$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
188 reviews
great hotel

just about perfect,nice room,great staff and nice workout room and pool area,small bar with good... See full review

  • Tman777
  • May 12, 2014
Fantastic amenities and entertainment

Staff were very courteous and helpful with information about the resort and the island. The evening... See full review

  • Steve1981Laurel
  • Apr 13, 2014
Royal Coconut Coast resort has luxury views at a moderate price
Spread across more than 10 acres fronting Waipouli Beach, Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach has a setting to rival that of any high-end hotel along this same stretch of the eastern shore of Kauai -- but without high-end rates. Surfers will be pleased that Makaiwa, a well-known surfing spot, is right in front of the hotel. But Lydgate Beach Park, with calmer waters and lifeguards, is only a mile and a half away and excellent for families. Relaxed and casual, the gardens, pool and palms at the hotel invite guests to sit back and enjoy.
Highlights
  • Beachfront location
  • Refrigerator in every room
  • On-site restaurant and open-air lounge
Location
The eastern shore of Kauai is the most populated area of the island. In addition to Coconut Marketplace with more than 60 shops and restaurants to entice vacationers, this area is the most centrally located, making it a perfect base for those who want to explore all the Kauai hot spots.
Rooms
The 311 guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach range from 320 square feet to 528 square feet, but all offer the same convenience of a lanai and refrigerator. Room decor evokes the natural style of Kauai with a palette drawn from sun, sea and rich earth tones.
Dining
Voyager Grille is open for breakfast and dinner and lures Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach diners with a Friday-night prime rib and seafood buffet. Open-air Makai Lounge serves lunch as well as tropical drinks and a tempting pupu menu perfect for happy hour or light dining.
Recreation
The section of Waipouli Beach in front of the Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach is not recommended for swimming, although at low tide, the reef offshore forms a barrier that creates a pleasant wading area. Lydgate Beach Park, just over a mile away, has a long curve of sand, expansive grassy areas, showers, restrooms and lifeguards.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/9.8 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kaui Museum (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.2 mi/50.3 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, 5,094 square feet of indoor meeting space
  • A total of 2,600 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site staff to assist with functions
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas and wired access in guest rooms

Hotel Map

22.0564 -159.3252
Area served
Kapaa, Lihue Island of Kauai Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Aiport-LIH
Area description
This property is on oceanfront, convenient from LIH airport and to shopping and restuarants in Kapaa.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach Rooms

Garden View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Pool View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean View
(Partial View of Ocean) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean Front
(Full Ocean View) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Makai Lounge
This open air lounge overlooks the pool and Waipouli beach featuring tropical drinks and a creative pupu menu. Open for lunch and dinner. Dress code is casual.
Voyager Grill
This open air restaurant is open for breakfast daily and overlooks the pool, courtyard and Waipouli Beach. Dress code for Voyager Grill is Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made it back
US
Aug 20, 2012

Kapaa!

Perfectly good deal, right at the water (wave sounds in the room all night), the beach isn't really meant for swimming (but we knew that from previous reviews, so no complaints there). We were lucky to get a room on the top (4th) floor, which has double-high ceilings. Staff friendly and helpful, nice fire and water sculpture at the pool, live music in the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cricket70
Chico, Californai
Aug 5, 2012

Can't wait to go back!!

We spent our May 2012 anniversary, once again back in Kauai. This time we wanted a hotel in Kapaa. This one was perfect. Great location, wonderful rooms. We stayed on the 400 floor facing the pool....which also gave us a small view on the ocean. We only ate there twice,but what we had was presented so well. Tasty too. Rooms where large....bathroom small. Hospitality was superb! Planning our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBIII
San Antonio, TX
Aug 5, 2012

Better than Expected

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here with minimal expectations. Upon arrival, the grounds were very welcoming and the staff was awesome. The front office manager (Crystal) was very professional and courteous. We were told the hotel went through a recent renovation. They did a fine job. The room was very clean and comfortable. Free wifi was wonderful. Poolside was very clean, and relaxing. The evening fires were relaxing as well. The ocean was steps away from the hotel. I will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Kauai. Note: If you are planning trip to the island of Kauai, understand that you are in Hawaii. This is the third island that my family and I have visited ( Maui, Oahu). Hawaii is not a cheap vacation destination. It is a beautiful place to visit, but plan your finances accordingly. This way there will be minimal impact to your wallets...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are supermarkets and restaurants nearby for those who would like variety. Costco and Walmart are on the island as well.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arisane U
Shepherdstown WV
Jun 14, 2012

