$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
527 reviews
Great location

This hotel was a great location to explore the island. It was clean and the staff was great. The... See full review

  • Newest
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • The hotel is undergoing a Roofing Enhancement Project which includes installation of new railings and painting of building exteriors until 21 November 2014 (subject to change). Work will be done from Mondays to Fridays, 9 AM to 5 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jericho, VT
Mar 10, 2009

Exactly what we wanted!

We chose this resort for it's location from the airport, and being rougly mid-way from most of the activities we wanted to participate in. It was the perfect choice. We were able to walk to our river adventure, plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We got upgraded to semi-view of ocean room before we arrived (a very pleasant surprize). The room has a sink and refrigerator, so we were able to keep fruit that we bought at road-side farm stands fresh, then prepare them for breakfast while enjoying it on our balcony in the morning breeze. (Buy Hawaiian!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was easy. A short drive (or even walk of a mile or so) would take you to a small grocery store and pharmacy shoppinf center. Plenty of small local restaurants. Right at the Resort there is a sizeable court with restaurants and every kind of apparel and souvenier shopping you can imagine. There is also a general store...we needed an underwater camera because we wanted to snorkle. We found one. As it happens, there is a business right on the hotel grounds that rents snorkling equipment too. The court area is also where they organize special events occaisionally, you never know, you might find a musical/Hula event, or the next day a farmers market. Not all of the stores have "Made in Hawaii" items, so don't be afraid to check labels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Mar 9, 2009

Good Value, good location,

Found the hotel pretty much as advertised and expected with no surprises. ([...]) The room was well maintained, with a microwave and a small sink, and frig (had to go the ice maker for ice though). Room was small but with good storage.What I liked: The smaller condo complex, with more personality and a Kauai feel to it -- it had a more intimate personal feel to the place. The pool was small, but never went in it much anyways -- but it was never a problem finding a lounge chair at the pool or on the beach (which were also provided). Had several barbecue grills, so we cooked out every other night. The Safeway and Foodland just a mile up the road, so convenient to pick up stuff from, also close to the conviences of Kapaa.The beach was nice, never crowded, but not really swimable. Free wi-fi in the lobby. Also, having coconut grove marketplace next door, for some food and shopping was nice. Found the room clean, in good shape, the bed was comfortable.Some things I didn't like: It was a hassle to always turn in towels and ask for a new one as well as barbecue tools. (I know, this is small nit picky stuff). Being able to swim and snorkel right outside of the hotel would have been nice. The front desk staff weren't really friendly when we checked in, but I finally saw on of them smile after 3 days (we were there for 2 weeks), but they seemed to become friendlier later on in our stay. Also, if you come back late, parking in their lot can be a problem, but just park at Coconut Grove next door.Again, the room is smallish, (and when the people upstairs took a shower, it was sure darn noisy), but heck, you've got the whole island as your backyard!The bottom line is, had a great time in Kauai, and did really enjoy the Islander on the Beach, and after looking at some of the other options, I think we made a perfect choice for what we were looking for as our Kauai experience (if you were looking for the Hyatt Resort Experience, then you should stay there). We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, but would probably choose a 3rd floor room (we were on the second), for a better ocean view, and less noise).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midekale
SK, Canada
Mar 6, 2009

Comfortable, convenient

Islander on the Beach was a comfortable and convenient place to say while on Kauai. We were on the road every morning exploring the island and found the location good. It was a nice place to go "home" to relax and rest up for the next day. There are good restaurants and fun shops to browse a short walk away. No complaints other than I would have expected at least a complimentary coffee each day with the provided coffee pot, but after the first day we had to pay for it:) Nice beach and pool area. Overall a beautiful, relaxed and friendly place to visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norborne, Mo
Mar 4, 2009

Old but nice.

Nice furniture in room with small frig. and coffee pot. Had trouble w/ac first night but when we reported the problem, mantainance got it fixed right away. The resort I guess was in the process of changing ownership I was told. I guess this was the reason the hot tub did not work and the furniture around the pool was very old. The staff was excellent and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hiking Granny
Anderson Island, WA
Mar 3, 2009

Location, locstion, location

We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely room. We usually don't care what the room looks like, as we spend most of our time exploring. We prefer to select a bargain. This time, our bargain turned out to be a great place to stay. We had a lovely ocean view, the pool and bar were nice, staff friendly. We were not expecting the kitchenette, so were pleased to be able to pick up fresh fruit and goodies at the many local farmers markets and prepare our own breakfast to eat on our lanai before we headed out on our travels. Kapaa is centrally located and we loved being on that side of the island. It was an enjoyable experience all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
wisconsin
Mar 3, 2009

Great Experience

Great location, pool bar and service staff were great, laundry facilities on site are very helpful after hiking the muddy trails on the island. Extending the pool/hotub hours to midnight would be a suggestion. Very satisfied with stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durand, WI
Feb 28, 2009

Excellent value!

Awesome time at the Islander! Great location. Walking to shops and food places is easy. Not sure why people whine about having to park next door IF lot is full as it only adds 30 seconds more to your walk. You are in paradise afterall, walking a little is good for you. Rooms are clean and quiet. Maid service is excellent. Coconut marketplace is next door with food and shopping. We walked along the beach and found Mcdonalds, pizza hut etc, less than 10 minutes away. Centrally located on the island so you can drive 15 each way to get to hot spots, parks, beaches etc. Staff was friendly and grounds were kept immaculate. This was a great value and we plan to go back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute stroll to other restaurants grocery stores etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 18, 2008

You get what you pay for

The grounds and lobby area of this hotel were pretty well maintained but the rooms were not. We were put in a room that had really dirty sheets, so we asked to be moved. The next room was not much better because we found a cockroach in the bathroom! The sheets and towels were so thin, like they had been reused too many times or just of the poorest quality. They also had very small bottles of shampoo and lotion, and did not replace them until our 4th day here! Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ellettsville
Dec 6, 2008

Dream Come True

We were greeted by open doors, soothing breezes, and gentle waves lapping on the shore. Our room was on the third floor (362). We had a perfect veiw of the shore and water. The room was perfect. There are no elevators, but we wouldn't have used them anyway. The walkways were clean and safe at all times. We loved the crowing roosters and the beautiful birds. We definitely plan to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few feet from the hotel property is the Coconut MarketPlace. This area is full of shops; all types of eating places and shops. There is a convenience store, also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster
Nov 30, 2008

okay for one night

The parking was very inconvenient and far from the room, about a 10 minute walk. They didn't have an elevator so lugging all of our luggage up 2 flights was tiring. The lamp was hanging over by the wires. The beds were very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small shops near hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search