$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
319 reviews
great hotel

just about perfect,nice room,great staff and nice workout room and pool area,small bar with good... See full review

  • Tman777
  • May 12, 2014
Fantastic amenities and entertainment

Staff were very courteous and helpful with information about the resort and the island. The evening... See full review

  • Steve1981Laurel
  • Apr 13, 2014
Royal Coconut Coast resort has luxury views at a moderate price
Spread across more than 10 acres fronting Waipouli Beach, Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach has a setting to rival that of any high-end hotel along this same stretch of the eastern shore of Kauai -- but without high-end rates. Surfers will be pleased that Makaiwa, a well-known surfing spot, is right in front of the hotel. But Lydgate Beach Park, with calmer waters and lifeguards, is only a mile and a half away and excellent for families. Relaxed and casual, the gardens, pool and palms at the hotel invite guests to sit back and enjoy.
Highlights
  • Beachfront location
  • Refrigerator in every room
  • On-site restaurant and open-air lounge
Location
The eastern shore of Kauai is the most populated area of the island. In addition to Coconut Marketplace with more than 60 shops and restaurants to entice vacationers, this area is the most centrally located, making it a perfect base for those who want to explore all the Kauai hot spots.
Rooms
The 311 guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach range from 320 square feet to 528 square feet, but all offer the same convenience of a lanai and refrigerator. Room decor evokes the natural style of Kauai with a palette drawn from sun, sea and rich earth tones.
Dining
Voyager Grille is open for breakfast and dinner and lures Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach diners with a Friday-night prime rib and seafood buffet. Open-air Makai Lounge serves lunch as well as tropical drinks and a tempting pupu menu perfect for happy hour or light dining.
Recreation
The section of Waipouli Beach in front of the Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach is not recommended for swimming, although at low tide, the reef offshore forms a barrier that creates a pleasant wading area. Lydgate Beach Park, just over a mile away, has a long curve of sand, expansive grassy areas, showers, restrooms and lifeguards.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/9.8 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kaui Museum (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.2 mi/50.3 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, 5,094 square feet of indoor meeting space
  • A total of 2,600 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site staff to assist with functions
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas and wired access in guest rooms

Hotel Map

22.0564 -159.3252
Area served
Kapaa, Lihue Island of Kauai Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Aiport-LIH
Area description
This property is on oceanfront, convenient from LIH airport and to shopping and restuarants in Kapaa.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach Rooms

Garden View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Pool View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean View
(Partial View of Ocean) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean Front
(Full Ocean View) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Makai Lounge
This open air lounge overlooks the pool and Waipouli beach featuring tropical drinks and a creative pupu menu. Open for lunch and dinner. Dress code is casual.
Voyager Grill
This open air restaurant is open for breakfast daily and overlooks the pool, courtyard and Waipouli Beach. Dress code for Voyager Grill is Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (319)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 319
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tman777
Tacoma,wa
May 12, 2014

great hotel

just about perfect,nice room,great staff and nice workout room and pool area,small bar with good food,lots of fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

old town kapaa worth the short walk

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David 2349
Sydney, Australia
Jan 12, 2013

Very ordinary

Well, first the free Internet don't work. Then the phone line is not working the next day. The breakfast is not fresh and seems like been cook out of prison camp and then left to warm for hours. The service also not great, they don't feel that they need to do much and much rather chatting among themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single gal needing a tropical getaway
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 28, 2011

Awesome 3-star hotel!

I went with the Marriott Courtyard name hoping for something cheap and cheerful but clean, after all, the price and the fact that it was 3-star rated led me not to expect too much. However, I couldn't have been more wonderfully surprised. A member of staff told me that the hotel has spent approx $15million in rennovations over the past few months. It was noticable that the bathrooms had been newly re-done: new tile around the floor and bath, new fixtures and granite counters. The bed was spotless with lots of fluffy pillows (I believe I asked for extra when making my reservation, and they complied), and while the tv wasn't a flat screen, who cares?! Everything worked great, and I wasn't in Hawaii to play with flashy electronics! Part of the pool area was cordoned off the day I arrived - apparently the entire exterior of the building and pool deck had just been repainted and re-landscaped. It looked immaculate. There were plenty of new lounge chairs around the pool and just a few feet away on the beach. It was never crowded. I was also able to check out as many pool towels as I wanted (a $20 fee is charged if they are not returned). I was a single traveler, just taking a relaxing extra-long weekend in Hawaii, so I hadn't rented a car, but I didn't need one for the most part. There were plenty of local stores and restaurants within a 5-10min walk from the front of the hotel - a strip mall with Safeway and Starbucks to the north, and an outdoor shopping/market area to the south. The hotel was set back from the main road, so you could take the scenic route to both along the beach in either direction, or stroll a path along the road. Wahoo's Grill across the street from the hotel has free genuine Hawaiian entertainment on Sunday (and Friday I believe) evenings. An amazing local couple strummed ukelele and sang while I ate. For ultra cheap fast food, McDonald's is another 100 yards further. Alternately, there are many other choices nearby. I did rent a car for the day from the hotel concierge desk - it was actually cheaper than if I had pre-booked. Be careful though - some tours offer free hotel pick-ups, while many don't, so remember to ask when booking. The nearby Smith's Luau did pick-up from the Courtyard, and was a well worthwhile evening of good food and entertainment if you're staying on the east side of the island. My only 'beware' is that the beach was not great for swimming - a lot of rocks and a heavy current. The "gym" was also very bare - just a couple of treadmills, a step machine and bike. There are many great swim and snorkel beaches on different parts of the island if you have a car. Overall, I couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel or value for money I received. It has a great central location on the east coast, only 15mins north of the airport, with easy access to all the sites on both north and south sides of the island. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to others - singles, couples or families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Safeway is a 1min drive/10min walk if you want to buy cheap items for snacks/breakfast to keep in the room fridge. There's also a local ABC store with better value gift items than many 'tourist' shops.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single gal needing a tropical getaway
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 28, 2011

Awesome 3-star hotel!

