$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
View map of 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaua'i Traveler
Business
Kaua'i
Mar 12, 2013

Prett Good Spot

Clean rooms, great hot tub, but a bit disconnected from the true Island spirit. It sucks that you need to pay a forced parking fee, and that any other parking is so far away. However, if you are cool with that, this a is a solid place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Papayas is a great health food store just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJM in Maine
Business
Near Portland, Maine
Feb 15, 2013

Great value for a nice resort with a few minor glitches

The resort is conveniently located about 10 mins. north of Lihue airport, in Kapaa. The town of Kapaa has a lot of services but is not fancy and suffers from bad local traffic. Near the resort at Coconut Beach is another resort with a good, convenient restaurant (Hukilau Lanai). The resort itself has a couple of good restaurants and a lounge so no problem taking breakfast, lunch and/or dinner there. The beach has nice sunning but is narrow and not for swimming due to surf and a rough bottom; beaches on the north side are much nicer. We had a couple of niggling problems with the room (e.g. balky lock, tub with bad drain plug) but the front desk provided good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hukilau Lanai, at a neighboring resort on Coconut Beach, is good but crowded so make reservations or eat in the lounge. Avoid Wahooo's, a nearby seafood restaurant. Ono's Family Restaurant, nearby in Kapaa, is great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJM in Maine
Business
Near Portland, Maine
Feb 15, 2013

Very good value despite a few glitches

Location is convenient, in Kapaa about 10 mins. north if Lihue Airport. Kapaa has lots of servies (restaurants, stores, etc.) but is not fancy. The resort is in the Coconut Beach development which is well maintained and includes good services at an adjacent resort. The Marriott has a couple of good restaurants and a lounge so no problem taking breakfast, lunch and dinner there. We had some minor niggling problems with the room such as a balky door lock (hard to open) and a nonfunctional (but removable) bathroom drain plug but from desk service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hukilau Lanai, directly next door, is quite good but crowded so make reservations or eat in the lounge. Avoid Wahooo's (a nearby seafood restaurant). Ono's Family Restaurant, nearby in Kapaa, is great for breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OLLmom
Business
Alaska
Feb 11, 2013

Courtyard at Coconut Beach, Kauai

Second time staying here- love the friendly and helpful staff; the cleanliness of the rooms, the music and atmosphere. Great location on the island too. Lord willing, we will stay here again gladly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss eating at the Hukilau Lanai restaurant next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill R
Business
Ohio
Feb 5, 2013

Marriott should do better

While the property was generally nice there were too many issues for an experienced hospitality giant like Marriott. This booking was a 3- night add-on to an existing 6 night reservation. I made sure both reservations were for the same type and location of room. I notified them in advance that I hoped I could keep the same room for both reservations which they were able to accomodate. However, it should not have been necessary for me to check out and then checkin at the front desk on the day following my sixth night (the last night of the first reservation). Next issue is the wrist bands we were required to have in the pool area. And we had to retrun the the front desk daily as they changed the color of the wrist bands daily. Didin't it occur that the management they could have asked to see a roon key. Same story with the pool towels. Each day a new trip to the front desk. How about doing it the way most resorts do. Keep the towel supply by the pool. There is more like the $14/day parking fee. Two night I could't even find a marked parking space in the lot. They were all taken. There is more but I appear to be out of space. (like their lot)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTBeck
Business
Salt Lake City, utah
Feb 4, 2013

Honeymoon

The staff was great, and it is close to the ocean, however the bathrooms are tiny, and the outside decks are tiny as well. Nicely located centrally on the island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honolulu Visitor
Business
Honolulu
Jan 20, 2013

Great Value

Nicely renovated. Friendly staff and overall ambience of hotel is great. Restaurant food could be better. Good pupu menu and best piña coladas I have ever tasted. However the dining menu was not exciting. I ad a Oceanview room which had nice access to the beach. However, the room was dark and sort of took away from the Tropical sunshine feel that I had wanted. Overall great vale for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Must see Waimea and Napali when visiting Kauai

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David 2349
Business
Sydney, Australia
Jan 12, 2013

Very ordinary

Well, first the free Internet don't work. Then the phone line is not working the next day. The breakfast is not fresh and seems like been cook out of prison camp and then left to warm for hours. The service also not great, they don't feel that they need to do much and much rather chatting among themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HulaHowdy
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 6, 2013

Great hotel in great location

Not far from the airport. Easy to get to restaurants in Kapa'a. Nice jogging/walking route around the grounds and on the beach. Ate dinner at the restaurant on grounds several times. Great fresh fish specials each night. Lunch choices were underwhelming. There is a nice tennis court and basketball hoop on grounds. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. There is a little store with complementary local coffee and other snacks/drinks for purchase. You can rent sand mats and beach chairs here. Recommend bringing your own or buying them on the island. Rooms were nice and generally clean. However, housekeeping was definitely understaffed. There only seemed to be one or two staff for the whole place, which means if you are staying on the upper floors, your room may not get cleaned until 4:30pm. Same problem with bar and poolside staff: you will wait forever to order and they may not even come by to ask if you need anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curi0usW0rldTraveler
Business
Bismarck, ND
Jan 6, 2013

Beautiful property but rooms just ok

The property in general was beautiful. The grounds were well manicured with lots of free parking. The turn-off from the road was difficult to see, especially in the dark. The sign is low, small and unlit. This hotel is right on a beautiful beach, but the beach is coral and shallow. That makes for limited play in the water but once one gets out through the waves there is easy and fabulous snorkeling with lots of reef fish. Our favorite was seeing the state fish of Hawaii, Humuhumunukunukuapua'a. Please see the pictures I've uploaded. The hotel never felt crowded, however, even when fully booked. I never had trouble getting a beach chair and loved the hammocks and loveseats. The pool bar had some fire lights that were interesting. The property was in a good, central island location. As for the hotel, we didn't use the bar and only ate in the restaurant once because it was incredibly pricey. $18/person for a breakfast buffet which I felt wasn't any better than a good Hampton Inn free breakfast. The pancakes were interesting, however. They had taro in them. There was coconut syrup. For other food, there are lots of cheaper restaurants close by, even McDonald's. Our rooms seemed not to be very clean. There was nothing specific but the rugs didn't appear to be well vacuumed on any day. The towels were thin, especially compared to cheaper hotel chains which I frequent. There were quite stingy with towels as the hotel filled, especially pool towels. We actually booked two rooms. Our bed was a king-sized bed and we rolled to a hole in the middle of the mattress. Tip: Turn the a/c off or turn the fan to a constant fan or it will cycle throughout the night. Our a/c didn't seem to regulate temp well, although it was fine in our other room. We kept turning up our temp to 79˚ but it was still freezing if we left it on. Despite the above, the rooms were quiet. That can mitigate the other complaints significantly. Rooms were large enough for two people. I'm glad we didn't have all 4 in one room. The bathroom was the older small bathroom with the door barely clearing the toilet seat. There was a miniscule deck off our room with a chest high wall (we were on 3rd floor) overlooking a roof. We took our deck chairs out once and sat on the roof but the view left much to be desired. Not sure how much it's worth to you but if you're in your room a lot, I'd pay the extra for the view. All that said, the beach area made up for the rooms. I think I'd stay again, although now I also know that finding a condo might be cheaper. There are no microwaves in the room, but there is a fridge and coffee maker. The provided Kauai coffee is really good. Don't miss the tour of the Kauai coffee plantation and get some ice cream there as well. We did that 3 times on this trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Coffee Plantation is fun and interesting. Ice cream is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top