$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
191 reviews
great hotel

just about perfect,nice room,great staff and nice workout room and pool area,small bar with good... See full review

  • Tman777
  • May 12, 2014
Fantastic amenities and entertainment

Staff were very courteous and helpful with information about the resort and the island. The evening... See full review

  • Steve1981Laurel
  • Apr 13, 2014
Royal Coconut Coast resort has luxury views at a moderate price
Spread across more than 10 acres fronting Waipouli Beach, Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach has a setting to rival that of any high-end hotel along this same stretch of the eastern shore of Kauai -- but without high-end rates. Surfers will be pleased that Makaiwa, a well-known surfing spot, is right in front of the hotel. But Lydgate Beach Park, with calmer waters and lifeguards, is only a mile and a half away and excellent for families. Relaxed and casual, the gardens, pool and palms at the hotel invite guests to sit back and enjoy.
Highlights
  • Beachfront location
  • Refrigerator in every room
  • On-site restaurant and open-air lounge
Location
The eastern shore of Kauai is the most populated area of the island. In addition to Coconut Marketplace with more than 60 shops and restaurants to entice vacationers, this area is the most centrally located, making it a perfect base for those who want to explore all the Kauai hot spots.
Rooms
The 311 guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach range from 320 square feet to 528 square feet, but all offer the same convenience of a lanai and refrigerator. Room decor evokes the natural style of Kauai with a palette drawn from sun, sea and rich earth tones.
Dining
Voyager Grille is open for breakfast and dinner and lures Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach diners with a Friday-night prime rib and seafood buffet. Open-air Makai Lounge serves lunch as well as tropical drinks and a tempting pupu menu perfect for happy hour or light dining.
Recreation
The section of Waipouli Beach in front of the Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach is not recommended for swimming, although at low tide, the reef offshore forms a barrier that creates a pleasant wading area. Lydgate Beach Park, just over a mile away, has a long curve of sand, expansive grassy areas, showers, restrooms and lifeguards.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/9.8 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kaui Museum (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.2 mi/50.3 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, 5,094 square feet of indoor meeting space
  • A total of 2,600 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site staff to assist with functions
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas and wired access in guest rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach Rooms

Garden View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Pool View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean View
(Partial View of Ocean) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean Front
(Full Ocean View) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Voyager Grill
This open air restaurant is open for breakfast daily and overlooks the pool, courtyard and Waipouli Beach. Dress code for Voyager Grill is Casual.
Makai Lounge
This open air lounge overlooks the pool and Waipouli beach featuring tropical drinks and a creative pupu menu. Open for lunch and dinner. Dress code is casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 18, 2009

Find another hotel!

The hotel does not have the ammenities that it lists on the website. The coffee kiosk is closed, the restaurant and "grill" only serves breakfast, and they no longer have their own luau. The ice machines, laundry facilities, deck furniture, and ocean side benches are either all broke or not working. The air conditioning in the room only worked when someone was in the room. So the room does not stay cool during the day and it would turn on and off all night. The toilet in our room ran nonstop and the screen door to our lanai was broken. When we mentioned this to the staff they told us that there wasn't a manager on duty but that they would get back to us. The also charged a resort fee to use their facilities. I would not recommend staying there. We are not picky travelers who stay at five star hotels, but we would at least like to stay at resort where the facilities are usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David 2349
Business
Sydney, Australia
Jan 12, 2013

Very ordinary

Well, first the free Internet don't work. Then the phone line is not working the next day. The breakfast is not fresh and seems like been cook out of prison camp and then left to warm for hours. The service also not great, they don't feel that they need to do much and much rather chatting among themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill R
Business
Ohio
Feb 5, 2013

