$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
190 reviews
great hotel

just about perfect,nice room,great staff and nice workout room and pool area,small bar with good... See full review

  • Tman777
  • May 12, 2014
Fantastic amenities and entertainment

Staff were very courteous and helpful with information about the resort and the island. The evening... See full review

  • Steve1981Laurel
  • Apr 13, 2014
Royal Coconut Coast resort has luxury views at a moderate price
Spread across more than 10 acres fronting Waipouli Beach, Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach has a setting to rival that of any high-end hotel along this same stretch of the eastern shore of Kauai -- but without high-end rates. Surfers will be pleased that Makaiwa, a well-known surfing spot, is right in front of the hotel. But Lydgate Beach Park, with calmer waters and lifeguards, is only a mile and a half away and excellent for families. Relaxed and casual, the gardens, pool and palms at the hotel invite guests to sit back and enjoy.
Highlights
  • Beachfront location
  • Refrigerator in every room
  • On-site restaurant and open-air lounge
Location
The eastern shore of Kauai is the most populated area of the island. In addition to Coconut Marketplace with more than 60 shops and restaurants to entice vacationers, this area is the most centrally located, making it a perfect base for those who want to explore all the Kauai hot spots.
Rooms
The 311 guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach range from 320 square feet to 528 square feet, but all offer the same convenience of a lanai and refrigerator. Room decor evokes the natural style of Kauai with a palette drawn from sun, sea and rich earth tones.
Dining
Voyager Grille is open for breakfast and dinner and lures Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach diners with a Friday-night prime rib and seafood buffet. Open-air Makai Lounge serves lunch as well as tropical drinks and a tempting pupu menu perfect for happy hour or light dining.
Recreation
The section of Waipouli Beach in front of the Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach is not recommended for swimming, although at low tide, the reef offshore forms a barrier that creates a pleasant wading area. Lydgate Beach Park, just over a mile away, has a long curve of sand, expansive grassy areas, showers, restrooms and lifeguards.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/9.8 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kaui Museum (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.2 mi/50.3 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, 5,094 square feet of indoor meeting space
  • A total of 2,600 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site staff to assist with functions
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas and wired access in guest rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach Rooms

Garden View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Pool View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean View
(Partial View of Ocean) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean Front
(Full Ocean View) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Makai Lounge
This open air lounge overlooks the pool and Waipouli beach featuring tropical drinks and a creative pupu menu. Open for lunch and dinner. Dress code is casual.
Voyager Grill
This open air restaurant is open for breakfast daily and overlooks the pool, courtyard and Waipouli Beach. Dress code for Voyager Grill is Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 190
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1234abcd1234abcd
Business
South Carolina
Oct 8, 2014

Good place to stay

Clean and comfortable with a nice look and good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honolulu Visitor
Business
Honolulu
Jan 20, 2013

Great Value

Nicely renovated. Friendly staff and overall ambience of hotel is great. Restaurant food could be better. Good pupu menu and best piña coladas I have ever tasted. However the dining menu was not exciting. I ad a Oceanview room which had nice access to the beach. However, the room was dark and sort of took away from the Tropical sunshine feel that I had wanted. Overall great vale for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Must see Waimea and Napali when visiting Kauai

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curi0usW0rldTraveler
Business
Bismarck, ND
Jan 6, 2013

