$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
585 out of 585
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Independent Voyagers
Business
Sterling, Alaska
Dec 15, 2012

Great Getaway Location

Older, beautifully landscaped, central location near Coconut Market Place, makes shopping and sightseeing convenient. Clean, comfortable room w/mini fridge, coffee/tea & microwave. Laundry facilities on site. Economic amenities fee includes daily newspaper and DVD rental card. Staff was friendly and helpful. Can't beat the value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a "local dining experience"? Try TC's Island Grill. Gotta try the humongous "shave ice" at the Fish Shack, too!!!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PJ'S MOM
Business
BEAUMONT ,CALIFORIA
Dec 14, 2012

PJ'S MOM

VERY COMFORTABLE , GOOD LOCATION. THE STAFF WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

COCONUT MARKETPLACE

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RichBravo
Business
Fullerton
Dec 5, 2012

**** Bang for your buck!!!!

It was a great trip! WOW, I always stay at the big hotel's. Thought I would give this a chance. So glad we did. Super nice. Views awesome! Super clean! I would stay here again for sure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hopeful Adventurer
Business
NY
Dec 3, 2012

Want to move to Kauai!

Great hotel location that allows you to see the whole island in just a few days. Clean, nice little kitchen, and write on the beach. Do your morning runs on a trail alongside the cliffs right outside your back door. Don't look to get pampered and massaged everyday on your beach chair. The staff was great in booking and suggesting different activity's around the island. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tiki Tacos is right down the street from this hotel. They home make everything and this place is a local gem.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sa1975
Business
Seattle
Nov 29, 2012

Nice quiet hotel on the beach

The hotel was exactly what we wished: a quiet place isolated from the hwy, convenient location, kitchenette and swimmable beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BikerDan
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Nov 20, 2012

Great place...except for construction noise

After a great stay 2 years ago, we again stayed at the Islander. Overall, it hasn't changed. Clean rooms, nice staff, convenient location and limited parking. One thing that was not mentioned when I booked the hotel or when we checked in: the oceanfront buildings are under major renovation. That's a good thing. That means they take care of the place. Not so good if you want to relax by the pool during the day. Construction noise is less than relaxing and part of the pool area is cordoned off. We were out exploring Kauai most of the daytime hours, so it didn't bother us much. So if you don't mind daytime construction noise, this place is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick in PV
Business
PV,AZ
Nov 10, 2012

Great place to stay for two for a short trip

All of the rooms are the same size, studio with a mini kitchen. The kitchen had a mini refrigerator, microwave, bar sink and all the utensils to eat with. It works very well for two not staying for a long time. You may wish to bring napkins with as there are no paper towels. We brought aluminum foil to use when cooking fish on the three BBQ's that are in the pool area. The oceanview rooms are really nice as they always have a nice breeze and the sound of the waves to give one a very restful sleep. The location of the resort is a really good one in Kapaa, which is close to the airport, but not so close to hear the planes, and an easy drive to the north coast. Lots of good places to eat and shop in Kapaa also. There are two grocery stores within easy walking distance too. It is also an easy drive to the south or west side from there as one takes 51 south and then 58 , bypassing Lihue. Thesandy beach isn't the best for swimming but we always see sea turtles from the shore. just about a mile south is Lyngate beach , which a great place for swimming, picnic or playing. There is a great area for kids there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get your gas at the Costco as it is the very best price on the island. We bought yoghurt, granola, wine and some othere items for our stay and it was much cheaper than buying a the local grocery stores.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the barb
Business
san diego
Oct 22, 2012

Loved Islander on the Beach

Great room, with fridge, microwave and of course a wonderful ocean view. The grounds are well maintained and the afternoon happy hour was great for a cocktail at the pool. I loved the location, 20 minutes to the airport and great places to eat, within a very short walking distance. I would definately go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai lover
Business
Texas
Oct 11, 2012

Perfect....again!

This was the third time that we have stayed at Aston Islander. It was again a most enjoyable experience. Everything is right about this place. Not it's not luxurious, but it is well kept, clean, quiet and in a great location on the island. The parking was much better this year. It just keeps getting better and better! I do, and will continue to, recommend this place to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trumpetman
Business
Islander on the beach
Sep 15, 2012

nice place to relax

had an oceanview room right at the beach. Beautiful place to relaxe and einjoy the ocean. Got a good deal and would definitely book that again. Aloha :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top