$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
494 reviews
Awesome, simply Awesome

Want to sit on a beach with no one around and watch turtles play in the surf? Do you like a local... See full review

  • BILLBENS
  • Jun 24, 2015
Hawaii Trip

The Aston Islander on the Beach was a great hotel. The staff upon arrival was very friendly and the... See full review

  • Zachary S.
  • May 30, 2015
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Property features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Nearby attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
494 out of 494
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arashh
Business
Hawaii, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Medium hotel

We didn't have hot water for 3 days, and the power was gone for one whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some dining places in Kappa close to hotel by Foodland and Safeway.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rangeer Rick
Business
Long Beach
Jun 7, 2013

Construction Zone

The Islander was undergoing major reconsruction. There was consruction equipment every where. My first floor room ratio looked out on bare ground littered with netting covering construction materials. There was no view. . There was construction noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WorldBizTraveler
Business
Germantown, MD
Jul 16, 2009

Worst Stay in A "Resort" Ever

Worst "resort" experience. We had to make the best of it. The only good thing there was the awesome cleaning lady (but she did miss all the ANTS that we had living with us for 4 days). They charge you for everything there, and it's basically a waste of money. We could have stayed in a MOTEL for BETTER rooms and service. They just remodeled?? Right...... Nothing special here. I booked this for our honeymoon, and what a big disappointment this was. The fridge worked well, horrible selection of TV channels... no DVD player in rooms or anything. Don't Ever go here.. you'll regret it... You might as well stay at the BEST WESTERN -- 100ft away, that probably offers you more in a room (free internet probably IN ROOM), probably has well sealed rooms for privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always get a rental car... We searched all over Kauai.. the cheapest way to get a car is to go through Thrifty... you can get some really good rates there.. We payed like 20 dollars a day. Don't let people sell you on more.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location

They cleaned our room they didn't bring us tolet paper, and we had to call the desk at 5:30 am and request tolet paper, 2 days later, housekeeping did not clean our room, we called the front desk and they told us we would have to talk to housekeeping the next morning. We didn't do this because we were leaving that day, we asked for a late checkout for our flight out was at 9:30, and they refused saying the room was already rented. I felt like the natives were very resentful toward the mainlanders, they simply did not like us. I would not stay in this hotel again. If you left a night, when you came back there was no parking, we had to park at the mall across the street. I don't think I would visit this Island again, It was not a good experiende.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 18, 2008

You get what you pay for

The grounds and lobby area of this hotel were pretty well maintained but the rooms were not. We were put in a room that had really dirty sheets, so we asked to be moved. The next room was not much better because we found a cockroach in the bathroom! The sheets and towels were so thin, like they had been reused too many times or just of the poorest quality. They also had very small bottles of shampoo and lotion, and did not replace them until our 4th day here! Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whatsup
Business
MN
Mar 13, 2012

Not that great!

This hotel was not that great. The room smelled very musty even after we turned on the air conditioner. The room cleanliness was also not great. I had to wipe down everything in the room since there was an inch of dust upon check in. They do have laundry facilities on site, however, they are very strict on when they open and close the room. They were down 1 washing machine and 2 dryers so you had to wait for machines. I had laundry in the dryer and was told to leave it so they could lock the door at 10pm. I would recommend staying in poipu for a much better experience. Better hotels and better restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evil S
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 29, 2012

Clean but not well kept.

The grounds and surrounding area of the hotel are immaculate however the rooms are old and visible rust and mold/mildew on the curtains and air conditioner make you question the upkeep. The location is the best in Kapaa and the staff, for the most part is very nice. We did have a issue with the resort fee not being credited after paying but that was worked out. They were upgrading the rooms to wi-fi while we were staying and they came in the room once and called 3 times?! to try to come in to do the install. Not sure what the resort fee actually covers, in anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Pastor in Kapaa (a food cart) has the best, by far, Ahi tacos we've ever eaten.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Team V
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Family Vacation

The hotel was in a great location to see the entire island. Hotel had a market place next door which was nice. Hotel staff at front desk were not friendly or helpful at all. We had read about the front desk staff before our trip so we expected this. Another big point for us was that none of the ice machines at the hotel ever worked, kind of important when in a area that drinks get cold very quickly. Parking was challenging when arriving late to hotel. Probably would find another hotel for our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Business
Southern California
Sep 1, 2012

Just So So

The Islander on the Beach is a very low budget hotel and it's in desperate need of updating much of the items located within the room, like the beds, fridge, DVD player, microwave. The beds were soft and broke down, the microwave took 2 minutes to heat a defrosted breakfast biscuit, the fridge barely kept stuff cold, our DVD player was broken. The broken DVD player was reported to the front desk on the first day, but nothing was corrected. The fridge and microwave were just old and needed to be replaced. The floor in our room from the first time we walked in was sandy, on the second day my husband used the broom in the guest laundry room to sweep it up. Our bed linens were never changed the entire stay. Next trip I will certainly do my homework and choose another facility to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hiking trails on the island are great. Kalalau trail has a beautiful view.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Business
Southern California
Sep 6, 2012

Just So So

The hotel is very low budget, needing many of their amenities updated. The beds are old and worn, the rooms have refrigerators that barely keep things cool, the microwave took two minutes to warm up a defrosted breakfast sandwich. Our floor in our room was sandy from the moment we checked in, finally we took matters into our own hands and used a broom that we found in the laundromat to sweep the room. As part of the resort fee, you are given a card to rent games and movies from a Kiosk, but once again, our XBox/DVD player did not work. The non-working items were reported to the front dest, but were not fixed or replaced during our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are many spectacular hikes on the island of Kauai.

Back to menu Return to top