$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
531 reviews
Great location

This hotel was a great location to explore the island. It was clean and the staff was great. The... See full review

  • Newest
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired dcor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make the Aston Islander on the Beach the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Free parking and high speed internet in all rooms available.

Aston Islander on the Beach will be undergoing roofing enhancement project from March 3 to November 21,2014. The Aston Islander on the Beach team will do everything possible to ensure your comfort. The following measures will be taken to minimize the impact of this project on the guest experience: Work will be done Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. " 4:00 p.m. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (531)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
531 out of 531
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai lover
Texas
Oct 11, 2012

Perfect....again!

This was the third time that we have stayed at Aston Islander. It was again a most enjoyable experience. Everything is right about this place. Not it's not luxurious, but it is well kept, clean, quiet and in a great location on the island. The parking was much better this year. It just keeps getting better and better! I do, and will continue to, recommend this place to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabox82
Business
Tijuana, México
Aug 17, 2012

Very enjoyable experience

We arrived at the hotel after a 10 minute taxi cab ride from the airport (very convenient location). We were very happy on the size and look of the hotel, it was nicer than what we had originally expected. Upon registering we were informed that we received a slight upgrade to a semi-ocean view room, which was nice. Overall, the room was comfortable and clean. Big, comfortable bed with sofa, ample bathroom, kitchenette and a balcony. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel would be the fact that we needed to bring a laptop in order to make use of internet access in our room. We needed to go to the lobby and make use of the wifi there on our phones. Not too big of a deal but still a tad annoying. Very pleasantly surprised was the fact that the bathroom had a closet with some helpful extras (I imagine some of them were provided by the hotel and others were left by previous guests) like travel guides, dishes, boogie board, aloe vera, sunscreen, etc. While the beach was not the best one we experienced in our stay in Kauai (rough waves, lots of rocks) it was still great that we had such easy access to our own beach. Do bring watershoes along though! Overall, we were very satisfied with our hotel and our experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying in Islander on the Beach, a visit to the Hukilau Lanai restaurant is a must. Very short distance from the hotel, this fancy restaurant offers great food and setting. Just make sure to make reservations before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erijen
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 13, 2012

Awesome resort!

Great resort right on the beach, friendly staff, close to stores, famers markets with fresh fruit and souvenier shopping! Only 15 mins to the Lihue airport and close to adventure excursions like tubing, ziplining, luaus and more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter for a few days and travel the island, its slower but you get great views of the island and can drive past all the traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Team V
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Family Vacation

The hotel was in a great location to see the entire island. Hotel had a market place next door which was nice. Hotel staff at front desk were not friendly or helpful at all. We had read about the front desk staff before our trip so we expected this. Another big point for us was that none of the ice machines at the hotel ever worked, kind of important when in a area that drinks get cold very quickly. Parking was challenging when arriving late to hotel. Probably would find another hotel for our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evil S
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 29, 2012

Clean but not well kept.

The grounds and surrounding area of the hotel are immaculate however the rooms are old and visible rust and mold/mildew on the curtains and air conditioner make you question the upkeep. The location is the best in Kapaa and the staff, for the most part is very nice. We did have a issue with the resort fee not being credited after paying but that was worked out. They were upgrading the rooms to wi-fi while we were staying and they came in the room once and called 3 times?! to try to come in to do the install. Not sure what the resort fee actually covers, in anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Pastor in Kapaa (a food cart) has the best, by far, Ahi tacos we've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expatriate in Hawaii
Business
O'ahu
Jul 13, 2012

Great short break

Visited here from a neighbor island. Second experience at this hotel and was not disappointed. Far superior to Waikiki and much more low key. Ideal place just to relax and centrally located for trips to both ends of the island. Welcoming staff, quiet location, and good facilities. Small but lovely pool, hot tub, and poolside bar. I was upgraded to an ocean front room which was great but have stayed in garden view room before which are also good. Great value for money. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon Vacationer
Business
Oregon
Jun 7, 2012

Great Value Getaway

The hotel was clean and well kept. The pool was good and kept neat and tidy. The staff was pleasant and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emsav
Business
Verona, Italy
Jun 4, 2012

Very nice place to stay

My wife and me stayed at this accomodation on May 2012. We felt like home, and the location was strategic. If we'll go to Kauai, another time Aston Islander !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A senior traveler
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jun 1, 2012

A nice place to stay.

Nice grounds, on the ocean, decent room. Not great, but would certainly recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shopping next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the Hikers
Business
orange, California
May 28, 2012

great location and price

Friendly staff. Liked that dishes, silverware and cleaning supplies were provided. Microwave was very handy. Kapa'a is in the center if everything so the drive to our destination was never long. The coconut marketplace is handy for lunches and extra coffee. The $10 amenities resort fee is bogus - didn't even use the TV or DVD rentals. Pool, hot tub and BBQ area was always clean. We paid the extra $ for ocean view and technically didn't have one - you need 3rd floor or one if the 2 beach facing buildings. Overall - we will be staying here again and again. Its very convenient and for the price - i can't really complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kileau fish market and pono market place - best ahi wrap and poke ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ExplorersJPCD
Business
Portland, OR
May 12, 2012

Great Stay

We stayed for a week and really enjoyed having coffee/toaster/refrigerator/microwave in the room - saved money on not having to eat out every meal. Met friendly travelers at the community grills. Great place for those not looking for the full resort package. Oceanfront was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top