$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
View map of 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RArora
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Fantastic getwaway

Our stay at The Courtyard Marriott was great. The location is very nice, about 15 or so minutes drive from the airport and on the main trunk road which connects major towns of Kauai. The staff was very friendly, courteous and accommodating. I asked them if there was an complementary upgrade, and was told that since they were at 100% capacity at the time, I should check back in couple of days. I did check back and was given an upgrade to ocean and pool facing room. My only complain is that they only have one restaurant, and that too closes at 9. Most restaurants in the area also close early, so plan ahead for your dinner. Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tutu's is a short drive on Hwy 56. An awesome place to eat breakfast/lunch, run by a great husband-wife team.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DefinitelyDisappointed
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

beautiful on the outside, not the best value.

Just got back from our honeymoon here. The new rennovations make it look AMAZING, especially at night. But the beds were lumpy, the bathroom was so small it was uncomfortable, and the hotel was unable to accommodate honeymooners' requests for a room that wasn't literally over their loading dock & dumpster. The staff is very friendly. The spa was/is small, quiet, and the massage therapists are superb. The food at the restuarant is good, but overpriced for what you get #compared to other resorts on Kauai#, and the drinks were really watered down. The parking fees for guests seems excessive at $14/day in an unsecured lot. The beach out back is gorgeous - one of my favorites on the island. But for the money, next time I'd get the same service & same view down the street for a fraction of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skyrim
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Husband/Wife Weekend Getaway

We booked this hotel as a package deal (flight, hotel, car) online. It was rated 4-stars, & the package deal fit our budget the best, not to mention it was also our first time visiting Kaua'i, so we got it. Our initial reaction was very positive; it's location is probably the best part of the Courtyard - centralized location in Kaua'i, 10-15 minutes away from Lihue Airport, located on the beach (though not a swimmable one), & it's about 5-minutes away from shopping centers, fast food places, & some major grocery stores (Long's, Safeway, Foodland, though none are open 24-hours here). The staff were all very friendly, & the hotel ambience & decor were very inviting & comfortable. To save money, we booked a "garden room w/a balcony" because we figured we'd be out of the hotel more than in. Not sure which "garden" they were talking about, lol, because our view (on the 4th floor) consisted of the parking lot, entrance to the hotel, part of the main street, & the tennis court. =) Of course, it wasn't a big deal to us, but just FYI because "garden view" can be misleading to some. Our room was pretty comfy, but then again we're pretty simple people lol I absolutely LOVED the instead-of-curtains-we-have-wooden-window-shades & the simplicity of the room. It was also quiet, & we rarely ran into the other guests, which we preferred. Our biggest issue, however, was that the hotel didn't have after-hour room service (not sure if they have during they day as we didn't try to order then). Maybe we're spoiled w/room service whenever we stay at a hotel, but it's a must for us, & we didn't know that going there. Wouldn't have been so bad if the usual 24-hour stores here on Oahu were also 24-hours on Kaua'i lol We were up hungry at the break of dawn & had to wait 2-hours until 630am for the restaurant to open for breakfast, which wasn't bad but definitely not worth the $40+ we paid for (then again, dining IN a hotel is usual expensive to begin with). Overall, we liked the hotel, but based on our usual preferences (i.e. room service, better views, etc.), we probably won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

DON'T EAT AT THE HOTEL! lol It's better to take-out from one of several places close by there & eat on the beach or by pool-side. =)

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J's78xr7
Business
Missouri, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Location, location, location!

A very nice place to hang out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Construction on the front entrance was not a problem for us. They did a nice job of not disturbing us while were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brick Oven Pizza was really good and reasonable.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOho
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2011

Hotel had beautiful grounds and was very clean

We had a very nice time there. Room was clean and quiet. Balcony a bit small. Room a little on the dark side due to lots of dark wood and limited window space. Staff very pleasant . They made you feel at home. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several small restaurants within a very short walking distance. Also, 2 major food markets within short walking distance. very near a small shopping mall for restaurants, and misc things.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marqui
Business
santa fe, nm
Aug 22, 2011

Loved our stay here

great location as we were centrally located so we were able to explore the north shore and south shore. The accommodations were adequate and food was good at the hotel. They also had a movie night on the lawn one night. We also spotted two Hawaiian monk seals on the beach outside our hotel. Staff was very helpful. We did have to pay extra for the parking but it was only 14 dollars extra a day. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Highly recommend eggberts at the coconut grove market place.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WxTraveler
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Island Vacation

The hotel is located on Coconut Beach on the south side of Kapa'a. This is the perfect location for people who plan to explore as it is about half way between the two sides of the island. A rental car is a must as the public transportation will not get you where you want to go. While the hotel is located on a beach, swimming/snorkeling are not recommended. The room was okay. Comfortable bed but everything felt a bit out dated. The AC unit was rather loud when switching on, waking us up in the night (I am usually not picky about such things). Marriott took over this property in October, so things will likely improve with time. The courtyard area is nice with tiki torches, pool, hot tub, comfortable seating areas, and the beach. On site coin laundry is a big plus too. Restaurant prices were steep (as usual) compared to other local choices. Would I stay at this hotel again? Absolutely. It has a great relaxing atmosphere for the weary island explorer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the takeaway place called Mermaids in Kapaa - some of the best food we had on the island.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Aug 11, 2011

Great Hotel

Perfect Location, Great Hotel & wonderful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu, hawaii
Aug 3, 2011

Great vacation!

Our stay on Kauai was fantastic. People told us we'd run out of things to do (we were there for 4 days), but that was not true. We didn't get to see/do all we wanted to, even if we were on the go from morning to night. The Courtyard was very conveniently located, and it is a beautiful hotel, however, I have a few concerns. The air conditioning was a bit noisy, we didn't have hot water one morning, the bathroom is extremely small, and there are few amenities in the bathroom. Despite these shortcomings, it is a very pleasant hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G-n-C
Business
oahu
Aug 1, 2011

Relaxing

was relaxing but the gym needs major work! Only 4 cardio machines only 2 worked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top