$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
497 out of 497
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Couples
Southern California
Sep 6, 2012

Just So So

The hotel is very low budget, needing many of their amenities updated. The beds are old and worn, the rooms have refrigerators that barely keep things cool, the microwave took two minutes to warm up a defrosted breakfast sandwich. Our floor in our room was sandy from the moment we checked in, finally we took matters into our own hands and used a broom that we found in the laundromat to sweep the room. As part of the resort fee, you are given a card to rent games and movies from a Kiosk, but once again, our XBox/DVD player did not work. The non-working items were reported to the front dest, but were not fixed or replaced during our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are many spectacular hikes on the island of Kauai.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sephius
Couples
Puyallup, Washington
Sep 2, 2012

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel for equal length drives to both sides of the island. Conveniently Located by the Coconut Market for quick access to both restaurants and shops (within 2 minutes walk). Safeway only a mile down the road for groceries. Beautiful grounds with nice pool and hot tub as well as a poolside bar. Great amenities including complimentary morning papers and unlimited DVD rentals (including all the new releases!) Only negative was the beach, good for walking not for swimming. (Lydgate park a mile south makes up for it though). Overall wonderful experience and would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try chicken n a barrel near the end of Kappa for chicken the locals recommend. Only a 5 minute drive!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Couples
Southern California
Sep 1, 2012

Just So So

The Islander on the Beach is a very low budget hotel and it's in desperate need of updating much of the items located within the room, like the beds, fridge, DVD player, microwave. The beds were soft and broke down, the microwave took 2 minutes to heat a defrosted breakfast biscuit, the fridge barely kept stuff cold, our DVD player was broken. The broken DVD player was reported to the front desk on the first day, but nothing was corrected. The fridge and microwave were just old and needed to be replaced. The floor in our room from the first time we walked in was sandy, on the second day my husband used the broom in the guest laundry room to sweep it up. Our bed linens were never changed the entire stay. Next trip I will certainly do my homework and choose another facility to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hiking trails on the island are great. Kalalau trail has a beautiful view.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadad
Family
sf
Aug 29, 2012

dadad

very nice i like toooooooooooooo much i would recommend i love i love i love great fast nice love too much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suree
Family
San Jose, CA
Aug 29, 2012

Great vacation for me and my daughter!

My daughter and I love the room for the price I paid. I paid a little bite extra to get a partial ocean view which was worth it. It is equipped with what we need, a fridge, a microwave and a sink. The bed was very comfy. It has a beach front area that we can swim and go for a morning or sunset walk. The staffs were nice and friendly. The place is very close to the airport and there was a small shopping center in a walking distance. We went around the Island in couple hours for sites seeing. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Frank
Couples
Moab, Utah
Aug 28, 2012

Kauai Stay

Great. There is no restaurant right at the Aston, but there are several good ones "next door" and many others on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip Line at Princeville Ranch and go through Discount Helicopters for a Safari Helicopter Ride.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island first timer
Friends
San Francisco
Aug 24, 2012

Firs Kauia trip

Fortunately, I was lodged on the 3rd floor (top floor) of corner unit partially facing the inside garden and ocean... Unexpected pleasant surprise; wonderful view from the balcony. The grounds/landscaping were very well maintained. The downfall, no elevator - but in turn of the view/location, no big deal. The room was clean, and the hotel staff maintained it daily -- it looked great. The only minor problem was the plumbing; very loud noise coming from the water running, e..g, when neighbors turned on the water for showers, the pressure coming through the pipes made a very loud noise (sounding like a low grade drill).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erijen
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 13, 2012

Awesome resort!

Great resort right on the beach, friendly staff, close to stores, famers markets with fresh fruit and souvenier shopping! Only 15 mins to the Lihue airport and close to adventure excursions like tubing, ziplining, luaus and more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter for a few days and travel the island, its slower but you get great views of the island and can drive past all the traffic.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Team V
Family
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Family Vacation

The hotel was in a great location to see the entire island. Hotel had a market place next door which was nice. Hotel staff at front desk were not friendly or helpful at all. We had read about the front desk staff before our trip so we expected this. Another big point for us was that none of the ice machines at the hotel ever worked, kind of important when in a area that drinks get cold very quickly. Parking was challenging when arriving late to hotel. Probably would find another hotel for our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evil S
Couples
Portland, Oregon
Jul 29, 2012

Clean but not well kept.

The grounds and surrounding area of the hotel are immaculate however the rooms are old and visible rust and mold/mildew on the curtains and air conditioner make you question the upkeep. The location is the best in Kapaa and the staff, for the most part is very nice. We did have a issue with the resort fee not being credited after paying but that was worked out. They were upgrading the rooms to wi-fi while we were staying and they came in the room once and called 3 times?! to try to come in to do the install. Not sure what the resort fee actually covers, in anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Pastor in Kapaa (a food cart) has the best, by far, Ahi tacos we've ever eaten.

Back to menu Return to top