$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
585 out of 585
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wags from Wyoming
Business
Gillette, Wyoming
Aug 21, 2013

Great location for the money.

Our family of four enjoyed our stay at the Aston Islander. Beautiful sunrises with the Coconut Market within walking distance. Clean rooms and grounds, made it pleasant to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconut Market had a variety of shoppIng opportunities...clothes, jewelry, groceries and liquor, as well as dining and activities all an easy walk away.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wkkk
Business
ohio
Aug 20, 2013

A Great PLACE

THIS WAS OUR FOURTH STAY AT THE ISLANDER ON THE BEACH. THERE IS A REASON WHY WE KEEP COMING THERE. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE $210 EXTRA CHARE THAT IS ADDED TO THE BILL AT CHECKOUT ($15/DAY). APPARENTLY ALL PLACES NOW DO THIS. SIMPLY, IT IS A RIP OFF. FOR THAT YOU RECEIVE A DAILY NEWSPAPER AND UNLIMITED MOVIES. WHO WANTS TO WATCH MOVIES AT A LOCATION LIKE KAUAI? WE MAY NOT RETURN. BILL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blessed by Splendor of Kauai
Business
Maryland
Aug 17, 2013

Kauai Revisited

We stayed at the Islander for the second time and enjoyed our experience. We were disappointed when we found out we had to upgrade in order to be at the ocean. An "ocean view" does not mean you have an "ocean front" but rather that you can be located anywhere as long as you can see a bit of the ocean. We had travelled too long not to be at the ocean so we ended up paying for an upgrade. We also had to pay $15 a day in fees supposedly so we could rent unlimited videos and have internet access in the room. However, we discovered we could not use the DVD player despite several attempts from the staff to fix it. So much for watching movies. As far as the internet access we did not bring a computer thinking we could go online in the lobby. That turned out to be a wrong move because the internet access in the lobby was not free as had been told to us. Despite these inconveniences we love Kauai and hope to be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to see the Na Pali Coast line either hiking or on a boat ride. It is absolutely worth everything. Do not miss the Waimea Canyon. It will take you breath away.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynnibug
Business
La Quinta CA
Jul 31, 2013

Fell in love with the island of Kauai

We were in a room with a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was clean and came with a kitchenette which helped with the cost of eating every meal out. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was centrally located and the grounds were immaculate. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LEE2013007
Business
PHOENIX
Jul 31, 2013

AWESOME!

excellent value, clean room, great beach and very central

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UNCCasey
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 24, 2013

Honeymooners delight!

Great hotel! One of the few affordable hotels on the island with direct beach access. Since it is located on the east coast, there are beautiful sunrises and you are conveniently located between the north and south shores, making it easy to get to either. Room was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful! No elevator in our building so we had to carry our luggage up three flights of stairs, but this was our only very minor complaint. Overall, had a fantastic stay at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rangeer Rick
Business
Long Beach
Jun 7, 2013

Construction Zone

The Islander was undergoing major reconsruction. There was consruction equipment every where. My first floor room ratio looked out on bare ground littered with netting covering construction materials. There was no view. . There was construction noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Curlyeeyore
Business
Pacifica, ca
May 14, 2013

Don't waste your money

The hotel staff was rude, the grounds are not kept up. I have stayed in Hawaii many times and was surprised at the lack of hospitality on this island. From the rental car sputtering the whole week, to rude people working at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malaysian Mundo Meanderer
Business
Flagstaff, Arizona
May 11, 2013

Good location on Kauai

The hotel room itself was average but comfortable. The room was about a 10 second walk from a decent beach, and the available amenities were sufficient. Really, though, the Aston Islander location (just south of Kapaa and north of Lihue) is excellent. Not only are the north and west shores about the same distance (maybe an hour) from the hotel, but most of Kauai's best restaurants are situated on the east side of the island. All in all, this was a good value hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darren P
Business
Las Vegas
May 7, 2013

Second time here, NO REGRETS!!

This was our second trip to the hotel and we still love the hotel and staff! Front desk staff was warm with aloha spirit! Hotel has a beautiful location and beautiful grounds. Centrally located on the island in Kapaa, which is great because its close to most outdoor activities and sites! There's no restaurant on property but a lot of great restaurants in walking distance or a very short drive. The pool bar is a great attraction on the island!! Best piña coladas on the island... Trust me. Jason our bartender is definately the best we've ever come across in our 8 trips to the islands over the past 4 years! Stay here! you'll love it, especially if you want that local feel and charm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of good eats nearby

Back to menu Return to top