$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
547 out of 547
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Starr Ray
Business
Madeira Beach, Florida
Mar 26, 2013

Aston Islander on Beach

Good location and based on cost met expectations. Need to heat pool. Too cold to enjoy due to chilly weather in Kauai. Really had no use of it. Jacuzzi great. Overall a good hotel to use at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichiC
Business
Fremont, ca
Mar 25, 2013

Great stay

We had a wonderful stay. Had lovely meals at nearby restaurants. The hotel was centrally located so that we were able to explore the island and participate in the activities we had scheduled. Grounds are well cared for. Pool area needs some updating, but is well kept. Walls are a little thin, but since we spent minimal time in our room, it didn't become an issue. Parking spaces become sparse after 5pm or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggbert's in the Coconut Marketplace has the best pancakes and eggs Benedict we have ever had. Our eggs were perfectly cooked every time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfa1six4
Business
Newnan, Ga
Mar 25, 2013

Very nice location

Nice hotel in a great location. Kapaa is centrally located to go either north or south for the day. The hotel is beachfront and the rooms with an ocean view are very nice to watch the beach and sunrise. Truthfully, we didn't spend much time at the hotel. We were always out doing stuff. So I can't comment on everything the hotel has to offer, but it was fine for our purpose. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The rooms have a mini kitchen with a fridge and microwave. You can buy breakfast items at the supermarket in Kapaa and save on your dining expenses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barcelonious
Business
New Mexico
Mar 22, 2013

A few annoyances.

While clean & comfortable, there were three annoyances. The hotel does not have enough guest parking. The air conditioning controls did not work well. The spring on the door was adjusted too high such that it snapped shut too forcibly which caused a deep bruise on a forearm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The island is small and has several beautiful hikes, drives, and tours that can be gotten to quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IanE
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 16, 2013

Clean, well located, but nothing special

I stayed at an Aston in Maui that had a lot of amenities, great staff, in-unit laundry, full kitchen, etc. It was great, so I booked this Aston for Kauai. It wasn't the same experience at all. This is just an ordinary hotel. The staff is ok, but not particularly friendly or engaged. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but nothing special. In short, this hotel is fine, and it has a good location. But nothing really sets it apart, and it doesn't have that special feel that the Aston in Maui has. It's a fine choice, but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish hut in coconut marketplace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wkkk
Business
ohio
Mar 11, 2013

A Great Location

It was generally very good. The service people were very friendly. There is now a $15/day extra charge by the hotel for a room. They explain that all hotels do this. This is irresponsible. It makes a two week stay that much more expensive. This is just plain greed on the part of the system. The local newspaper stated that in January there was a 10% increase in visitors to Kauai (92,163 people). The island has a population of 65,00. All business there is booming and it is due to this fact. Raising prices to add to the profits is wrong. We probably will not go there again (for a fifth time) for this reason. Traffic is often very slow but they are slowly making progress here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FancyDan
Business
Petaluma, C
Mar 2, 2013

Close to Everything

4th yr at Aston Islander, 5th on Kauai. Great location on east side if you wish to sight see. Great place to loaf as well. Shopping for needed things close by as well as Hiking. Mgr Sandi most accomodating. Desk persons need lessons from Sandi - learning to look up and smile at the customers. immaculate lovely grounds, great pool with bar open 1:30 to 9:30. No restaurant, but two next door. Very pleased overall with Aston islander, Trees and kapaa small town atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trees Lounge has fine drinks and excellent appetizer-like meals and entertainment from 5-5:30PM on. Young couple, Mark and his Wife pay attn to clients. Hukalai lounge next door has full restaurant with guiitar or piano. Good food and lovely setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FancyDan
Business
Petaluma, C
Feb 28, 2013

Enjoyed our hotel AGAIN for 4th time.

Two great weeks ASTON. Upgraded us Partial Ocean to Ocean View.ICLEAN grounds & pool Desk staff needs schooling on pleasant look - no smiles . No restaurant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 grand restaurants next door, with great food . "TREES" is best! w/great food and drinks, entertainment every night M-Sat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CelloIxoye
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 23, 2013

Honeymooners Beware

Our first night in Kauai on our honeymoon was a disaster. Coming in on a late flight, we went to the hotel ready to relax and sleep until we found out that the hotel had overbooked. As a result, we were sent to an awful nearby hotel where we had additional problems. When we arrived at this hotel we were given a room, but when we got to the room it wasn't clean. People's personal belongings were everywhere throughout the room, the beds were not made, and the room was not clean. When we took the trip back to the front desk, we got reassigned another room, which was clean, but we were uncomfortable throughout the night. The next day we checked out and went back to the Islander. By the afternoon the room was still not ready so we planned to drop off our bags. However there was not a secure place to put our things, so we needed to bring our luggage with us all day. We came back to the hotel around 4:00 PM figuring our room would be ready. They said it was, but when we got there the housekeeping was still cleaning the room. We just kept our stuff there with her as we went to the beach and spa for a while until it was ready. Despite these first two days, the rest of our experience was fine. I think they may have upgraded us to a better room and they also gave us a bag with wine and chocolate-covered macadamia nuts as an apology. The room was great with all tile floors, a great view, and an overall great location with the beach and Coconut Marketplace nearby. What happened to us seems to be common with many other people, unfortunately. Honeymooners should beware especially if they don't want any hassle on their first couple nights of being married. Expect this to happen to you if you come to this hotel. If you can bare the first couple of days going through all the trouble, then the rest of your experience will be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gttt
Business
las vegas, nv
Feb 18, 2013

Not as advertised

We recently stayed at this hotel. We had registered for an oceanfront room but were given one with an ocean view, far back from the beach. We had paid in advance but found out they had overbooked the rooms so we were lucky to get any room. Others were not so 'lucky'. Their computors were down when we arrived to check in, so we had to wait around for that. The agent at the front desk,Tara, was very nice but obviously overwhelmed, what with all the angry guests. On top of that, I saw her manager come over to her and was very nasty. They also said they had no idea about our reservation number was, so we hade no confirmation. I would definitly recommend calling any hotel you make a reservation through this site with and get a real confirmation number. Lesson learned. Gary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top