$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
540 reviews
jarek

Great time in this hotel ,this is 3 times we visited ,very convenient location to North side and... See full review

  • jarek h.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great stay

Nice hotel a little dated. Friendly staff. Nice for the price See full review

  • Ron R.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (540)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
540 out of 540
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTGR
Wisconsin
Jan 4, 2013

Lovely time

The Aston Islander on the Beach is a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darren P
Business
Las Vegas
May 7, 2013

Second time here, NO REGRETS!!

This was our second trip to the hotel and we still love the hotel and staff! Front desk staff was warm with aloha spirit! Hotel has a beautiful location and beautiful grounds. Centrally located on the island in Kapaa, which is great because its close to most outdoor activities and sites! There's no restaurant on property but a lot of great restaurants in walking distance or a very short drive. The pool bar is a great attraction on the island!! Best piña coladas on the island... Trust me. Jason our bartender is definately the best we've ever come across in our 8 trips to the islands over the past 4 years! Stay here! you'll love it, especially if you want that local feel and charm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of good eats nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forrest Mars
Business
Denver
Apr 14, 2013

POOR staffing at best

I tried to fix issues by speaking with the manager and I left several messages for her to call me. She never did call me back. We had to move out of the rooms in the middle of the night. (I took my mother of 73 years old, and I had to move two rooms without any warning due to the fact the owner was coming in and I had to move out (Heck they locked us out of the rooms.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont be cheap and stay at the hotel next door. (they bent over backward to make the trip good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two J's
Business
Stevens Point, WI
Apr 5, 2013

Would stay again!

Wonderful location. Comfortable and clean. An overall enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Starr Ray
Business
Madeira Beach, Florida
Mar 26, 2013

Aston Islander on Beach

Good location and based on cost met expectations. Need to heat pool. Too cold to enjoy due to chilly weather in Kauai. Really had no use of it. Jacuzzi great. Overall a good hotel to use at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichiC
Business
Fremont, ca
Mar 25, 2013

Great stay

We had a wonderful stay. Had lovely meals at nearby restaurants. The hotel was centrally located so that we were able to explore the island and participate in the activities we had scheduled. Grounds are well cared for. Pool area needs some updating, but is well kept. Walls are a little thin, but since we spent minimal time in our room, it didn't become an issue. Parking spaces become sparse after 5pm or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggbert's in the Coconut Marketplace has the best pancakes and eggs Benedict we have ever had. Our eggs were perfectly cooked every time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfa1six4
Business
Newnan, Ga
Mar 25, 2013

Very nice location

Nice hotel in a great location. Kapaa is centrally located to go either north or south for the day. The hotel is beachfront and the rooms with an ocean view are very nice to watch the beach and sunrise. Truthfully, we didn't spend much time at the hotel. We were always out doing stuff. So I can't comment on everything the hotel has to offer, but it was fine for our purpose. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The rooms have a mini kitchen with a fridge and microwave. You can buy breakfast items at the supermarket in Kapaa and save on your dining expenses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barcelonious
Business
New Mexico
Mar 22, 2013

A few annoyances.

While clean & comfortable, there were three annoyances. The hotel does not have enough guest parking. The air conditioning controls did not work well. The spring on the door was adjusted too high such that it snapped shut too forcibly which caused a deep bruise on a forearm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The island is small and has several beautiful hikes, drives, and tours that can be gotten to quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IanE
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 16, 2013

Clean, well located, but nothing special

I stayed at an Aston in Maui that had a lot of amenities, great staff, in-unit laundry, full kitchen, etc. It was great, so I booked this Aston for Kauai. It wasn't the same experience at all. This is just an ordinary hotel. The staff is ok, but not particularly friendly or engaged. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but nothing special. In short, this hotel is fine, and it has a good location. But nothing really sets it apart, and it doesn't have that special feel that the Aston in Maui has. It's a fine choice, but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish hut in coconut marketplace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wkkk
Business
ohio
Mar 11, 2013

A Great Location

It was generally very good. The service people were very friendly. There is now a $15/day extra charge by the hotel for a room. They explain that all hotels do this. This is irresponsible. It makes a two week stay that much more expensive. This is just plain greed on the part of the system. The local newspaper stated that in January there was a 10% increase in visitors to Kauai (92,163 people). The island has a population of 65,00. All business there is booming and it is due to this fact. Raising prices to add to the profits is wrong. We probably will not go there again (for a fifth time) for this reason. Traffic is often very slow but they are slowly making progress here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FancyDan
Business
Petaluma, C
Mar 2, 2013

Close to Everything

4th yr at Aston Islander, 5th on Kauai. Great location on east side if you wish to sight see. Great place to loaf as well. Shopping for needed things close by as well as Hiking. Mgr Sandi most accomodating. Desk persons need lessons from Sandi - learning to look up and smile at the customers. immaculate lovely grounds, great pool with bar open 1:30 to 9:30. No restaurant, but two next door. Very pleased overall with Aston islander, Trees and kapaa small town atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trees Lounge has fine drinks and excellent appetizer-like meals and entertainment from 5-5:30PM on. Young couple, Mark and his Wife pay attn to clients. Hukalai lounge next door has full restaurant with guiitar or piano. Good food and lovely setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top