed and how hard is it just to hang your towel up and use it again. Also some people complained there werent enough towels, there were 4 towels, 4 medium size hand towels and 4 washclothes for 2 people, it was plenty. The pool also provides you with up to 6 beach towels which was more than enough unless you have a big family. We found the complex to be clean and comfortable, the pool was really nice especially with the adult only hot tubs. Now you do get the parents who dont read signs and let their kids get in but that only happened to us once out of a 7 day trip. The hotel is centrally located to either North or South shores, expect about an hour to drive to the far ends in either direction. The speed limits are slow but your in Kauai, slow down and enjoy it. It took me 2 days to finally adjust to the pace of things. The other issue other people had was the traffic light right out front of the hotel, it takes awhile but your crossing a highway and there is traffic, what are you going to do. This should not take away from the hotel, it may take and extra 5 minutes waiting on the light but that is only between 8-5, if your up earlier or go out later its faster. So all in all we had a great time at the hotel, it was clean, appliances were very nice, everything worked, beds were comfortable, and the staff were nice. We would definitely stay here again. Also utilize the concierge for booking your activities, they were super helpful, knowledgeable, and nice. They will ask if you want to get a greater discount by sitting in on their new condos for sale down the street and if thats your thing go for it, if not, just say no thanks and they wont ask again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Head north a couple of blocks from the hotel and check out "baby" beach. It has a reef just off shore and makes for a nice place to hang out or take kids to play in the water. The east side gets some good surf so the reef helps knock it down and allows you to be able to get in the water.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search