Marriott should do better

While the property was generally nice there were too many issues for an experienced hospitality giant like Marriott. This booking was a 3- night add-on to an existing 6 night reservation. I made sure both reservations were for the same type and location of room. I notified them in advance that I hoped I could keep the same room for both reservations which they were able to accomodate. However, it should not have been necessary for me to check out and then checkin at the front desk on the day following my sixth night (the last night of the first reservation). Next issue is the wrist bands we were required to have in the pool area. And we had to retrun the the front desk daily as they changed the color of the wrist bands daily. Didin't it occur that the management they could have asked to see a roon key. Same story with the pool towels. Each day a new trip to the front desk. How about doing it the way most resorts do. Keep the towel supply by the pool. There is more like the $14/day parking fee. Two night I could't even find a marked parking space in the lot. They were all taken. There is more but I appear to be out of space. (like their lot)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
R G from Manteca
Business
Manteca Ca
Apr 9, 2014

Cannot Recommend

Discovered after 6 nights that sheets had not been changed when 3 dark spots at the head of the bed were now at the foot of the bed. We were 2 in the room yet for 3 days only 1 envelope of sweetener for in room coffee. on 4th day short 2 bath towels. Clothes washer on our floor was out of order. You have to pay $14.00 per day to park on hotel premises..pretty chinsy. Barely room for 2 small chairs on tiny balcony.Very narrow beach area with no access to ocean due to jagged rocks. Very nice Hawaiian music and hulu show on friday night. Cannot recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic Cafe and L&L Hawaiian bar-b-cue. ABC store for low priced souvenirs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 4, 2008

not so relaxing place

The Resort Quest Kauai Beach Hotel was somewhat comfortable. The room were average size and seemed clean. Bed cover was somewhat worned out and my wife had some bug bites after sleeping on the bed. The balcony was very tiny. It had room for two chairs and standing room only. Pool area was always crowded and there weren't enough chairs to lounge on (especially in the late afternoon). Very noisy in the evening because of the entertainments in the bar/lounge area. The only good thing about this hotel is that there is a shopping center right across from the hotel. This hotel is only good if you're vacationing in Hawaii for the first time or if you're a retiree (there were a lot of retiree guests staying there.)If you're looking for a quiet getaway, I would suggest somewhere else. Lastly, don't fall for the $12/day resort fee that the hotel tries to force on the guests. It states that the fee covers daily newspaper, internet usage, valet parking, and a coupon booklet it will provide for you for $12/day during the length of your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are restaurants, coffee shops, and supermarkets right across from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dodgepound
Business
Nampa, ID
Aug 12, 2009

Buyer beware

Went through 5 rooms before finding a clean one without condom wrappers under bed, a functioning air conditioner or dead cockroaches on floor. "Full Ocean View" means view of pool with a sliver of ocean viewable. But "for a small fee" can upgrade to clean room with actual full view of ocean. Noticed three other customers upset with room view or cleanliness getting the same "upgrade for a fee" offer. Seems as if the hotel intentionally uses sub-standard rooms to see if you will upgrade. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you have no other option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 31, 2008

family friendly with little room maintence

location is great. the hotel smells not good. room maintance is poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

whithin 1.5 hour to kee beach & canyon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgan
Dec 30, 2008

It was just OK

We had a garden view room. Our view was of the parking lot. Our room was very small.What was called a lanai was not big enough to accomidate a chair so we had to stand, but that was okay because we did not want to look at the parking lot anyway, so we did not use it. The bathroom was absurd. I am a small person (5'2, 100lbs) and I could hardly turn around in the bathroom it was so small. And there was no fan. However, the grounds were nice and the bar staff was friendly. The restaurant was expensive and not very good. The concieierge service was poor at best. Our room was clean but musty smelling. There is another ResortQuest Property just down the road, we stayed there last time and we would rather stay there again. Unfortunatly it was full this trip. I assumed that all Resort Qwest Properties would have the same standards. That was not the case for us this time. We love Kauai and plan to return as often as possible, but we will choose other accomidations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai is a small island everthing is a short drive. The sunrises on this side of the island are amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale
Dec 23, 2008

My review of ResortQuest Kauai Beach Hotel

decent amnenties, but problems with mosquitoes inside the hotel. had to change room multiple times for different reasons. in the last room, there was a spider in the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
multi-time Kauai traveler
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2009

Good location, poor service

Staff not very friendly or accomidating. Checked us in/out, nothing in between. Had to look for or have front desk call for car parking valet. No ammenities, no entertainment other than the lounge. After staying at several other resorts in Kauai,I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top