$264 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

4 stars
4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
166 reviews
Amazing

Friendly staff, excellent rooms, next to a small private beach, restaraunt/bar on the beach. Only... See full review

  • Harleymomma
  • Mar 15, 2014
Hawaii retreat

Fantastic!!! Nothing else to say. Could not have been a better place to stay. See full review

  • Land Man 45
  • Mar 10, 2014
Resort adds glam to Coconut Coast with fantasy pool and luxury condos
The beachfront resort spreads over 12.6 acres with a 300,000-gallon fantasy pool in the heart of it. Units range from hotel rooms to two-bedroom vacation condos, located in seven low-rise buildings across an expanse of manicured lawns dotted with pools, waterfalls and slender palms. Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort opened in 2007 and has a decidedly upscale look and feel, exemplified by the use of exotic wood and imported stone in accommodations. The Building Industry Association of Hawaii recognized the resort as a Parade of Homes "standout."
Highlights
  • 300,000-gallon fantasy pool with meandering river and dual serpentine slides
  • Full-service Spa by the Sea
  • Complimentary wired Internet in every unit
Location

Centrally located on Kauai's east coast between Kapaa and Wailua, the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort is just a 40-minute drive to Princeville or Poipu, giving guests easy access to the north and south shores of Kauai.

Rooms
Condos at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort have a distinctly upscale vibe created by rich Indonesian woods and Peruvian travertine accents. Granite countertops and top names in appliances in the full kitchens -- Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Fisher/Paykel, among them -- set a level of luxury and quality likely to appeal to discerning guests. Condos range from 898 to 1,853 square feet, giving families room to move. A few hotel rooms are also available, adding convenience for wedding parties and other groups traveling together. Maid service can be requested for a fee.
Features
Walk out onto Kauai's longest beach, a three-mile strand of creamy sand where vacationers can stroll or sun to the rhythms of the rolling Pacific. Among the amenities at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort are a 4,000-square-foot spa where visitors and locals choose from a full menu of massages, facials and other indulgent treatments, and a restaurant with a focus on locally grown, organic produce and fresh fish (open happy hour and dinner only). A small fitness center open 24/7 keeps workout junkies happy. Guests who want to create their own local dishes can use grills on the property and shop for groceries just across the street.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Coconut Marketplace (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wailua Falls (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Compact 550-square-foot business center with computer/printer keeps working guests connected

Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker.Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
Two Bedroom Garden/Mountain View
Rooms with 1 king in master bedroom and Queen in second bedroom and sleep sofa or king in master and 2 double beds in second bedroom and sleep sofa include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Room feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Rooms with king and sleep of include Air Conditioning, Color TV, In-room safe, Alarm Clock / Radio, Iron/Ironing Board, Automated Wake-up call, Data Port, Kitchen, Automated Voicemail, Direct-Dial Telephone, Refrigerator, Balcony, Electronic Door Locks, Smoke Detector, Blackout Drapes, Fire Sprinkler, Tables & Chairs, Cable or Pay TV, Hair Dryer, Tub or shower, Coffeemaker. Rooms feature granite countertops, Wolf cooktop and convection oven, microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware, tableware Full-size stacked washer/dryer in every one- and two-bedroom unit

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0612 -159.32
Area served
Kapaa, Kauai
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Beachfront resort located on Kauai's eastern coast in Waipouli 8 miles north of Lihue airport. Lihue International Airport to Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort: Exit Lihue Airport and turn RIGHT at the first traffic signal onto KAPULE HWY/HWY 51. Continue on HWY 51 until it intersects with KUHIO HWY/HWY 56. Continue on KUHIO HWY/HWY 56 as it crosses the Waialua River Bridge. Continue past Coconut Plantation at Waipouli approximately 1 mile; Turn RIGHT into WAIPOULI BEACH RESORT. Kauai Village Marketplace is directly across Kuhio Hwy from Waipouli Beach Resort.

Dining

Oasis on The Beach
The Oasis on the Beach, is now open daily from 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Contreras
Bakersfield, CA
Mar 25, 2012

FUN, Relaxation, & Comfort!!!

My Inlaws, Husband and I had an amazing time. Great location, good people, very friendly and always something to do. A tip for the resort is to update the BBQ Grill's. The pool is still fabulous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Must check out the Luau at the Grand Hyatt in Poipu!

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma15
Saskatchewan, Canada
Mar 9, 2012

Awesome accommodations

The condo room was perfect with its comfy furniture and lavish kitchen as we ended up spending a lot of time there because it rained most of the time during our 9 day holiday:( The location would have been good-half way between north and south, but we saw very little of each because of the weather. Spent 1/2 hour in the pool. Lovely setup. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We had excellant quality for the amount we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy groceries and make breakfast (and lunches if not beach weather) to save time and money by not having to go to restaurants all the time.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lokela
Edmonton
Feb 7, 2012

Great Place - needs work.

Room was fantastic - one of the best layouts we have experienced. As usual, the kitchen cups, plates, pots and pans, cutlery were cheap and didn't match the quality of the kitchen (awesome Sub-Zero fridge and Wolf stove and granite counter tops!!!). The room was never cleaned for our 9 night stay - just straightened up and missing things that should have been replaced if used or used up (kleenex, towels, dish cloth, etc.) were not. If a washer an dryer are provided - it wouldn't be too much to ask for a bit of detergent. Pool was small, beach area was small and not bather friendly. Although access to shopping across the street was convenient, it felt like suburbia. All in all though a very nice property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Secret Beach - located between the Kilaeau Lighthouse and Kalihawai Bay, this was one of the most spectacular beaches we have seen. Really tough to get to though. We were fortunate to get to it from a property above the embankment on Kauapea Road (where Jennifer Aniston lives). Be careful though, rouge waves can be nasty!

