$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
535 reviews
Ideal for short stays

We stayed here for a night, and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very nice and... See full review

  • Lizards
  • Nov 23, 2014
Nice and clean, free parking

Very nice place to stay in. We had an ocean view room which was amazing for having breakfast on the... See full review

  • Sofiene B
  • Oct 22, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (535)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
535 out of 535
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTGR
Wisconsin
Jan 4, 2013

Lovely time

The Aston Islander on the Beach is a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichiC
Business
Fremont, ca
Mar 25, 2013

Great stay

We had a wonderful stay. Had lovely meals at nearby restaurants. The hotel was centrally located so that we were able to explore the island and participate in the activities we had scheduled. Grounds are well cared for. Pool area needs some updating, but is well kept. Walls are a little thin, but since we spent minimal time in our room, it didn't become an issue. Parking spaces become sparse after 5pm or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggbert's in the Coconut Marketplace has the best pancakes and eggs Benedict we have ever had. Our eggs were perfectly cooked every time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfa1six4
Business
Newnan, Ga
Mar 25, 2013

Very nice location

Nice hotel in a great location. Kapaa is centrally located to go either north or south for the day. The hotel is beachfront and the rooms with an ocean view are very nice to watch the beach and sunrise. Truthfully, we didn't spend much time at the hotel. We were always out doing stuff. So I can't comment on everything the hotel has to offer, but it was fine for our purpose. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The rooms have a mini kitchen with a fridge and microwave. You can buy breakfast items at the supermarket in Kapaa and save on your dining expenses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barcelonious
Business
New Mexico
Mar 22, 2013

A few annoyances.

While clean & comfortable, there were three annoyances. The hotel does not have enough guest parking. The air conditioning controls did not work well. The spring on the door was adjusted too high such that it snapped shut too forcibly which caused a deep bruise on a forearm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The island is small and has several beautiful hikes, drives, and tours that can be gotten to quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IanE
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 16, 2013

Clean, well located, but nothing special

I stayed at an Aston in Maui that had a lot of amenities, great staff, in-unit laundry, full kitchen, etc. It was great, so I booked this Aston for Kauai. It wasn't the same experience at all. This is just an ordinary hotel. The staff is ok, but not particularly friendly or engaged. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but nothing special. In short, this hotel is fine, and it has a good location. But nothing really sets it apart, and it doesn't have that special feel that the Aston in Maui has. It's a fine choice, but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish hut in coconut marketplace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wkkk
Business
ohio
Mar 11, 2013

A Great Location

It was generally very good. The service people were very friendly. There is now a $15/day extra charge by the hotel for a room. They explain that all hotels do this. This is irresponsible. It makes a two week stay that much more expensive. This is just plain greed on the part of the system. The local newspaper stated that in January there was a 10% increase in visitors to Kauai (92,163 people). The island has a population of 65,00. All business there is booming and it is due to this fact. Raising prices to add to the profits is wrong. We probably will not go there again (for a fifth time) for this reason. Traffic is often very slow but they are slowly making progress here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FancyDan
Business
Petaluma, C
Mar 2, 2013

Close to Everything

4th yr at Aston Islander, 5th on Kauai. Great location on east side if you wish to sight see. Great place to loaf as well. Shopping for needed things close by as well as Hiking. Mgr Sandi most accomodating. Desk persons need lessons from Sandi - learning to look up and smile at the customers. immaculate lovely grounds, great pool with bar open 1:30 to 9:30. No restaurant, but two next door. Very pleased overall with Aston islander, Trees and kapaa small town atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trees Lounge has fine drinks and excellent appetizer-like meals and entertainment from 5-5:30PM on. Young couple, Mark and his Wife pay attn to clients. Hukalai lounge next door has full restaurant with guiitar or piano. Good food and lovely setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FancyDan
Business
Petaluma, C
Feb 28, 2013

Enjoyed our hotel AGAIN for 4th time.

Two great weeks ASTON. Upgraded us Partial Ocean to Ocean View.ICLEAN grounds & pool Desk staff needs schooling on pleasant look - no smiles . No restaurant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 grand restaurants next door, with great food . "TREES" is best! w/great food and drinks, entertainment every night M-Sat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CelloIxoye
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 23, 2013

Honeymooners Beware

Our first night in Kauai on our honeymoon was a disaster. Coming in on a late flight, we went to the hotel ready to relax and sleep until we found out that the hotel had overbooked. As a result, we were sent to an awful nearby hotel where we had additional problems. When we arrived at this hotel we were given a room, but when we got to the room it wasn't clean. People's personal belongings were everywhere throughout the room, the beds were not made, and the room was not clean. When we took the trip back to the front desk, we got reassigned another room, which was clean, but we were uncomfortable throughout the night. The next day we checked out and went back to the Islander. By the afternoon the room was still not ready so we planned to drop off our bags. However there was not a secure place to put our things, so we needed to bring our luggage with us all day. We came back to the hotel around 4:00 PM figuring our room would be ready. They said it was, but when we got there the housekeeping was still cleaning the room. We just kept our stuff there with her as we went to the beach and spa for a while until it was ready. Despite these first two days, the rest of our experience was fine. I think they may have upgraded us to a better room and they also gave us a bag with wine and chocolate-covered macadamia nuts as an apology. The room was great with all tile floors, a great view, and an overall great location with the beach and Coconut Marketplace nearby. What happened to us seems to be common with many other people, unfortunately. Honeymooners should beware especially if they don't want any hassle on their first couple nights of being married. Expect this to happen to you if you come to this hotel. If you can bare the first couple of days going through all the trouble, then the rest of your experience will be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gttt
Business
las vegas, nv
Feb 18, 2013

Not as advertised

We recently stayed at this hotel. We had registered for an oceanfront room but were given one with an ocean view, far back from the beach. We had paid in advance but found out they had overbooked the rooms so we were lucky to get any room. Others were not so 'lucky'. Their computors were down when we arrived to check in, so we had to wait around for that. The agent at the front desk,Tara, was very nice but obviously overwhelmed, what with all the angry guests. On top of that, I saw her manager come over to her and was very nasty. They also said they had no idea about our reservation number was, so we hade no confirmation. I would definitly recommend calling any hotel you make a reservation through this site with and get a real confirmation number. Lesson learned. Gary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stewie Griffin
Business
Phx, AZ
Feb 7, 2013

Nice Place for the money

We were surprised at the place of the hotel, right on the beach. The staff was very friendly. We did find out that every condo (room) is independently owned, so some rooms may differ in decor and amenities. A bit disappointed that we paid for an ocean view room, but although we could see the ocean, it was at a bit of an angle to see it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The brick oven pizza place down the street was real good. And take advantage of the island's costco, for food, eats and gas, if your a member

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top