$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
584 out of 584
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josiegirl97
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 9, 2009

Wonderful beach front location!

We just came home from a wonderful stay on Kauai. We had a great stay at the Islander on the Beach. It is a beautiful plantation style property. We had an ocean front room with an amazing view of the ocean. The property has a wonderful relaxing feel to it. The property does not have it's own restaurant - but there are restaurants within walking distance plus sundries shops nearby. It has a great central location on the Coconut Coast. The location made trips to both the north shore & the Poipu area very convenient. We will definitely be going back in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad and Mom on vacation
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jul 9, 2009

Great location for day trips, beach view

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed both visits, 11 days and 14 days. We love watching the waves roll in at the beach which is so close. (not a good swimming beach) The grounds are very clean and the staff was friendly, free internet was available in the lobby, the location is very central to going to the north or south. We like that it is not a big hotel complex but a small group of buildings. This is not a resort! Only small problem is running out of parking at night, but no big deal. I love Kealia beach which is just a few miles north for boogie-boarding. We will stay there again, I just hope it's not too many years before I get back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We really love the Hukilau Lanai which is next door in the Beachboy hotel. I wish I could have gone there every night but only made it twice each trip.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Angeles, Wa
Jul 6, 2009

ResortQuest Isalner on the Beach

The price was right. Location was good. Gardens were beautiful. I wish I could have had a couch to watch t.v. from when I needed a break from the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to the grocery store and save money by eating in. Most all the condos/hotels have bbq for guests use.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Twin Falls, ID
Jul 5, 2009

Good value bad parking

got in after 9pm. No parking available and the only suggestion was to park at the coconut marketplace and move the car before 8am. The rest of the days we were in by 5pm and didn't have problems with parking. This is a quiet, clean place, right on the beach. We were advised not to snorkel due to rip tides, but saw several snorkeling anyway. We went to Costco on the first day and got a $15 beach umbrella for shade at several beaches on the island. The beach here has trees and you can find shade most days. There are plates, bowls, glasses, cups and minimal silverware. They also have a couple of knives for cutting up pineapple. No storage bowls, so take a few ziplock bags. Yes, there are chickens everywhere and they do crow, but we were never bothered by the noise. We were on the top floor. No elevators, but the stairs are wide and easy to navigate. We would definately stay here again. This might be hard to find if you don't know it is behind the coconut marketplace. (Get the Ultimate Kauai Guidebook- Costco or everywhere on the Island)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommy Joy
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 29, 2009

Family Friendly =)

We paid for a partial view and that's what we got. There was a kitchenette in our room and we enjoyed it. We saved a lot of money on dining by buying groceries from the supermarket up the road and eating in our room and traveling during the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. The only thing that was missing was a restuarant but we dealt with it. Overall we had a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenbrier, AR
Jun 28, 2009

So good we went back 2nd time

My husband and I stayed at the Islander on the Beach two years ago. Our experience was so positive that when we returned to Kauai, we booked in the same hotel. The location is really a good one if you want to see all of the island without having too far of a trip. The housekeeping staff was really sweet and helpful. There is a nice little sundries shop in the center right there. Tell [...] and [...] "hello!".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage: hike, snorkel, drive on the roads even or especially if they say "Dead End" or "No exit", which many do! This is a beautiful island, with lots of hidden surprises!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camoboy
Business
Caddo Mills, TX
Jun 27, 2009

Awesome!

We mainly used the hotel as place to sleep and watch a movie before crashing after a long day of activities. However, the beds were comfortable, the cleaning service was excellent and the water was always hot. I was very happy to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconut marketplace is right next door. There are a multitude of reasonable priced items that beat prices we saw in other areas of the Island. The Whaler's General Store in the Coconut Marketplace has snacks, drinks, alcohol and gifts. Eggbert's Restaurant (Also called Hula Girl?) has an excellent breakfast for a reasonable price. Recreational activities and Snorkel equipment can be rented at locations on the grounds.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kauai super fans
Business
Eastern Shore, MD
Jun 24, 2009

, spacious room, unbelievable storage

Best location on island, easy to get to both north and south shore. Close to Lydgate Park, Foodland is close by; ate half our meals (8 day stay) on balcony with partial ocean view, room was clean, grounds immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lydgate Park is great for jogging, snorkeling, picnicking, great playground and safe swimming for kids.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
griffinsdidaw
Business
Woodstock, GA
Jun 21, 2009

Great Getaway

Great experience, beautifully kept, treated very well, good location for sights and shopping, had all that we needed, beautiful shore line, people there to help you plan adventures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconut Marketplace right there with great shopping and eating.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globie
Business
Playa Del Rey, CA
Jun 20, 2009

Honeymooning - First Vacation

My Wife and I stayed at the Islander for our Honeymoon, which was also our first trip together. The staff was super helpful and friendly. We originally were put into a ocean view room that was stuffy and small. We went and ask about the partial view of the ocean from our room because we were not aware that there was a different between that and ocean front. After clarifying with the front desk we received a no hassle upgrade to a ocean front room due to our honeymoon. The hotel does not have many amenities, which was fine for us since we didn't stay at the hotel much. From the hotel, you may spot some wildlife which for us included chickens, roosters, pigeons, myna birds, geckos, egrets, and toads. You can walk along the beach but the water is too strong for any snorkeling. Guest services was also very informative and helpful in working with us on questions and helping us organize our trip. They also are available to book trips or tours and may get you a discount by booking through them. One down side is that you may see cockroaches on the street, they seem to live in the grass and ivy. And we did have one roach in our bathroom, which i got rid of. The only other down side is that the parking lot gets filled at night but they have staff that help with the parking situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Spend most of your time in the north shore for both hiking and snorkeling. The distance of the drive isn't long but the slow speed limits make it a long drive.

Back to menu Return to top