$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
530 reviews
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Wonderful stay.

Room was as described. Nice partial ocean view. Easy access to the beach. Two double beds. Quite... See full review

  • Dog 22
  • Nov 18, 2013
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
Aston Islander on the Beach is under roofing enhancement project until July 25. Work is from Monday through Friday, 9am - 4pm. The project includes replacing the roof and lanai columns. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 530
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis MD
Nov 9, 2009

Well located, relaxed getaway

Well located in Kauai with grocery stores and restaurants about a mile away. Beach OK for sitting and limited swimming, with protecting reef offshore. They could supply a bit more beach furniture. Grounds nicely maintained and staff helpful and unobtrusive. Room had been renovated nicely with good view of grounds and ocean. One ice machine was broken, but one near guest laundry worked fine. Parking was a little crowded, but OK. Have visited Hawaii 11 times in last 11 years and find this resort good, relaxed, not fancy but very acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Small shopping center about a mile north with a Safeway and a Foodland (local) grocery, two or three restaurants and several variety stores. I think a car is a necessity on any island, but these were within walking distance, and the Coconut shopping center has a few shopping opportunities and small restaurants. The whole island is laid back, but offers a good variety of 'adventure' tours, so one won't become bored. Chickens are noisy and funny, but one of the features of Kauai. They DO wake up about 5 AM !

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Goodyear, AZ
Aug 4, 2009

Good basic property

This is the second time that I've stayed at this hotel (first time was for pleasure). Great location on the beach and next to the Coconut Marketplace. The small pool bar has cheap drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Aloha Kauai Pizza at the Coconut Marketplace has top rate pizza.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gottascuba
Business
Murrieta, Ca
Aug 3, 2009

Great Location and grounds

Great new room. All tile flooring, VERY CLEAN rooms and property. Lot's of dining both casual and fine dining close y. About midway between all locations of the island. A/C worked fantastic with a remote control to change right from bed. From the little interaction I had with the staff they were all very courteous. The beach located at the hotel is not really a swim beach since the surf on all east facing shores are pretty rough and dangerous. I would definately come back to this resort on my next trip. The price was right and location great !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waipahu
Sep 18, 2008

Nice convenient place in Kap'aa

Only irritation was check-in was completed at 3.30p while my flight had brought me in at 1p and not a single room was ready for an earlier checkin. Onsite laundry, hot tub, pool and bar. Eating places have last dinner seating at 9pm. Located between north and south so drive to either end of the island is about an hour. Wailua river and kayak rentals to go to sacred falls or the fern grotto are walking distance away. I upgraded to ocean view - but it was so far away that it was not really worth it. If you really want to enjoy the ocean from the lanai go for ocean-front, otherwise garden-view should be okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wailua River a short walk away - Northshore 50 minute drive , Poipu 30 minutes , Waimea Canyon entry on south about 50 minute drive away.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael
Aug 31, 2008

Great location

perfect jumping off point for any place on the island, and we saw and did a lot in ten days! Room was comfortable, bathroom quite spacious. Our requests were met promptly - a new TV when ours was not working, silverware when ours went missing. Only noise problem one night, people above us walking loud and scraping table and chairs around and one early morning shower. We were in the Molokai building with a terrific ocean view. Room was a bit musty, we would air it out daily, leaving the balcony doors open and the front door open to catch the breeze. Bed was very comfortable. Never had a parking problem. Pool and spa area great to hang out in, fun little happy hour scene at the bar. We used the bbq grill one night and that was super convenient. The beach was deserted, not super safe for swimming but some did venture in without any problems. nice walk along the coast in the morngings to watch the sunrise. Little kitchen was a great way to cut down on the restaurant expense. Get a little cooler for drinks to bring with you. All in all a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kauai Coast Resort restaurant next door was great Trees Lounge behind the hotel great food and music Nice breakfast buffet at the sister ResortQuest down the beach they also have coffee shop

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 5, 2008

Poor housekeeping service

The Islander was a resort that I would have recommended. But after my fiance' and I had a disappointing experience with a housekeeper, and the explanation from the front desk (which attempted to make it appear as a misunderstanding), I was extremely disappointed. To be brief, my fiance' and I had returned from a morning of sunning and snorkeling (great beach for both). The room had not been serviced yet( March 4 2008 11:45 a.m.), and we wanted to shower before heading out. I went out to the housekeeping cart and asked the housekeeper if I could have 2 towels to shower with. She told me if I took the towels, I would not have my room serviced. I told her I had never heard of such a thing, so I went to consult with my fiance' and we decided to take the towels, but I told the housekeeper I still wanted my room serviced. Needless to say, she never serviced my room. The service personnel at the front desk were courteous, but attempted to pass it off as a misunderstanding, after I had asked them if it was company policy to not service rooms if towels were requested before the room had been serviced. They stated that it was not company policy, but maybe the housekeeper had misunderstood. I explained that I had made the request to have my room serviced, but the housekeeper had not serviced my room at all. In additon to that incident, the floors (marble), were only swept twice in our two week stay, and the grout was extremely dirty. The floors should be cleaned professionally by a company such as the grout reaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A Restaurant called Lemongrass. Excellent food, impeccable service, somewhat pricey, but well worth it.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search