$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
547 reviews
great trip!

best stay, highly recommended! we have been staying for the past ten years and have never been let... See full review

  • Andrew S.
  • Mar 16, 2015
The perfect hotel

This was the second time we stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach and it won't be the last... See full review

  • Will P.
  • Mar 9, 2015
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
547 out of 547
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGray
Business
Madison WI
Feb 23, 2014

Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is wonderful and the accommodations are perfect for our needs! Definitely a great place at a really reasonable price! We only booked for two nights but because of the rain, we asked if we could extend our stay & not only were we able to...but they kept us in the same room so we didn't have to pack up! Awesome staff! I would not hesitate to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 30, 2007

Well Located

The ResortQuest Islander was very comfortable, the room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a table and two chairs; with a beautiful partial vew of the ocean from most of their rooms.The location was very good. It's locate right on the center of Kauai, wich make much easier to acess all the interesting places to be visit. There are several Shopping Centers, Major supermarkets and Restaurants within 2-5 minutes drive.They have a great staff working on the Concierge department assisting you in all your reservations and important Trip Tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Coconut Market Place, within a walking distance from the hotel, where you can find several gift shoppings and Restaurantes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 7, 2008

View included seal on beach

The Islander was a very pleasent experience with table and chairs outside for sunning or evening shade. The three poolside barbaques cooked my mah hi mah hi deliciously while exchanging traveling tails and recipies with other potencial chefs. The pool was too cool and the hot tub too hot for a Canadian from Alberta! Tropical drinks at the poolside bar topped off the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were two waterfalls and beaches close by and the Hawaai Grande Canyon a bit farther topped off by a coffee plantation where there are samples of all thier flavors and a small tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 30, 2007

Close to activities

The Islander was right in the center of the airport area of town. There were resturants, shopping within walking distance. THe room was comfortable, but we weren't in it much. We were so busy sightseeing that although we walked around the pool and lobby and beach areas in the evenings, we never really used them. Nice, attractive, clean - just right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best restaurant we've been to in years was at the next door hotel, called the Hukilai Lounge (spellling?)was delicious. THe Coconut Mall is a short walk - in the same parking area - and was loaded with shops and eating places. Fun. I spent some time there one afternoon when my husband napped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 11, 2009

The Perfect Honeymoon Destination

The location of the hotel was wonderful! The Islander is positioned on the beach in between the Northern and Southern portions of Kauai, which makes it perfect when driving to one end of the island or the other. We did everything during our stay in Kauai- Luau, Katameran Crusie of the Napoli coast, and a boat trip complete with a swim in waterfalls!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed dining at the Lemon Grass. Also, don't miss Kee Beach- there's a great hike back to a private beach...kinda muddy though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 13, 2009

Great stay!

This was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful!! The beds were comfortable and spacious and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. It was also very quiet and peaceful throughout the day and night. A perfectly relaxing, getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is no restaurant at this hotel, but the Hukilau Grill is fantastic and is adjacent to the hotel (you must drive in the same parking lot to get to it).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft.Worth, Texas
Mar 15, 2010

KAUAI Islander on the Beach

Our stay at the Islander on the Beach was a very memorable one, and in the future, we hope to return there. The room was an oceanfront room. What a view! Very clean, and the staff does a terrific job of tending to all your needs. The grounds are in beautiful condition, as well as the pool area. The room has plenty of comforts of home which is very important. The staff treated us with respect and were most enjoyable to talk to. A wealth of information concerning shopping, eating and sightseeing. I highly recommend this Hotel to all who wish to stay in KAUAI. I can't wait to visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coconut Marketplace is within walking distance of the Islander on the Beach. Very good places to eat and enjoy the local culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heart Hawaii
Business
Huntington Beach
May 25, 2010

Fabulous Location

The Islander is a beautiful property. The grounds are very well kept, the rooms are nice and clean. We loved our stay. The Islander in Kapa'a is a great central location for North or South island travel. We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and had a blast. In the evening, it's fun to hang out at the pool and bbq. It's a great spot for people who want to chill and don't care about "super service." It was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food Land! Get a great steak, Ahi or your favorite dish, and enjoy the BBQ's and ocean dining on a budget. ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JSedeski
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Nov 18, 2010

Absolutely the BEST!

Meticulously clean. Very friendly staff. Beautiful building and manicured grounds. Just an unbelieveable value. You can't beat the location. It puts you close to every activity you'll be looking to do. The beach isn't the best for swimming or snorkleing but perfect for sunbathing and getting wet. The best snorkeling and swimming beaches are scattered throughout Kaua'i, and the weather could be different at each...this location is central to all of them. Stayed for two weeks. The hardest part about staying at the "Islander" is trying to wake up in the morning. The constant warm ocean breeze lulls you into such a restfull sleep it's tough to get up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Most people have called it a day, had their dinner and returned to the "Islander" buy 7:00 P.M. That's early for the wife and I. When we returned later then that, parking got a little tricky. They always found a place for us, but it sometimes took a bit of work. Get back before 7:00 and there's no problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeremy in Louisiana
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 25, 2010

Great Vacation

The Experience was great. The hotel was clean and we had a nice view of the ocean from our balcony. Anyone going to Kauai should def. consider going on a helicopter ride. The road on the canyon had great views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do a helicopter tour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top