$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
536 reviews
Ideal for short stays

We stayed here for a night, and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very nice and... See full review

  • Lizards
  • Nov 23, 2014
Nice and clean, free parking

Very nice place to stay in. We had an ocean view room which was amazing for having breakfast on the... See full review

  • Sofiene B
  • Oct 22, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (536)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
536 out of 536
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigEngineer
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 29, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

Nice Location. Great view for ocean front room. excellent free DVD rental service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadad
Business
sf
Aug 29, 2012

dadad

very nice i like toooooooooooooo much i would recommend i love i love i love great fast nice love too much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suree
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 29, 2012

Great vacation for me and my daughter!

My daughter and I love the room for the price I paid. I paid a little bite extra to get a partial ocean view which was worth it. It is equipped with what we need, a fridge, a microwave and a sink. The bed was very comfy. It has a beach front area that we can swim and go for a morning or sunset walk. The staffs were nice and friendly. The place is very close to the airport and there was a small shopping center in a walking distance. We went around the Island in couple hours for sites seeing. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Frank
Business
Moab, Utah
Aug 28, 2012

Kauai Stay

Great. There is no restaurant right at the Aston, but there are several good ones "next door" and many others on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip Line at Princeville Ranch and go through Discount Helicopters for a Safari Helicopter Ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island first timer
Business
San Francisco
Aug 24, 2012

Firs Kauia trip

Fortunately, I was lodged on the 3rd floor (top floor) of corner unit partially facing the inside garden and ocean... Unexpected pleasant surprise; wonderful view from the balcony. The grounds/landscaping were very well maintained. The downfall, no elevator - but in turn of the view/location, no big deal. The room was clean, and the hotel staff maintained it daily -- it looked great. The only minor problem was the plumbing; very loud noise coming from the water running, e..g, when neighbors turned on the water for showers, the pressure coming through the pipes made a very loud noise (sounding like a low grade drill).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabox82
Business
Tijuana, México
Aug 17, 2012

Very enjoyable experience

We arrived at the hotel after a 10 minute taxi cab ride from the airport (very convenient location). We were very happy on the size and look of the hotel, it was nicer than what we had originally expected. Upon registering we were informed that we received a slight upgrade to a semi-ocean view room, which was nice. Overall, the room was comfortable and clean. Big, comfortable bed with sofa, ample bathroom, kitchenette and a balcony. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel would be the fact that we needed to bring a laptop in order to make use of internet access in our room. We needed to go to the lobby and make use of the wifi there on our phones. Not too big of a deal but still a tad annoying. Very pleasantly surprised was the fact that the bathroom had a closet with some helpful extras (I imagine some of them were provided by the hotel and others were left by previous guests) like travel guides, dishes, boogie board, aloe vera, sunscreen, etc. While the beach was not the best one we experienced in our stay in Kauai (rough waves, lots of rocks) it was still great that we had such easy access to our own beach. Do bring watershoes along though! Overall, we were very satisfied with our hotel and our experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying in Islander on the Beach, a visit to the Hukilau Lanai restaurant is a must. Very short distance from the hotel, this fancy restaurant offers great food and setting. Just make sure to make reservations before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erijen
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 13, 2012

Awesome resort!

Great resort right on the beach, friendly staff, close to stores, famers markets with fresh fruit and souvenier shopping! Only 15 mins to the Lihue airport and close to adventure excursions like tubing, ziplining, luaus and more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter for a few days and travel the island, its slower but you get great views of the island and can drive past all the traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Team V
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Family Vacation

The hotel was in a great location to see the entire island. Hotel had a market place next door which was nice. Hotel staff at front desk were not friendly or helpful at all. We had read about the front desk staff before our trip so we expected this. Another big point for us was that none of the ice machines at the hotel ever worked, kind of important when in a area that drinks get cold very quickly. Parking was challenging when arriving late to hotel. Probably would find another hotel for our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evil S
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 29, 2012

Clean but not well kept.

The grounds and surrounding area of the hotel are immaculate however the rooms are old and visible rust and mold/mildew on the curtains and air conditioner make you question the upkeep. The location is the best in Kapaa and the staff, for the most part is very nice. We did have a issue with the resort fee not being credited after paying but that was worked out. They were upgrading the rooms to wi-fi while we were staying and they came in the room once and called 3 times?! to try to come in to do the install. Not sure what the resort fee actually covers, in anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Pastor in Kapaa (a food cart) has the best, by far, Ahi tacos we've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expatriate in Hawaii
Business
O'ahu
Jul 13, 2012

Great short break

Visited here from a neighbor island. Second experience at this hotel and was not disappointed. Far superior to Waikiki and much more low key. Ideal place just to relax and centrally located for trips to both ends of the island. Welcoming staff, quiet location, and good facilities. Small but lovely pool, hot tub, and poolside bar. I was upgraded to an ocean front room which was great but have stayed in garden view room before which are also good. Great value for money. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top