$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

4 stars
650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
191 reviews
great hotel

just about perfect,nice room,great staff and nice workout room and pool area,small bar with good... See full review

  • Tman777
  • May 12, 2014
Fantastic amenities and entertainment

Staff were very courteous and helpful with information about the resort and the island. The evening... See full review

  • Steve1981Laurel
  • Apr 13, 2014
Royal Coconut Coast resort has luxury views at a moderate price
Spread across more than 10 acres fronting Waipouli Beach, Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach has a setting to rival that of any high-end hotel along this same stretch of the eastern shore of Kauai -- but without high-end rates. Surfers will be pleased that Makaiwa, a well-known surfing spot, is right in front of the hotel. But Lydgate Beach Park, with calmer waters and lifeguards, is only a mile and a half away and excellent for families. Relaxed and casual, the gardens, pool and palms at the hotel invite guests to sit back and enjoy.
Highlights
  • Beachfront location
  • Refrigerator in every room
  • On-site restaurant and open-air lounge
Location
The eastern shore of Kauai is the most populated area of the island. In addition to Coconut Marketplace with more than 60 shops and restaurants to entice vacationers, this area is the most centrally located, making it a perfect base for those who want to explore all the Kauai hot spots.
Rooms
The 311 guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach range from 320 square feet to 528 square feet, but all offer the same convenience of a lanai and refrigerator. Room decor evokes the natural style of Kauai with a palette drawn from sun, sea and rich earth tones.
Dining
Voyager Grille is open for breakfast and dinner and lures Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach diners with a Friday-night prime rib and seafood buffet. Open-air Makai Lounge serves lunch as well as tropical drinks and a tempting pupu menu perfect for happy hour or light dining.
Recreation
The section of Waipouli Beach in front of the Courtyard by Marriott Kaua'i at Coconut Beach is not recommended for swimming, although at low tide, the reef offshore forms a barrier that creates a pleasant wading area. Lydgate Beach Park, just over a mile away, has a long curve of sand, expansive grassy areas, showers, restrooms and lifeguards.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/9.8 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kaui Museum (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.2 mi/50.3 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, 5,094 square feet of indoor meeting space
  • A total of 2,600 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site staff to assist with functions
  • Wireless Internet access in public areas and wired access in guest rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach Rooms

Garden View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Pool View
Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean View
(Partial View of Ocean) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.
Ocean Front
(Full Ocean View) Two Queen or 1 King Bed, 320 square feet, air conditioned, non smoking, connecting rooms are available (for some rooms), Outdoor spaces: Lanai (1), living/sitting area, sliding glass door onto lanai and high ceilings.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Makai Lounge
This open air lounge overlooks the pool and Waipouli beach featuring tropical drinks and a creative pupu menu. Open for lunch and dinner. Dress code is casual.
Voyager Grill
This open air restaurant is open for breakfast daily and overlooks the pool, courtyard and Waipouli Beach. Dress code for Voyager Grill is Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 20, 2008

Awesome Hotel Couples

We were offered an upgrade to an ocean view room that was awesome. If you get the option get the best room it only cost us an additional $30 but was awesome. Large spacious rooms and if you are on the top floor vaulted ceilings. They have a map color coded so choose the best section. Hotel had the open air feeling through out. Beds are comfortable. Kaui was very relaxed as an Island the best for relaxing. The largest road was only 2 lanes. Also went to Maui which is like a small laid back city (but a city, not a town)& Honolulu is like being in LA (crime and homeless included). Many seasoned travelers we ran into told us they prefered Kaui over Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the beach and a local shopping center close by (1/2 mile). Shopping center is like a tropic group of shops/eateries very small & comfortable & tropical. Not like shopping centers on the mainland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2008

My review of ResortQuest Kauai Beach Hotel

The ResortQuest Kauai was overall a great hotel. It is in the perfect location to get to other parts of the island very easily and is only 15 minutes away from the airport. The room itself was comfortable. We had a couple maintenance issues but they were addressed very quickly by the staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful with questions that we had about the island. The pool area is ok. There were definitely not enough lounge chairs for the number of people at the hotel. The hotel is right on the water so you can walk right to the beach which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 14, 2008

