$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
319 reviews
great hotel

just about perfect,nice room,great staff and nice workout room and pool area,small bar with good... See full review

  • Tman777
  • May 12, 2014
Fantastic amenities and entertainment

Staff were very courteous and helpful with information about the resort and the island. The evening... See full review

  • Steve1981Laurel
  • Apr 13, 2014
Royal Coconut Coast resort has luxury views at a moderate price
Spread across more than 10 acres fronting Waipouli Beach, Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach has a setting to rival that of any high-end hotel along this same stretch of the eastern shore of Kauai -- but without high-end rates. Surfers will be pleased that Makaiwa, a well-known surfing spot, is right in front of the hotel. But Lydgate Beach Park, with calmer waters and lifeguards, is only a mile and a half away and excellent for families. Relaxed and casual, the gardens, pool and palms at the hotel invite guests to sit back and enjoy.
Highlights
  • Beachfront location
  • Refrigerator in every room
  • On-site restaurant and open-air lounge
Location
The eastern shore of Kauai is the most populated area of the island. In addition to Coconut Marketplace with more than 60 shops and restaurants to entice vacationers, this area is the most centrally located, making it a perfect base for those who want to explore all the Kauai hot spots.
Rooms
The 311 guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach range from 320 square feet to 528 square feet, but all offer the same convenience of a lanai and refrigerator. Room decor evokes the natural style of Kauai with a palette drawn from sun, sea and rich earth tones.
Dining
Voyager Grille is open for breakfast and dinner and lures Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach diners with a Friday-night prime rib and seafood buffet. Open-air Makai Lounge serves lunch as well as tropical drinks and a tempting pupu menu perfect for happy hour or light dining.
Recreation
The section of Waipouli Beach in front of the Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach is not recommended for swimming, although at low tide, the reef offshore forms a barrier that creates a pleasant wading area. Lydgate Beach Park, just over a mile away, has a long curve of sand, expansive grassy areas, showers, restrooms and lifeguards.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/9.8 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kaui Museum (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.2 mi/50.3 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, 5,094 square feet of indoor meeting space
  • A total of 2,600 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site staff to assist with functions
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas and wired access in guest rooms

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach Rooms

Garden View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Pool View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean View
(Partial View of Ocean) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean Front
(Full Ocean View) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0564 -159.3252
Area served
Kapaa, Lihue Island of Kauai Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Aiport-LIH
Area description
This property is on oceanfront, convenient from LIH airport and to shopping and restuarants in Kapaa.

Dining

Makai Lounge
This open air lounge overlooks the pool and Waipouli beach featuring tropical drinks and a creative pupu menu. Open for lunch and dinner. Dress code is casual.
Voyager Grill
This open air restaurant is open for breakfast daily and overlooks the pool, courtyard and Waipouli Beach. Dress code for Voyager Grill is Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (319)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaua'i Traveler
Kaua'i
Mar 12, 2013

Prett Good Spot

Clean rooms, great hot tub, but a bit disconnected from the true Island spirit. It sucks that you need to pay a forced parking fee, and that any other parking is so far away. However, if you are cool with that, this a is a solid place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Papayas is a great health food store just a short walk away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJM in Maine
Near Portland, Maine
Feb 15, 2013

Very good value despite a few glitches

Location is convenient, in Kapaa about 10 mins. north if Lihue Airport. Kapaa has lots of servies (restaurants, stores, etc.) but is not fancy. The resort is in the Coconut Beach development which is well maintained and includes good services at an adjacent resort. The Marriott has a couple of good restaurants and a lounge so no problem taking breakfast, lunch and dinner there. We had some minor niggling problems with the room such as a balky door lock (hard to open) and a nonfunctional (but removable) bathroom drain plug but from desk service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hukilau Lanai, directly next door, is quite good but crowded so make reservations or eat in the lounge. Avoid Wahooo's (a nearby seafood restaurant). Ono's Family Restaurant, nearby in Kapaa, is great for breakfast!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJM in Maine
Near Portland, Maine
Feb 15, 2013

Great value for a nice resort with a few minor glitches

The resort is conveniently located about 10 mins. north of Lihue airport, in Kapaa. The town of Kapaa has a lot of services but is not fancy and suffers from bad local traffic. Near the resort at Coconut Beach is another resort with a good, convenient restaurant (Hukilau Lanai). The resort itself has a couple of good restaurants and a lounge so no problem taking breakfast, lunch and/or dinner there. The beach has nice sunning but is narrow and not for swimming due to surf and a rough bottom; beaches on the north side are much nicer. We had a couple of niggling problems with the room (e.g. balky lock, tub with bad drain plug) but the front desk provided good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hukilau Lanai, at a neighboring resort on Coconut Beach, is good but crowded so make reservations or eat in the lounge. Avoid Wahooo's, a nearby seafood restaurant. Ono's Family Restaurant, nearby in Kapaa, is great for breakfast.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OLLmom
Alaska
Feb 11, 2013

Courtyard at Coconut Beach, Kauai

Second time staying here- love the friendly and helpful staff; the cleanliness of the rooms, the music and atmosphere. Great location on the island too. Lord willing, we will stay here again gladly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss eating at the Hukilau Lanai restaurant next door!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill R
Ohio
Feb 5, 2013

