$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
887 reviews
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Wonderful stay.

Room was as described. Nice partial ocean view. Easy access to the beach. Two double beds. Quite... See full review

  • Dog 22
  • Nov 18, 2013
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
Aston Islander on the Beach is under roofing enhancement project until July 25. Work is from Monday through Friday, 9am - 4pm. The project includes replacing the roof and lanai columns. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (887)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
887 out of 887
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marie, Jack
Las Vegas, NV
May 15, 2009

Wonderful Vacation Getaway

We did alot of sightseeing. This hotel was in the best location to go anywhere on the Island. The beach here is just beautiful. Stores are just a couple of miles away. This was our first trip there, but it won't be our last. We plan on staying at ResortQuest Islander on the beach again. We highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Benicia
May 28, 2008

My review of ResortQuest Islander on the Beach

Beautiful, peaceful on the beach experience. Staff super friendly. The views are breath taking. It is delightful! We had a surprise frig, small sink and microwave in the room. Nice feature as you may not want to dine out for all meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several shops and nice breakfast restaurant across the parking lot.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jul 16, 2009

ResortQuest Islander on the Beach

We really enjoyed the pool, nice BBQ for guests by the pool. Stores near by great peaceful resort. The only inconvenience was we couldn't swim in the ocean next to the hotel because it was an unsafe beach. Although we really enjoyed our stay since there are other beaches near by. Having a car is a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Jun 11, 2009

The Perfect Honeymoon Destination

The location of the hotel was wonderful! The Islander is positioned on the beach in between the Northern and Southern portions of Kauai, which makes it perfect when driving to one end of the island or the other. We did everything during our stay in Kauai- Luau, Katameran Crusie of the Napoli coast, and a boat trip complete with a swim in waterfalls!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed dining at the Lemon Grass. Also, don't miss Kee Beach- there's a great hike back to a private beach...kinda muddy though.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DLKinVegas
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 10, 2009

Great experience

Very happy we decided to stay at this property. Our room was nice & clean with tile flooring, fridge, sink, coffee maker (They should supply extra packs of creamer). Although we did not pay extra for an ocean view we were still able to see the ocean from our room which was great. Property grounds were spotless. We had gone to the front desk a few times to ask questions & no matter who we spoke with they were extremely helpful each & every time-We appreciated the great service. Location is great plenty of shopping & activites nice swimming locations in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark and Linda
Hollywood, Ca
Dec 6, 2010

Fantastic hotel and staff,luv this place

The Aston staff are so friendly and helpful. They are truly amazing people. Hanalei Bay is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Don't miss it!! Mahaulepu Beach is very secluded and beautiful with the lithified cliffs and a great spot to see Hawaain Monk Seals. Kuilau Ridge Trail from the East side is a magnificient hike with awesome views, (rated easy ) by The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook. Hamura's Saimin Stand not to be missed if you like Saimin noodles,they're the best on the island!! Hukilau Lanai has fantastic fish, great service and a beautiful atmosphere (right next door to the Aston.) The Fish Hut has great fish and really great shave ice, get it with ice cream on the bottom( in the Coconut Marketplace) Make sure you either walk or bike on the path along the East shore coastline, the views are incredible and you might see a whale. Don't forget to go to Waimea Canyon and Kokee State Park. Go all the way to the end of the road and wait out the clouds for the most magnificient view of the Na Pali Coast and the ocean below. Make sure to stop at the Kokee Museum ( donation suggested $1.00) lots of history of Kauai and beautiful books, shirts etc. While there visit the Kokee Lodge restaurant and order a piece of cornbread to go, it's the best, so very moist better than Marie Callendar's. On the Westside if you love shrimp don't miss The Shrimp Station, the best Coconut Shrimp on the planet, no kidding ( even says so in their ad)Snorkeling at Tunnels Beach on the North Shore with green sea turtles and hundreds of fish is totally amazing!! I could go on forever about Kauai it's my fourth time and My husband and I love it here!!! Thank-you for a memorable stay and we'll be back again and again. One more thing Brick Oven Pizza has amazing pizza a little pricey but worth it! Kalapaki Beach Hut,great hamburgers and milkshakes. Ono Family Restaurant has the best breakfast and their Papaya smoothies are too die for. Tip Top Cafe has great pancakes DO NOT order eggs they can't cook them at all. Duke's Canoe Club has really great fish and don't miss out on the Hula Pie. If you go on the Catamaran in the summertime Na Pali Catamaran in Hanalei is the most amazing, they take you out on a small fishing boat with about 10 people and you travel into sea caves, it's amazing and very intimate, the staff are very friendly. Salt Pond Beach Park is so beautiful, go there to watch the sunset and to swim, it's never crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in Costco or Wal-Mart and you will save a lot of money. For groceries shop in Times Market across the street from Costco they have the best prices.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Weatherford, Texas
Apr 19, 2010

Vacation without kids

First time to Kawai but won't be the last. Hotel central to north & south, close to shopping & dining. View was wonderful. Will stay here again. Came back completely relaxed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping & dining just across the parkiing lot.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CA
Mar 27, 2008

A great stay

The Kauai Islander on the Beach was a very comfortable hotel, and offered all the basics we needed for a great week of vacation. The in-room microwave, sink, fridge, coffeepot was wonderful, and our room was always in great condition. Every staff member we encountered was amazingly friendly, and the location in Kapa'a was convenient. The only downside to the hotel was the lack of parking at night, but the overflow parking in the next lot wasn't too far away. Also, free wi-fi in the lobby was nice, but it would've been much more comfortable if it were in the rooms as well. Overall, I will definitely consider staying here again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the shave ice at the fish hut in the coconut marketplace. It was the BEST and BIGGEST we had on the island.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freddy boy
honolulu, HI
Jul 15, 2009

great hotel!

great location near supermarket, clean beaches, the room had everything, cable tv was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring your own garmin gps when u drive, will make your trip more relaxing!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sephius
Puyallup, Washington
Sep 2, 2012

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel for equal length drives to both sides of the island. Conveniently Located by the Coconut Market for quick access to both restaurants and shops (within 2 minutes walk). Safeway only a mile down the road for groceries. Beautiful grounds with nice pool and hot tub as well as a poolside bar. Great amenities including complimentary morning papers and unlimited DVD rentals (including all the new releases!) Only negative was the beach, good for walking not for swimming. (Lydgate park a mile south makes up for it though). Overall wonderful experience and would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try chicken n a barrel near the end of Kappa for chicken the locals recommend. Only a 5 minute drive!

Back to menu Return to top