Good value

The Resortquest was clean, spacious and very quiet. The staff was helpful and courteous. The restaurant was good and prices competitive. Location was excellent with quick access to the main traffic artery. The hotel made for an even more enjoyable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store is 2 blocks, Waimea Falls is 3 miles and the Lihue airport is 8 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 6, 2008

My review of ResortQuest Kauai Beach Hotel

We could go out the door to the lanai which had shrubs blocking the view of the front lawn and the small path to the lawn was too steep to handle for a person on a cane and when you did get to the lawn there was a row of shrubs along the beach front that blocked the view of the ocean unless you stood up all the time. We complained about the lack of view and the fact that the room itself was as far from the services (i.e.lobby,bar,diningroom, pool) as you could get. The front desk agreed to change our room to aa better location. We still had the problem of the shrubs on the front of the lanai and drop off to the front lawn but there were no shrubs blocking the view at the waterfront and we were next to the outside steps to the beachfront.. We also had better access to all the other facilities. We felt the staff were most accomodating in making this change for us. We were here for 3 weeks so you can understand why we wanted to be comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel dining was adequate, a dining room, bar service, moorning coffee shop. Also there were many fine restaurants and also less expensive ones nearby. You could walk to most of them if you don't mind a little exercise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 17, 2008

Good Value

The room here was large and comfortable with a great vew. The bed was very comfy with a thick comforter. The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. It was very nice for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't eat the continental breakfast! It's too expensive. Otherwise Kapaa is a greta location to stay on Kauai. It's very central to visiting Poipu area and the North Shore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 8, 2007

nice room and great location

The ResortQuest in Kapaa (biggest city on the Island) was pretty (dark wood), clean, comfy and nearby restaurants (Kintaro), grocery stores (24hr safeway), an oceanfront municipal golf course ($50 includes a cart) and the airport (but far enough away not to hear it). We took advantage of the laundry room across from our room. It had a the nice new (and fast) washer and dryer. The pool is nice and you can walk right onto the beach (but can't swim there) or take a walking path and walk along the coast. Not a bad hotel if you plan to be out-and-about for most of your trip, We just couldn't do better for such a nice hotel. Ask for a 4th floor room, they have vaulted ceilings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Nov 29, 2007

The A/C

The hotel was absoutely great except for the A/C. it cycled so much and so loud sleep was tough. It was OK because of the views, the restaurant and location to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a fun little shopping area very close. Lots of small shops did all my shopping for gifts there and had a good lunch as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2007

Great Value

The ResortQuest was a great value. We got a free upgrade from a garden view to an oceanfront room. The room had a bit of a musty smell but we often had the door open to hear the sounds of the ocean; and, I expect somewhat of a smell like that due to the proximity of the ocean so no real complaint on this issue. I thought the room was larger than most hotel rooms. The bathroom was a little on the small side but clean and did its job. The hotel provided towels for the beach/pool so that was one less thing to pack and very nice. Also, they have a complimentary suite for use on check out day. We had a late flight so on the last day we reserved the room for a half hour and got to take showers and get ready. This was nice because it gave us a full day to go to the beach and still have a place to shower before the flight home. The grounds aren't overly fancy here but I would say the room was an excellent value and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. While the beach is not swimmable, there are ones within a reasonable distance that are great. Also, I thought the location was perfect as we did activities in the North, South and West so it was a pretty central place to stay to do everything we wanted to do. Also, there are plenty of great restaurants within ten minutes of the hotel. If you intend on exploring a lot of the island, this is a great place to stay. The front desk staff is very nice and helpful. Sometimes service was not so good at the bar/lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coconut Marketplace has restaurants, snacks and souvenir shops. It can either be walked or a short two minute drive through the hotel's parking lot. It also has a general store if you want limited groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 22, 2007

great location

The Resort Quest was in a great location, central to exploring the island of Kauai. Lots of great dining options nearby and close to Lihue Airpot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the waterfalls near Wailua

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 20, 2007

Great location

The ResortQuest Kauai beach was the perfect place for us to stay for our Honeymoon. It's not a big resort but we didn't plan on spending a ton of time at our hotel anyways...come on..it's Kauai. If you are looking for a fancy resort to just sit by the pool all day then you may be slightly disappointed. The pool area is clean but not very large. The location was the best, located on the East Shore because we could travel to the North Shore or South Shore easily. The rooms were very clean and the staff was helpful. For the money/location we were very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top