Beautiful property but rooms just ok

The property in general was beautiful. The grounds were well manicured with lots of free parking. The turn-off from the road was difficult to see, especially in the dark. The sign is low, small and unlit. This hotel is right on a beautiful beach, but the beach is coral and shallow. That makes for limited play in the water but once one gets out through the waves there is easy and fabulous snorkeling with lots of reef fish. Our favorite was seeing the state fish of Hawaii, Humuhumunukunukuapua'a. Please see the pictures I've uploaded. The hotel never felt crowded, however, even when fully booked. I never had trouble getting a beach chair and loved the hammocks and loveseats. The pool bar had some fire lights that were interesting. The property was in a good, central island location. As for the hotel, we didn't use the bar and only ate in the restaurant once because it was incredibly pricey. $18/person for a breakfast buffet which I felt wasn't any better than a good Hampton Inn free breakfast. The pancakes were interesting, however. They had taro in them. There was coconut syrup. For other food, there are lots of cheaper restaurants close by, even McDonald's. Our rooms seemed not to be very clean. There was nothing specific but the rugs didn't appear to be well vacuumed on any day. The towels were thin, especially compared to cheaper hotel chains which I frequent. There were quite stingy with towels as the hotel filled, especially pool towels. We actually booked two rooms. Our bed was a king-sized bed and we rolled to a hole in the middle of the mattress. Tip: Turn the a/c off or turn the fan to a constant fan or it will cycle throughout the night. Our a/c didn't seem to regulate temp well, although it was fine in our other room. We kept turning up our temp to 79˚ but it was still freezing if we left it on. Despite the above, the rooms were quiet. That can mitigate the other complaints significantly. Rooms were large enough for two people. I'm glad we didn't have all 4 in one room. The bathroom was the older small bathroom with the door barely clearing the toilet seat. There was a miniscule deck off our room with a chest high wall (we were on 3rd floor) overlooking a roof. We took our deck chairs out once and sat on the roof but the view left much to be desired. Not sure how much it's worth to you but if you're in your room a lot, I'd pay the extra for the view. All that said, the beach area made up for the rooms. I think I'd stay again, although now I also know that finding a condo might be cheaper. There are no microwaves in the room, but there is a fridge and coffee maker. The provided Kauai coffee is really good. Don't miss the tour of the Kauai coffee plantation and get some ice cream there as well. We did that 3 times on this trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Coffee Plantation is fun and interesting. Ice cream is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bbbean
Business
Kauai, HI
Oct 8, 2012

Great spot - good value

We had a great time at the Courtyard Marriott. The location was quite central and it was easy to get to all the activities we had planned. The staff was quite pleasant and accommodating. Our room was always clean when we came back and smelled great. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBIII
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 5, 2012

Better than Expected

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here with minimal expectations. Upon arrival, the grounds were very welcoming and the staff was awesome. The front office manager (Crystal) was very professional and courteous. We were told the hotel went through a recent renovation. They did a fine job. The room was very clean and comfortable. Free wifi was wonderful. Poolside was very clean, and relaxing. The evening fires were relaxing as well. The ocean was steps away from the hotel. I will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Kauai. Note: If you are planning trip to the island of Kauai, understand that you are in Hawaii. This is the third island that my family and I have visited ( Maui, Oahu). Hawaii is not a cheap vacation destination. It is a beautiful place to visit, but plan your finances accordingly. This way there will be minimal impact to your wallets...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are supermarkets and restaurants nearby for those who would like variety. Costco and Walmart are on the island as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Aug 11, 2011

Great Hotel

Perfect Location, Great Hotel & wonderful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu, hawaii
Aug 3, 2011

Great vacation!

Our stay on Kauai was fantastic. People told us we'd run out of things to do (we were there for 4 days), but that was not true. We didn't get to see/do all we wanted to, even if we were on the go from morning to night. The Courtyard was very conveniently located, and it is a beautiful hotel, however, I have a few concerns. The air conditioning was a bit noisy, we didn't have hot water one morning, the bathroom is extremely small, and there are few amenities in the bathroom. Despite these shortcomings, it is a very pleasant hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G-n-C
Business
oahu
Aug 1, 2011

Relaxing

was relaxing but the gym needs major work! Only 4 cardio machines only 2 worked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Jul 30, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was in a very good location. As soon as I left out of my room to go outside, I was at the ocean. There was plenty to do, such as swimming, zip lining, kayaking, shopping, or just sitting on the beach. I wish that it was an all inclusive hotel, but I still enjoyed my stay. This was the best trip ever. I will definitely return to this hotel. The staff was friendly and there was a spa at the hotel. I got the best massage and facial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are restaurants in the hotel, but there are plenty of restaurants in the area. Just take your pick. There are a couple of grocery stores in the area if you wanted to try to save a little cash while there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jar
Business
Los Gatos .CA
Jul 2, 2011

It was good except construction part

There was construction going on during the day but we were gone most of the day so it wasn't a big issue. Overall it was pleasent trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top