$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
494 out of 494
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PJ'S MOM
BEAUMONT ,CALIFORIA
Dec 14, 2012

PJ'S MOM

VERY COMFORTABLE , GOOD LOCATION. THE STAFF WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

COCONUT MARKETPLACE

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FancyDan
Business
Petaluma, C
Feb 28, 2013

Enjoyed our hotel AGAIN for 4th time.

Two great weeks ASTON. Upgraded us Partial Ocean to Ocean View.ICLEAN grounds & pool Desk staff needs schooling on pleasant look - no smiles . No restaurant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 grand restaurants next door, with great food . "TREES" is best! w/great food and drinks, entertainment every night M-Sat.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CelloIxoye
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 23, 2013

Honeymooners Beware

Our first night in Kauai on our honeymoon was a disaster. Coming in on a late flight, we went to the hotel ready to relax and sleep until we found out that the hotel had overbooked. As a result, we were sent to an awful nearby hotel where we had additional problems. When we arrived at this hotel we were given a room, but when we got to the room it wasn't clean. People's personal belongings were everywhere throughout the room, the beds were not made, and the room was not clean. When we took the trip back to the front desk, we got reassigned another room, which was clean, but we were uncomfortable throughout the night. The next day we checked out and went back to the Islander. By the afternoon the room was still not ready so we planned to drop off our bags. However there was not a secure place to put our things, so we needed to bring our luggage with us all day. We came back to the hotel around 4:00 PM figuring our room would be ready. They said it was, but when we got there the housekeeping was still cleaning the room. We just kept our stuff there with her as we went to the beach and spa for a while until it was ready. Despite these first two days, the rest of our experience was fine. I think they may have upgraded us to a better room and they also gave us a bag with wine and chocolate-covered macadamia nuts as an apology. The room was great with all tile floors, a great view, and an overall great location with the beach and Coconut Marketplace nearby. What happened to us seems to be common with many other people, unfortunately. Honeymooners should beware especially if they don't want any hassle on their first couple nights of being married. Expect this to happen to you if you come to this hotel. If you can bare the first couple of days going through all the trouble, then the rest of your experience will be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gttt
Business
las vegas, nv
Feb 18, 2013

Not as advertised

We recently stayed at this hotel. We had registered for an oceanfront room but were given one with an ocean view, far back from the beach. We had paid in advance but found out they had overbooked the rooms so we were lucky to get any room. Others were not so 'lucky'. Their computors were down when we arrived to check in, so we had to wait around for that. The agent at the front desk,Tara, was very nice but obviously overwhelmed, what with all the angry guests. On top of that, I saw her manager come over to her and was very nasty. They also said they had no idea about our reservation number was, so we hade no confirmation. I would definitly recommend calling any hotel you make a reservation through this site with and get a real confirmation number. Lesson learned. Gary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FAIR OAKS, CA
Jan 30, 2013

OLD HOTEL, GOOD OCEAN VIEW

FAIR PRICE FOR AN OLD UNIT WITH A GOOD OCEAN FRONT LOCATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

INDIAN RESTAURANT IN FOODLAND SHOPPING CENTER

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estefania Perez Sahonero
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 11, 2013

Good Hotel for a Good Price with Good Location

I stayed at the hotel with my boyfriend. It was our first time on the Island. It was conveniently located mid-way between the south and north coast, so we got to go all over the Island easily (without having to drive more than 30mins at a time). The resort itself is a little old. Its right on the beach, which is nice. If you stay there I 100% recommend ocean front (which is what we did). If you leave your door to the terrace open you can hear the waves while you sleep, which is super relaxing. You will find a lot of families and couples at this resort. If you are looking for a younger crowd, you might have better luck in the south coast by Poipu. Overall, the Island is super melow. There is not much to do at night, so if you are coming here is definitely to relax at night. If you are looking for a night scene, I suggest you go to Oahu (been there). WHEN COMING FROM THE AIRPORT IS A LITTLE DIFFICULT TO FIND SO... once you reach the coconut market, it'll be right behind that, next to the Marriot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hoodatcat
Business
seattle
Jan 5, 2013

Excellent Location in Wailua

Probably the cheaper of the resort hotels in this area, but clean and spacious with oceanside connecting walkways to the higher end neighbors so it feels more expansive and provides seemless access to their bars and restaurants. The beach is not the best for swimming- Lydegate SP is close by. Good location for local bus connections, shopping, and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTGR
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 4, 2013

Lovely time

The Aston Islander on the Beach is a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAHWAY HIGH ALUMNI
Business
CLARK, NJ
Dec 15, 2012

4TH TIME, EVEN BETTER THAN LAST.

I CAN'T THINK OF A BETTER PLACE TO STAY ON KAUAI....SO CENTRAL TO EVERYTHING....VERY POLYNESIAN....STAFF EXCELLENT, AS USUAL....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

GET A SAFEWAY CARD...YOU'LL SAVE LOTS ON THINGS.....ALSO, TRY WALMART FOR YOUR "TAKE-HOME" STUFF...ALSO THE ABC STORES....

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Independent Voyagers
Business
Sterling, Alaska
Dec 15, 2012

Great Getaway Location

Older, beautifully landscaped, central location near Coconut Market Place, makes shopping and sightseeing convenient. Clean, comfortable room w/mini fridge, coffee/tea & microwave. Laundry facilities on site. Economic amenities fee includes daily newspaper and DVD rental card. Staff was friendly and helpful. Can't beat the value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a "local dining experience"? Try TC's Island Grill. Gotta try the humongous "shave ice" at the Fish Shack, too!!!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RichBravo
Business
Fullerton
Dec 5, 2012

**** Bang for your buck!!!!

It was a great trip! WOW, I always stay at the big hotel's. Thought I would give this a chance. So glad we did. Super nice. Views awesome! Super clean! I would stay here again for sure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top