$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
887 reviews
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Wonderful stay.

Room was as described. Nice partial ocean view. Easy access to the beach. Two double beds. Quite... See full review

  • Dog 22
  • Nov 18, 2013
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
Aston Islander on the Beach is under roofing enhancement project until July 25. Work is from Monday through Friday, 9am - 4pm. The project includes replacing the roof and lanai columns. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (887)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
887 out of 887
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BikerDan
Carlsbad, CA
Nov 20, 2012

Great place...except for construction noise

After a great stay 2 years ago, we again stayed at the Islander. Overall, it hasn't changed. Clean rooms, nice staff, convenient location and limited parking. One thing that was not mentioned when I booked the hotel or when we checked in: the oceanfront buildings are under major renovation. That's a good thing. That means they take care of the place. Not so good if you want to relax by the pool during the day. Construction noise is less than relaxing and part of the pool area is cordoned off. We were out exploring Kauai most of the daytime hours, so it didn't bother us much. So if you don't mind daytime construction noise, this place is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick in PV
PV,AZ
Nov 10, 2012

Great place to stay for two for a short trip

All of the rooms are the same size, studio with a mini kitchen. The kitchen had a mini refrigerator, microwave, bar sink and all the utensils to eat with. It works very well for two not staying for a long time. You may wish to bring napkins with as there are no paper towels. We brought aluminum foil to use when cooking fish on the three BBQ's that are in the pool area. The oceanview rooms are really nice as they always have a nice breeze and the sound of the waves to give one a very restful sleep. The location of the resort is a really good one in Kapaa, which is close to the airport, but not so close to hear the planes, and an easy drive to the north coast. Lots of good places to eat and shop in Kapaa also. There are two grocery stores within easy walking distance too. It is also an easy drive to the south or west side from there as one takes 51 south and then 58 , bypassing Lihue. Thesandy beach isn't the best for swimming but we always see sea turtles from the shore. just about a mile south is Lyngate beach , which a great place for swimming, picnic or playing. There is a great area for kids there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get your gas at the Costco as it is the very best price on the island. We bought yoghurt, granola, wine and some othere items for our stay and it was much cheaper than buying a the local grocery stores.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the barb
san diego
Oct 22, 2012

Loved Islander on the Beach

Great room, with fridge, microwave and of course a wonderful ocean view. The grounds are well maintained and the afternoon happy hour was great for a cocktail at the pool. I loved the location, 20 minutes to the airport and great places to eat, within a very short walking distance. I would definately go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai lover
Texas
Oct 11, 2012

Perfect....again!

This was the third time that we have stayed at Aston Islander. It was again a most enjoyable experience. Everything is right about this place. Not it's not luxurious, but it is well kept, clean, quiet and in a great location on the island. The parking was much better this year. It just keeps getting better and better! I do, and will continue to, recommend this place to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trumpetman
Islander on the beach
Sep 15, 2012

nice place to relax

had an oceanview room right at the beach. Beautiful place to relaxe and einjoy the ocean. Got a good deal and would definitely book that again. Aloha :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Southern California
Sep 6, 2012

Just So So

The hotel is very low budget, needing many of their amenities updated. The beds are old and worn, the rooms have refrigerators that barely keep things cool, the microwave took two minutes to warm up a defrosted breakfast sandwich. Our floor in our room was sandy from the moment we checked in, finally we took matters into our own hands and used a broom that we found in the laundromat to sweep the room. As part of the resort fee, you are given a card to rent games and movies from a Kiosk, but once again, our XBox/DVD player did not work. The non-working items were reported to the front dest, but were not fixed or replaced during our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are many spectacular hikes on the island of Kauai.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sephius
Puyallup, Washington
Sep 2, 2012

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel

Wonderful Centrally Located Hotel for equal length drives to both sides of the island. Conveniently Located by the Coconut Market for quick access to both restaurants and shops (within 2 minutes walk). Safeway only a mile down the road for groceries. Beautiful grounds with nice pool and hot tub as well as a poolside bar. Great amenities including complimentary morning papers and unlimited DVD rentals (including all the new releases!) Only negative was the beach, good for walking not for swimming. (Lydgate park a mile south makes up for it though). Overall wonderful experience and would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try chicken n a barrel near the end of Kappa for chicken the locals recommend. Only a 5 minute drive!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScubaBubbles
Southern California
Sep 1, 2012

Just So So

The Islander on the Beach is a very low budget hotel and it's in desperate need of updating much of the items located within the room, like the beds, fridge, DVD player, microwave. The beds were soft and broke down, the microwave took 2 minutes to heat a defrosted breakfast biscuit, the fridge barely kept stuff cold, our DVD player was broken. The broken DVD player was reported to the front desk on the first day, but nothing was corrected. The fridge and microwave were just old and needed to be replaced. The floor in our room from the first time we walked in was sandy, on the second day my husband used the broom in the guest laundry room to sweep it up. Our bed linens were never changed the entire stay. Next trip I will certainly do my homework and choose another facility to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hiking trails on the island are great. Kalalau trail has a beautiful view.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suree
San Jose, CA
Aug 29, 2012

Great vacation for me and my daughter!

My daughter and I love the room for the price I paid. I paid a little bite extra to get a partial ocean view which was worth it. It is equipped with what we need, a fridge, a microwave and a sink. The bed was very comfy. It has a beach front area that we can swim and go for a morning or sunset walk. The staffs were nice and friendly. The place is very close to the airport and there was a small shopping center in a walking distance. We went around the Island in couple hours for sites seeing. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadad
sf
Aug 29, 2012

dadad

very nice i like toooooooooooooo much i would recommend i love i love i love great fast nice love too much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top