$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
547 out of 547
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rashirley
Business
Pacific North West
Jun 20, 2009

Good Budget Place To Stay

Good location to stay in Kauai for a first time visit to this Island. It is close to the airport, but far enough away so you do not hear planes. It is located in the middle of the islands road system so your half way from the south to the north ends of the island. Parking is a challenge if you drive in to the resort later in the day, due to a lot of cars visiting restaurants and bars in the Coconut Market, which is where this place is at, along with a lot of other resorts, shops, restaurants, and bars. We had to park on the street one night because we got in after 9:00 PM. We had an ocean front room so the view was great. But the partial ocean view, or garden rooms all have little or no views except for a peak a boo ocean view, or views of the grounds or pool itself. Balcony, (lanai), is large enough for 2 to sit at and has rattan chairs and a small table. But the safety posts rails are so large you cant see thru them unless you stand up. Staff was helpful and friendly. No elevators, so if your not fit enough to climb stairs, reserve a bottom floor room in advance. We called ahead and reserved a top floor room, (3rd floor), to get a better view. Hotel is dated, but well maintained. But if your afraid of bugs you may want to look else where, but hey, this is Hawaii, and your in the tropics, so unless you pay for a room at the Marriott, Hilton, or the Ritz, you get what you pay for. Bed was a bit lumpy but comfortable enough to sleep on. Room was well updated with marble tile floor, granite counter tops, and newer plumbing fixtures with a tub shower combo. The room had a wet bar, mini fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. It also came with a ironing board and iron and a hair dryer. And a in room safe to keep valuables locked up. Large enough room for two, but 3 or more people would be crowded. Room has A.C. Don't fool yourself, if your not used to the high 80 to 90 degree days and nights (and the humidity), you will want A.C. We stayed a much more expensive place in Maui on the same trip. At a condo with no A.C. right on the ocean and paid for it with very little sleep at night due to the heat. Resort is on the ocean. The beach is nice, but it has a large drop off and rough current, so do not swim here. Lydgate park is just down the road to the south, which is a very nice park, with a protected swimming area with life guards. It has a great picknic spot, but no consessions there, so go into town, which is also just north of the resort to Foodland. Longs, or Safeway and pick up your supplies for a day on the beach. The AC, clean rooms, friendly staff, and central location on the island is worth staying here alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggberts is in the Coconut Market, and has a value priced menu, with friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronnie loves Aide
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 20, 2009

3rd Anniversary trip

We didn't really spend much time at the hotel - there is SO MUCH to do on Kauai. But it is right on the beach, has a nice pool and poolside bar, and is centrally located on the island for a value price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travels short Notice
Business
Fontana, CA
Jun 17, 2009

Great Budget Minded Getaway

The overall experience at this hotel is good, However the room we stayed in tended to be very very humid and A/C did not do a very good job at removing the humidity which made the room hard to sleep in at night. The housekeeping staff was not as clean and attentive as often they would not pick up trash such as used soda cans, fast food containers(used), and did not replace towels. On the upside, the price, view, and staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is well situated for travel to the North, South, West and of course East side of the Island. this should save you time because all roads are 2 lane roads and can become congested from repairs and traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lover of Hawaii
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 17, 2009

Kauai June 2009

We loved everything, especially the view and the ambience! The only downside was that there were a couple of not so friendly employees and for some reason the cleaning crew never put the drain back in correctly in the bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 11, 2009

The Perfect Honeymoon Destination

The location of the hotel was wonderful! The Islander is positioned on the beach in between the Northern and Southern portions of Kauai, which makes it perfect when driving to one end of the island or the other. We did everything during our stay in Kauai- Luau, Katameran Crusie of the Napoli coast, and a boat trip complete with a swim in waterfalls!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed dining at the Lemon Grass. Also, don't miss Kee Beach- there's a great hike back to a private beach...kinda muddy though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DLKinVegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 10, 2009

Great experience

Very happy we decided to stay at this property. Our room was nice & clean with tile flooring, fridge, sink, coffee maker (They should supply extra packs of creamer). Although we did not pay extra for an ocean view we were still able to see the ocean from our room which was great. Property grounds were spotless. We had gone to the front desk a few times to ask questions & no matter who we spoke with they were extremely helpful each & every time-We appreciated the great service. Location is great plenty of shopping & activites nice swimming locations in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2009

Perfect for Couples

We were only here one night, but it is definitely on the list for a return visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus Oh
Jun 9, 2009

Dedicated to Tourists

We were on our honeymoon...it was our home base for a week's exploration of Kauai. It was perfect...midway between all the activities on the north and south shores. We had a room right on the beach. Might need more parking as we had to park in the coconut marketplace parking every night but one...short walk, but still. enjoyed it immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coconut Marketplace was just across the parking lot...Fish Shack which also had shave ice...and the ice cream stand that we hit every night! Great way to end the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montrose, CO
Jun 3, 2009

Kauai Vacation

We had a great time in Kauai and really liked the Islander on the Beach. It's not the most extravagent hotel, but that is not our style especially since we like to enjoy all the outdoor activities on the island. The small kitchen area was perfect to make breakfasts and pack lunches and the room was very clean. The beach in front of the hotel, although not the greatest for swimming was great for walking on and enjoying the quiet of the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We didn't shop much because we spent so much time doing other things, but we needed to get gifts for family and did not know until the last day how many shops were located at the Coconut Marketplace right across the parking lot from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 3, 2009

Nice location, pleasant grounds

My wife and I just returned from a seven-night stay at the Islander on the Beach. Our second-story oceanfront room provided the perfect getaway. There's really nothing like falling asleep with the sliding-glass door open listening to the waves roll in. We spent a few evenings out on the lanai just reading, watching the ocean and recovering from all the hiking, kayaking and driving. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. The room was more spacious than we were expecting for the great price, and the furnishings were in very nice shape. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable, but we've got a TempurPedic, so I guess I'm spoiled. The grounds were well maintained. The staff was very friendly. (Our main interaction was getting beach towels each day, but each time we got smiles and "alohas".) The location is what makes this hotel most recommend-worthy, in my book. It's on the east shore, putting it about halfway between the sunny south coast (where many of the resorts are) and the lush north coast. We spent a couple of days hiking up north and a couple of days out on the beach and exploring Waimea Canyon down in the south and west. After the active, sweaty days, it was nice to drive just 1 hour to get back to the hotel, instead of two or more if we'd been staying on another part of the island. Also, it's about 15 minutes from the airport and about 5 minutes from the Wailua River, which came in handy when we had early-morning helicopter and kayaking trips. What's also nice is that Coconut Marketplace, a quiet little shopping center, is right behind the hotel. There's a tasty breakfast joint called Eggberts that we hit up a couple of times. (Great French toast.) And I made several stops in at Whaler's General Store for drinks, snacks, sunscreen, aloe, etc. Very convenient. If there's a downside, it's that the beach is pretty thin, and not great for laying out or swimming. (Although, on the whole, Kauai doesn't offer great swimming beaches.) If you plan to spend most of your vacation out on the beach at your hotel, stay in Poipu. But most of the best beaches require a bit of a drive anyway, so it didn't bother us at all that our hotel's beach wasn't the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Hukilau Lanai restaurant at the resort right next door one night when you don't feel like driving. The seafood was delicious and the atmosphere was romantic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top