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan S
Virginia, MN, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Lived the good life

Unit was premium quality, clean and comfortable. The open lobby and hallways allowed easy access to unit. Registration and Concierges were great. Shopping, groceries, eating places within easy walk; even a McD's. Liked Bobby V's Pizza and new ice cream shop. The relaxed atmosphere at the resort was a great complement to the relaxed lifestyle on the island. We plan to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan your other attractions such as whale watching and zip lining early. Use the concierges. If you're there for only 1 week, make plans early because they all fill up.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T in Montana
Victor, MT
Sep 22, 2011

Long awaited vacation

Did not meet my expectations. I admit my expectations were high for this property. Upon arrival I was ignored for about 5 minutes before the second employee realized I needed to check in. The check in process then took about 15 additional minutes. Throughout our stay, I noticed that very few employees (with the exception of the housekeeping staff who were very friendly) actually made eye contact with the guests and greeted them. I have stayed at some very nice resorts, and that is not typical. Did not make me feel very welcome. The property is lovely; nice, big rooms (we had a 2 bedroom condo)and furnishings were impressive, except for the couch which was worn and dirty looking. Maid service was daily, but I doubt our room was even vacuumed or swept often since the sand was present even after our rooms were cleaned. Our mountain view room turned out to be a view of their parking lot, the highway and Safeway's parking lot. Although the resort appeared to be half full, at best, they would not move us to another room unless we paid an additional $40 per night. Since we spent most of our time elsewhere (other beaches and locations on the island), we choose to stay put. Very nice pool and not a lot of use by other guests. In other words, not crowded. If you wanted to be on the beach,the resort did not routinely put out lounge chairs there so you either had to pull your own out there or sit on the sand. Pretty view on beach, however, not very swimmable. When we left, I was not even asked how our room was or how our stay was. I guess they don't care. Very poor customer service for a resort of this caliber. Could not recommend it, unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you rent portable chairs for your beach trips. It makes it so nice to stay on the beach and watch the waves or to dry off after swimming. Places like Snorkel Bobs rent them.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T in Montana
Victor, MT
Sep 22, 2011

Long awaited vacation

Did not meet my expectations. I admit my expectations were high for this property. Upon arrival I was ignored for about 5 minutes before the second employee realized I needed to check in. The check in process then took about 15 additional minutes. Throughout our stay, I noticed that very few employees (with the exception of the housekeeping staff who were very friendly) actually made eye contact with the guests and greeted them. I have stayed at some very nice resorts, and that is not typical. Did not make me feel very welcome. The property is lovely; nice, big rooms (we had a 2 bedroom condo)and furnishings were impressive, except for the couch which was worn and dirty looking. Maid service was daily, but I doubt our room was even vacuumed or swept often since the sand was present even after our rooms were cleaned. Our mountain view room turned out to be a view of their parking lot, the highway and Safeway's parking lot. Although the resort appeared to be half full, at best, they would not move us to another room unless we paid an additional $40 per night. Since we spent most of our time elsewhere (other beaches and locations on the island), we choose to stay put. Very nice pool and not a lot of use by other guests. In other words, not crowded. If you wanted to be on the beach,the resort did not routinely put out lounge chairs there so you either had to pull your own out there or sit on the sand. Pretty view on beach, however, not very swimmable. When we left, I was not even asked how our room was or how our stay was. I guess they don't care. Very poor customer service for a resort of this caliber. Could not recommend it, unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you rent portable chairs for your beach trips. It makes it so nice to stay on the beach and watch the waves or to dry off after swimming. Places like Snorkel Bobs rent them.

Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDB18
Sanford, FL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Fantastic Family Getaway

We stayed in a two bedroom, partial oceanview unit. The room was awesome. Everything was furnished very nicely. Very large rooms, Super nicely done. The kids loved the pool and slide. The ocean was rough, but the beach was beautiful and there were some shallow pools right there which are great for the kids. Very central location and awesome being directly across the street from Safeway. The grounds are immaculate. Can't recommend highly enough. One note though, there is no longer a pool bar/snack shack. That building became the restaurant's kitchen. So no quick burgers, but with a ful kitchen upstairs and grills down stairs that was not a problem. I'm no longer a fan of Orbitz and won't be using them again. Had major seating isues on the plane, but the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDB18
Sanford, FL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Fantastic Family Getaway

We stayed in a two bedroom, partial oceanview unit. The room was awesome. Everything was furnished very nicely. Very large rooms, Super nicely done. The kids loved the pool and slide. The ocean was rough, but the beach was beautiful and there were some shallow pools right there which are great for the kids. Very central location and awesome being directly across the street from Safeway. The grounds are immaculate. Can't recommend highly enough. One note though, there is no longer a pool bar/snack shack. That building became the restaurant's kitchen. So no quick burgers, but with a ful kitchen upstairs and grills down stairs that was not a problem. I'm no longer a fan of Orbitz and won't be using them again. Had major seating isues on the plane, but the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sommer
Long Beach, CA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Wonderful place

This was a beautiful hotel complete with friendly, helpful staff. The location was perfect-hotel is right up on a gorgeous beach. Although not a swimming beach due to the rocks, it's a wonderful watch-the-sunrise/sunset beach. The pool amenities were great and the kids spent a lot of time on the water slides. Overall, loved spending time there and will definitely come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sommer
Long Beach, CA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Wonderful place

This was a beautiful hotel complete with friendly, helpful staff. The location was perfect-hotel is right up on a gorgeous beach. Although not a swimming beach due to the rocks, it's a wonderful watch-the-sunrise/sunset beach. The pool amenities were great and the kids spent a lot of time on the water slides. Overall, loved spending time there and will definitely come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top