$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
527 reviews
Great location

This hotel was a great location to explore the island. It was clean and the staff was great. The... See full review

  • Newest
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • The hotel is undergoing a Roofing Enhancement Project which includes installation of new railings and painting of building exteriors until 21 November 2014 (subject to change). Work will be done from Mondays to Fridays, 9 AM to 5 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Nov 27, 2008

well maintained

Our stay at that hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best vegetarian restaurant is Blossoming lotus

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque
Nov 25, 2008

Real comfy

The room we had at the ResortQuest Islander was very nice for the money. As we were there for a week, the mini-kitchen was really nice to store and make snacks and simple meals..a money saver. There was no really good dining within walking distance, but we did find a good breakfast place in the adjacent shopping center. Parking was croweded but adequate. The hot tub jets broke, but the maintenance team was quick to address the problem. The view was fantastic, the facility was well kept, and the maid service was exceptional. The chickens and resident Kitty were fun to watch from the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The regular grocery store is only a few blocks from the hotel and much cheaper than the convenience store nearby.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gentry
Nov 19, 2008

My review of ResortQuest Islander on the Beach

This was our fourth time to stay here. We like the location and seems to be still a good value. However, they need to replace the mattresses. Also this year, they discontinued providing lounge chairs available on the beach as the neighboring properties still do. Coffee in the lobby was also stopped this year. These changes will make us seriously consider other places in the future. These seem to be a management decision to cut cost, but they may end up saving pennies and losing guests and dollars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 18, 2008

Great place but bad service this time

We stayed here in 2006 so we decided to stay again because everything was great- Great location, good value, EXTREMELY clean, nice pool & views & friendly helpful staff. However this stay in 2008 was all good except for 2 check in staff (one was a manager)! They were so unhelpful & unfriendly & even reluctant to let us PURCHASE an upgrade & were overall very difficult to deal with and wouldn't give us the owners information to make a complaint. So because there was some tension we felt so awkward to all when we needed more pool towels & batteries for the TV remote, etc so we didn't feel totally at ease there. If I'm spending hundreds of dollars I at least expect to be treated with dignity & feel that my reasonable requests should be made available. The check out staff was very friendly though & the housekeeping staff were friendly & left the rooms spotless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coconut Mareket Place has a good little food stand called Harley's that has the best Beef Dip sandwich!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Nov 3, 2008

Kapaa Paradise!

Islander on the Beach was exactly what I was looking for. Great Price with a central location. Islander on the Beach was the nicest place for the $$. Kauai is such a Beautiful Island. I can't wait to go back and will always stay at Islander on the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the town of Hanalei and have Breakfast at Java Kai then head to the Awesome Beaches Kaui can offer!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blaine
Oct 21, 2008

We've found the hotel was an excellent choice, for location and price.

The hotel was very easy to find, location is excellent as well, just on the beach. Room was clean and quiet. The price was right. For sure I would recommend to others and we plan to revisit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shopping mall close by as well as other dining places.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Oct 21, 2008

Exactly what we wanted

This hotel was perfect for my partner and I. The room had all that we needed. The grounds were beautiful and had a very intimate feeling. The view was great. The Coconut Grove shopping across the street had places to eat. We actually ate out only twice in 8 nights. We would usually pickup something on the way back to the hotel each evening and eat on the balcony. We would definitely say here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vernon
Oct 4, 2008

Good Value

The Islander on the BEACH WAS A good, clean, well kept resort. Bed was good, bathroom was large and the towels were of good quality. Eggberts for breakfast was great and is only a 5 minute walk across the parking lot to the Coconut Market Place. My only complaint was there was no reasonably priced restaurants near the resort for lunch or dinner. I would recommend this resort to anyone that wants a quiet week on Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waipahu
Sep 18, 2008

Nice convenient place in Kap'aa

Only irritation was check-in was completed at 3.30p while my flight had brought me in at 1p and not a single room was ready for an earlier checkin. Onsite laundry, hot tub, pool and bar. Eating places have last dinner seating at 9pm. Located between north and south so drive to either end of the island is about an hour. Wailua river and kayak rentals to go to sacred falls or the fern grotto are walking distance away. I upgraded to ocean view - but it was so far away that it was not really worth it. If you really want to enjoy the ocean from the lanai go for ocean-front, otherwise garden-view should be okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wailua River a short walk away - Northshore 50 minute drive , Poipu 30 minutes , Waimea Canyon entry on south about 50 minute drive away.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael
Aug 31, 2008

Great location

perfect jumping off point for any place on the island, and we saw and did a lot in ten days! Room was comfortable, bathroom quite spacious. Our requests were met promptly - a new TV when ours was not working, silverware when ours went missing. Only noise problem one night, people above us walking loud and scraping table and chairs around and one early morning shower. We were in the Molokai building with a terrific ocean view. Room was a bit musty, we would air it out daily, leaving the balcony doors open and the front door open to catch the breeze. Bed was very comfortable. Never had a parking problem. Pool and spa area great to hang out in, fun little happy hour scene at the bar. We used the bbq grill one night and that was super convenient. The beach was deserted, not super safe for swimming but some did venture in without any problems. nice walk along the coast in the morngings to watch the sunrise. Little kitchen was a great way to cut down on the restaurant expense. Get a little cooler for drinks to bring with you. All in all a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kauai Coast Resort restaurant next door was great Trees Lounge behind the hotel great food and music Nice breakfast buffet at the sister ResortQuest down the beach they also have coffee shop

Back to menu Return to top

Change search