$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
497 reviews
Great!

Staff was super friendly, hotel was clean and nice! See full review

  • Joan K.
  • Aug 21, 2015
Awesome Anniversary Trip

The hotel was very clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the... See full review

  • moja
  • Aug 6, 2015
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Property features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Nearby attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$176
4.2 / 5 322 reviews
★★★
$99
3.4 / 5 238 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.1 / 5 176 reviews
★★★★
$229
4.2 / 5 230 reviews
★★★
$119
3.9 / 5 47 reviews
★★★
$95
3.9 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$155
4.1 / 5 59 reviews
★★★
$129
4.4 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$180
4.3 / 5 3 reviews

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
497 out of 497
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGray
Couples
Madison WI
Feb 23, 2014

Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is wonderful and the accommodations are perfect for our needs! Definitely a great place at a really reasonable price! We only booked for two nights but because of the rain, we asked if we could extend our stay & not only were we able to...but they kept us in the same room so we didn't have to pack up! Awesome staff! I would not hesitate to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce and Darlene
Couples
San Diego, CA
Oct 8, 2011

Couldn't have been better

The one thing that made our stay extra special was we paid extra for a room with an ocean view and they gave us a room right on the ocean which made our stay even that much better. We fell asleep every night listening to the waves crashing on to the beach, it was great! The maid service was excellant and they don't come around until the afternoon which was nice. The location is great, it is in the middle of the island which cut down on the driving we had to do. If you are looking to get a lot for your money the Islander on the Beach is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai lover
Couples
Texas
Oct 25, 2011

We'll be back!

This was our second stay at Aston Islander. This is a comfortable place that is very budget friendly. It is clean, neat and well appointed, although it is not extravagant by any means. The grounds are lovely and there is easy beach access with a nice walking trail along the beach. What we enjoy most is that it is centrally located on the island. It's an easy drive to Hanalei or Waimea. We will definitely stay there again, and we have sent numerous friends there as well. Parking is the only problem, but the staff is very accommodating and we never had a problem finding a spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This trip we found "Trees". A cute bar that also serves very good food. Has live music too. It's very close!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indiana
Dec 8, 2011

Affordable With Above and Beyond Location

This is our seventh visit at the Islander. We have enjoyed each time...thus, the return. Reason? Quiet, ON the beach, near everything commercial you could want, very restful. My wishes... newer lawn furniture; towel access made a bit easier.... pretty minor concerns, however. IF we can return to Kauai, plan to call the Islander again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent pizza... Brick Oven in Kapa'a

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thesilk1
Couples
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

our piece of paradise

we returned to islander on the beach, as we honeymooned here six years ago our room was one floor below the room we had then this time,. Both have the best "partial ocean view" imaginable. The place to come for a romantic tranquil, vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bobby v's pizzeria's, delicious extensive all you can eat breakafast buffet only $6.99 . His Italian fare was also excellent .

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine M
Couples
Bend,Oregon
Jan 27, 2012

Repeat visit

Same great room as last year(by request) Staff was great,love the location.Maybe you could heat the pool for us older visiters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't need to go to fancy restaurants for great food. Lots of great little places close by.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FancyDan
Couples
Petaluma, C
Feb 20, 2012

Fabulous Kauai Vacation

Great Resort even though no restaurant there. Great ones nearby, Trees and Hukilau, plus Coconut Marketplace Fish Hut and BBQ Hut. Sandi Kato the Resort Gen Mgr most accomodating, gracious host. Fabulous room (205) with direct ocean view overlooking the meticulously kept-up grounds and pool which has drink bar from 1:00pm to 9PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Town of Kapaa is low-key neat country town. If you want quiet commuinity this is the place with lots of good restaurants and grocery stores handy. Trees Restaurant/lounge great food, live entertainment nightly and happy hour every day 5-7pm. Nearby Coconut Market Place has great fresh fish at Fish Hut, plus BBQ Hut also good. Farmers market Tues and Sat, plus Hulu show Weds evening.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CMC928
Family
Seattle, WA
Apr 9, 2012

Beautiful grounds, spacious rooms

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The garden-like grounds were a treat, and the rooms were spacious, with plenty of clothing storage, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with free coffee. The bathroom was large, clean, and had a huge storage cabinet. It is in a great centralized location, so you can head north or south/west easily. Located next to a cool little shopping center, with inexpensive tasty little places to eat, and near a Safeway so you can buy groceries. I'm very surprised this rates only a 3-star average with others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GorgeGuy
Couples
Hood River, OR
May 9, 2012

Slept to the sound of ocean waves

Overall, it would be hard to beat what you get for the price of this hotel. Clean, quiet, attractive with friendly staff. Rented a single queen room. Not super fancy but is attractive, clean and had everything we needed. The location was perfect for us as we wanted to explore both the north and south of the island. Parking can be a slight hassle if you return later than most guests (as we did) but that didn't really bother us. We had a fantastic time and plan on returning some day. When we do this hotel will be at the top of our list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a helicopter ride, totally worth the money. Relax and don't try to do everything.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emsav
Couples
Verona, Italy
Jun 4, 2012

Very nice place to stay

My wife and me stayed at this accomodation on May 2012. We felt like home, and the location was strategic. If we'll go to Kauai, another time Aston Islander !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top