I went with the Marriott Courtyard name hoping for something cheap and cheerful but clean, after all, the price and the fact that it was 3-star rated led me not to expect too much. However, I couldn't have been more wonderfully surprised. A member of staff told me that the hotel has spent approx $15million in rennovations over the past few months. It was noticable that the bathrooms had been newly re-done: new tile around the floor and bath, new fixtures and granite counters. The bed was spotless with lots of fluffy pillows (I believe I asked for extra when making my reservation, and they complied), and while the tv wasn't a flat screen, who cares?! Everything worked great, and I wasn't in Hawaii to play with flashy electronics! Part of the pool area was cordoned off the day I arrived - apparently the entire exterior of the building and pool deck had just been repainted and re-landscaped. It looked immaculate. There were plenty of new lounge chairs around the pool and just a few feet away on the beach. It was never crowded. I was also able to check out as many pool towels as I wanted (a $20 fee is charged if they are not returned). I was a single traveler, just taking a relaxing extra-long weekend in Hawaii, so I hadn't rented a car, but I didn't need one for the most part. There were plenty of local stores and restaurants within a 5-10min walk from the front of the hotel - a strip mall with Safeway and Starbucks to the north, and an outdoor shopping/market area to the south. The hotel was set back from the main road, so you could take the scenic route to both along the beach in either direction, or stroll a path along the road. Wahoo's Grill across the street from the hotel has free genuine Hawaiian entertainment on Sunday (and Friday I believe) evenings. An amazing local couple strummed ukelele and sang while I ate. For ultra cheap fast food, McDonald's is another 100 yards further. Alternately, there are many other choices nearby. I did rent a car for the day from the hotel concierge desk - it was actually cheaper than if I had pre-booked. Be careful though - some tours offer free hotel pick-ups, while many don't, so remember to ask when booking. The nearby Smith's Luau did pick-up from the Courtyard, and was a well worthwhile evening of good food and entertainment if you're staying on the east side of the island. My only 'beware' is that the beach was not great for swimming - a lot of rocks and a heavy current. The "gym" was also very bare - just a couple of treadmills, a step machine and bike. There are many great swim and snorkel beaches on different parts of the island if you have a car. Overall, I couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel or value for money I received. It has a great central location on the east coast, only 15mins north of the airport, with easy access to all the sites on both north and south sides of the island. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to others - singles, couples or families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Safeway is a 1min drive/10min walk if you want to buy cheap items for snacks/breakfast to keep in the room fridge. There's also a local ABC store with better value gift items than many 'tourist' shops.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Centerville, Ohio
Jul 5, 2011

Great place to vacation........

Great place to stay while on vacation. Hotel staff are very friendly. Hotel is right on the beach. Lots of sandy beach, but the water has lots of coral heads. I got to see a Hawaiian Monk seal resting on the beach in front of the hotel. Staff say that it is pretty common to see the Monk seals basking in the sun. Hotel grounds are beautiful. Good size pool for adults as well as children. Hotel restaurant is outstanding. When booking your hotel room, ask for a room on the 4th floor. These rooms have very high ceilings which make the room look so much bigger. The room is very big. Walking distance to shopping center's and restaurants. Many little gift shops to choose from. I would highly recommend staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When staying at the Courtyard Marriott, ask for the 4th floor rooms. Room ceilings are very high which adds to the comfort and looks to the room.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Feb 27, 2010

Nice place, extra unadvertised daicharge

OK spot, only there one night, hit with unexpected daily charge and was not happy. Do you screen your hotels for unadvertised charges?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Feb 27, 2010

Nice place, extra unadvertised daicharge

OK spot, only there one night, hit with unexpected daily charge and was not happy. Do you screen your hotels for unadvertised charges?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
FRANKLIN, WI
Jan 24, 2010

unbeatable

just great. [...] and the staff are the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Jen
Saint Louis, MO
Dec 11, 2009

Beautiful hotel, kind of pricey though

I was very pleased with the atmosphere of the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. The room was great, with a view over-looking the ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very quiet-- great for anyone looking to relax and catch up on rest. I didn't spend much time at the hotel, or take advantage of any of the services they offered (they seemed kind of expensive compared to similiar services in the area nearby), but the time I did spend there I enjoyed. I will definitely consider this hotel again if I visit Kauai again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Jen
Saint Louis, MO
Dec 11, 2009

Beautiful hotel, kind of pricey though

I was very pleased with the atmosphere of the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. The room was great, with a view over-looking the ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very quiet-- great for anyone looking to relax and catch up on rest. I didn't spend much time at the hotel, or take advantage of any of the services they offered (they seemed kind of expensive compared to similiar services in the area nearby), but the time I did spend there I enjoyed. I will definitely consider this hotel again if I visit Kauai again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top