Marriott should do better

While the property was generally nice there were too many issues for an experienced hospitality giant like Marriott. This booking was a 3- night add-on to an existing 6 night reservation. I made sure both reservations were for the same type and location of room. I notified them in advance that I hoped I could keep the same room for both reservations which they were able to accomodate. However, it should not have been necessary for me to check out and then checkin at the front desk on the day following my sixth night (the last night of the first reservation). Next issue is the wrist bands we were required to have in the pool area. And we had to retrun the the front desk daily as they changed the color of the wrist bands daily. Didin't it occur that the management they could have asked to see a roon key. Same story with the pool towels. Each day a new trip to the front desk. How about doing it the way most resorts do. Keep the towel supply by the pool. There is more like the $14/day parking fee. Two night I could't even find a marked parking space in the lot. They were all taken. There is more but I appear to be out of space. (like their lot)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTBeck
Salt Lake City, utah
Feb 4, 2013

Honeymoon

The staff was great, and it is close to the ocean, however the bathrooms are tiny, and the outside decks are tiny as well. Nicely located centrally on the island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honolulu Visitor
Honolulu
Jan 20, 2013

Great Value

Nicely renovated. Friendly staff and overall ambience of hotel is great. Restaurant food could be better. Good pupu menu and best piña coladas I have ever tasted. However the dining menu was not exciting. I ad a Oceanview room which had nice access to the beach. However, the room was dark and sort of took away from the Tropical sunshine feel that I had wanted. Overall great vale for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Must see Waimea and Napali when visiting Kauai

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David 2349
Sydney, Australia
Jan 12, 2013

Very ordinary

Well, first the free Internet don't work. Then the phone line is not working the next day. The breakfast is not fresh and seems like been cook out of prison camp and then left to warm for hours. The service also not great, they don't feel that they need to do much and much rather chatting among themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curi0usW0rldTraveler
Bismarck, ND
Jan 6, 2013

Beautiful property but rooms just ok

The property in general was beautiful. The grounds were well manicured with lots of free parking. The turn-off from the road was difficult to see, especially in the dark. The sign is low, small and unlit. This hotel is right on a beautiful beach, but the beach is coral and shallow. That makes for limited play in the water but once one gets out through the waves there is easy and fabulous snorkeling with lots of reef fish. Our favorite was seeing the state fish of Hawaii, Humuhumunukunukuapua'a. Please see the pictures I've uploaded. The hotel never felt crowded, however, even when fully booked. I never had trouble getting a beach chair and loved the hammocks and loveseats. The pool bar had some fire lights that were interesting. The property was in a good, central island location. As for the hotel, we didn't use the bar and only ate in the restaurant once because it was incredibly pricey. $18/person for a breakfast buffet which I felt wasn't any better than a good Hampton Inn free breakfast. The pancakes were interesting, however. They had taro in them. There was coconut syrup. For other food, there are lots of cheaper restaurants close by, even McDonald's. Our rooms seemed not to be very clean. There was nothing specific but the rugs didn't appear to be well vacuumed on any day. The towels were thin, especially compared to cheaper hotel chains which I frequent. There were quite stingy with towels as the hotel filled, especially pool towels. We actually booked two rooms. Our bed was a king-sized bed and we rolled to a hole in the middle of the mattress. Tip: Turn the a/c off or turn the fan to a constant fan or it will cycle throughout the night. Our a/c didn't seem to regulate temp well, although it was fine in our other room. We kept turning up our temp to 79˚ but it was still freezing if we left it on. Despite the above, the rooms were quiet. That can mitigate the other complaints significantly. Rooms were large enough for two people. I'm glad we didn't have all 4 in one room. The bathroom was the older small bathroom with the door barely clearing the toilet seat. There was a miniscule deck off our room with a chest high wall (we were on 3rd floor) overlooking a roof. We took our deck chairs out once and sat on the roof but the view left much to be desired. Not sure how much it's worth to you but if you're in your room a lot, I'd pay the extra for the view. All that said, the beach area made up for the rooms. I think I'd stay again, although now I also know that finding a condo might be cheaper. There are no microwaves in the room, but there is a fridge and coffee maker. The provided Kauai coffee is really good. Don't miss the tour of the Kauai coffee plantation and get some ice cream there as well. We did that 3 times on this trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Coffee Plantation is fun and interesting. Ice cream is great!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HulaHowdy
Los Angeles, California
Jan 6, 2013

Great hotel in great location

Not far from the airport. Easy to get to restaurants in Kapa'a. Nice jogging/walking route around the grounds and on the beach. Ate dinner at the restaurant on grounds several times. Great fresh fish specials each night. Lunch choices were underwhelming. There is a nice tennis court and basketball hoop on grounds. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. There is a little store with complementary local coffee and other snacks/drinks for purchase. You can rent sand mats and beach chairs here. Recommend bringing your own or buying them on the island. Rooms were nice and generally clean. However, housekeeping was definitely understaffed. There only seemed to be one or two staff for the whole place, which means if you are staying on the upper floors, your room may not get cleaned until 4:30pm. Same problem with bar and poolside staff: you will wait forever to order and they may not even come by to ask if you need anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top