$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
540 reviews
jarek

Great time in this hotel ,this is 3 times we visited ,very convenient location to North side and... See full review

  • jarek h.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great stay

Nice hotel a little dated. Friendly staff. Nice for the price See full review

  • Ron R.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (540)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
540 out of 540
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trumpetman
Business
Islander on the beach
Sep 15, 2012

nice place to relax

had an oceanview room right at the beach. Beautiful place to relaxe and einjoy the ocean. Got a good deal and would definitely book that again. Aloha :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Business
Southern California
Sep 6, 2012

Just So So

The hotel is very low budget, needing many of their amenities updated. The beds are old and worn, the rooms have refrigerators that barely keep things cool, the microwave took two minutes to warm up a defrosted breakfast sandwich. Our floor in our room was sandy from the moment we checked in, finally we took matters into our own hands and used a broom that we found in the laundromat to sweep the room. As part of the resort fee, you are given a card to rent games and movies from a Kiosk, but once again, our XBox/DVD player did not work. The non-working items were reported to the front dest, but were not fixed or replaced during our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are many spectacular hikes on the island of Kauai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sephius
Business
Puyallup, Washington
Sep 2, 2012

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel for equal length drives to both sides of the island. Conveniently Located by the Coconut Market for quick access to both restaurants and shops (within 2 minutes walk). Safeway only a mile down the road for groceries. Beautiful grounds with nice pool and hot tub as well as a poolside bar. Great amenities including complimentary morning papers and unlimited DVD rentals (including all the new releases!) Only negative was the beach, good for walking not for swimming. (Lydgate park a mile south makes up for it though). Overall wonderful experience and would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try chicken n a barrel near the end of Kappa for chicken the locals recommend. Only a 5 minute drive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Business
Southern California
Sep 1, 2012

Just So So

The Islander on the Beach is a very low budget hotel and it's in desperate need of updating much of the items located within the room, like the beds, fridge, DVD player, microwave. The beds were soft and broke down, the microwave took 2 minutes to heat a defrosted breakfast biscuit, the fridge barely kept stuff cold, our DVD player was broken. The broken DVD player was reported to the front desk on the first day, but nothing was corrected. The fridge and microwave were just old and needed to be replaced. The floor in our room from the first time we walked in was sandy, on the second day my husband used the broom in the guest laundry room to sweep it up. Our bed linens were never changed the entire stay. Next trip I will certainly do my homework and choose another facility to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hiking trails on the island are great. Kalalau trail has a beautiful view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigEngineer
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 29, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

Nice Location. Great view for ocean front room. excellent free DVD rental service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadad
Business
sf
Aug 29, 2012

dadad

very nice i like toooooooooooooo much i would recommend i love i love i love great fast nice love too much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suree
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 29, 2012

Great vacation for me and my daughter!

My daughter and I love the room for the price I paid. I paid a little bite extra to get a partial ocean view which was worth it. It is equipped with what we need, a fridge, a microwave and a sink. The bed was very comfy. It has a beach front area that we can swim and go for a morning or sunset walk. The staffs were nice and friendly. The place is very close to the airport and there was a small shopping center in a walking distance. We went around the Island in couple hours for sites seeing. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Frank
Business
Moab, Utah
Aug 28, 2012

Kauai Stay

Great. There is no restaurant right at the Aston, but there are several good ones "next door" and many others on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip Line at Princeville Ranch and go through Discount Helicopters for a Safari Helicopter Ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island first timer
Business
San Francisco
Aug 24, 2012

Firs Kauia trip

Fortunately, I was lodged on the 3rd floor (top floor) of corner unit partially facing the inside garden and ocean... Unexpected pleasant surprise; wonderful view from the balcony. The grounds/landscaping were very well maintained. The downfall, no elevator - but in turn of the view/location, no big deal. The room was clean, and the hotel staff maintained it daily -- it looked great. The only minor problem was the plumbing; very loud noise coming from the water running, e..g, when neighbors turned on the water for showers, the pressure coming through the pipes made a very loud noise (sounding like a low grade drill).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabox82
Business
Tijuana, México
Aug 17, 2012

Very enjoyable experience

We arrived at the hotel after a 10 minute taxi cab ride from the airport (very convenient location). We were very happy on the size and look of the hotel, it was nicer than what we had originally expected. Upon registering we were informed that we received a slight upgrade to a semi-ocean view room, which was nice. Overall, the room was comfortable and clean. Big, comfortable bed with sofa, ample bathroom, kitchenette and a balcony. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel would be the fact that we needed to bring a laptop in order to make use of internet access in our room. We needed to go to the lobby and make use of the wifi there on our phones. Not too big of a deal but still a tad annoying. Very pleasantly surprised was the fact that the bathroom had a closet with some helpful extras (I imagine some of them were provided by the hotel and others were left by previous guests) like travel guides, dishes, boogie board, aloe vera, sunscreen, etc. While the beach was not the best one we experienced in our stay in Kauai (rough waves, lots of rocks) it was still great that we had such easy access to our own beach. Do bring watershoes along though! Overall, we were very satisfied with our hotel and our experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying in Islander on the Beach, a visit to the Hukilau Lanai restaurant is a must. Very short distance from the hotel, this fancy restaurant offers great food and setting. Just make sure to make reservations before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top