Kapaa,Hi

We had a great time and a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this to any one traveling to Kauai.... I cant wait to go back.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfer Bob
Business
Hawaii
May 10, 2012

nice quaint hotel

Very nice facilities and well maintained ground and hotel area. Nicely situated within distance of shops and dinning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RArora
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Fantastic getwaway

Our stay at The Courtyard Marriott was great. The location is very nice, about 15 or so minutes drive from the airport and on the main trunk road which connects major towns of Kauai. The staff was very friendly, courteous and accommodating. I asked them if there was an complementary upgrade, and was told that since they were at 100% capacity at the time, I should check back in couple of days. I did check back and was given an upgrade to ocean and pool facing room. My only complain is that they only have one restaurant, and that too closes at 9. Most restaurants in the area also close early, so plan ahead for your dinner. Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tutu's is a short drive on Hwy 56. An awesome place to eat breakfast/lunch, run by a great husband-wife team.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DefinitelyDisappointed
Redding, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

beautiful on the outside, not the best value.

Just got back from our honeymoon here. The new rennovations make it look AMAZING, especially at night. But the beds were lumpy, the bathroom was so small it was uncomfortable, and the hotel was unable to accommodate honeymooners' requests for a room that wasn't literally over their loading dock & dumpster. The staff is very friendly. The spa was/is small, quiet, and the massage therapists are superb. The food at the restuarant is good, but overpriced for what you get #compared to other resorts on Kauai#, and the drinks were really watered down. The parking fees for guests seems excessive at $14/day in an unsecured lot. The beach out back is gorgeous - one of my favorites on the island. But for the money, next time I'd get the same service & same view down the street for a fraction of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skyrim
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Husband/Wife Weekend Getaway

We booked this hotel as a package deal (flight, hotel, car) online. It was rated 4-stars, & the package deal fit our budget the best, not to mention it was also our first time visiting Kaua'i, so we got it. Our initial reaction was very positive; it's location is probably the best part of the Courtyard - centralized location in Kaua'i, 10-15 minutes away from Lihue Airport, located on the beach (though not a swimmable one), & it's about 5-minutes away from shopping centers, fast food places, & some major grocery stores (Long's, Safeway, Foodland, though none are open 24-hours here). The staff were all very friendly, & the hotel ambience & decor were very inviting & comfortable. To save money, we booked a "garden room w/a balcony" because we figured we'd be out of the hotel more than in. Not sure which "garden" they were talking about, lol, because our view (on the 4th floor) consisted of the parking lot, entrance to the hotel, part of the main street, & the tennis court. =) Of course, it wasn't a big deal to us, but just FYI because "garden view" can be misleading to some. Our room was pretty comfy, but then again we're pretty simple people lol I absolutely LOVED the instead-of-curtains-we-have-wooden-window-shades & the simplicity of the room. It was also quiet, & we rarely ran into the other guests, which we preferred. Our biggest issue, however, was that the hotel didn't have after-hour room service (not sure if they have during they day as we didn't try to order then). Maybe we're spoiled w/room service whenever we stay at a hotel, but it's a must for us, & we didn't know that going there. Wouldn't have been so bad if the usual 24-hour stores here on Oahu were also 24-hours on Kaua'i lol We were up hungry at the break of dawn & had to wait 2-hours until 630am for the restaurant to open for breakfast, which wasn't bad but definitely not worth the $40+ we paid for (then again, dining IN a hotel is usual expensive to begin with). Overall, we liked the hotel, but based on our usual preferences (i.e. room service, better views, etc.), we probably won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

DON'T EAT AT THE HOTEL! lol It's better to take-out from one of several places close by there & eat on the beach or by pool-side. =)

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J's78xr7
Missouri, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Location, location, location!

A very nice place to hang out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Construction on the front entrance was not a problem for us. They did a nice job of not disturbing us while were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brick Oven Pizza was really good and reasonable.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOho
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2011

Hotel had beautiful grounds and was very clean

We had a very nice time there. Room was clean and quiet. Balcony a bit small. Room a little on the dark side due to lots of dark wood and limited window space. Staff very pleasant . They made you feel at home. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several small restaurants within a very short walking distance. Also, 2 major food markets within short walking distance. very near a small shopping mall for restaurants, and misc things.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search