$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
529 reviews
Great location

This hotel was a great location to explore the island. It was clean and the staff was great. The... See full review

  • Newest
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • The hotel is undergoing a Roofing Enhancement Project which includes installation of new railings and painting of building exteriors until 21 November 2014 (subject to change). Work will be done from Mondays to Fridays, 9 AM to 5 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (529)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lufkin, Texas
May 24, 2009

Good place to stay, central location

As a ocean front room we did not think that it what we have gotten before as ocean front. The grounds were very nice and well maintained. Hotel lobby was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fish Hut was very good food and value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
May 19, 2009

Good location

Islander on the beach was surely a good place to stay in Kaua'i. Right on the center, not too far to go to "Tunnel beach", not too far to Poipu. Great place to snorkle at "Tunnel Beach". you should not miss it! People in Kaua'i were really freindly. We took "7 hours " Safari Kipu Ziplines tour with Outfitters. it was fun!!! Went to Kalamaku Luau. it was great as well!!! nothing to complain about and we're looking forward to our next trip to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconut Market place..... you can find anything .from souvenirs to take home, dining, "great" Lappert's ice cream. Safeway and Foodland were also really closed to Islander on the beach. We picked up some items for lunches when we decided to stay around the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marie, Jack
Las Vegas, NV
May 15, 2009

Wonderful Vacation Getaway

We did alot of sightseeing. This hotel was in the best location to go anywhere on the Island. The beach here is just beautiful. Stores are just a couple of miles away. This was our first trip there, but it won't be our last. We plan on staying at ResortQuest Islander on the beach again. We highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
May 8, 2009

Very nice and Reasonably priced

The property and room were very nice and well maintained. The pool looked great, but the water was cold. Our ocean view room had a great view of the beach and ocean. It was easy to hear people talking outside the room and some noise from neighboring rooms, but it was not enough to disturb our sleep. There were plenty of places to shop and eat near by, some just a short walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. and soon to be Mrs. Bruder
Canton Ohio
May 5, 2009

Good people and great location

We traveled the entire island at least three times by jeep and had a very memorable time. Also the mountain trails by jeep that was fun too. There was nothing missing at this facility, stores and restaurants very close by, beach was a little rocky but we delt with it.It was so romantic that I proposed to my girl friend on the beach , it will be a great memory for both of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

JJ Broiler just south of the airport the meals were great on the ocean side at a table while watching surfing and cruise ships departing the nearby port, all while dining on prime rib or fish both were excellent and priced right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 4, 2009

Laid Back and Friendly

This was a nice place. The desk staff was polite and helpful, the grounds were immaculately kept, and the pool was small, but nice and well cared for. We found this hotel restful, laid back, and comfortable. Every room (I think) has a nice little sitting area outside with a table and two chairs-an excellent place to have your coffee in the morning and watch the sunrise, the roosters, and rest of the island wake up. The hotel is relatively close to major conveniences (grocery stores, bakery, and certain restaurants)-we walked in nice weather if we weren't toting anything heavy back, and very close to a small shopping plaza replete with touristy shops and eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eden Prairie, MN.
Apr 23, 2009

A Friendly, Relaxing Interlude

Our stay at ResortQuest on the Beach was very enjoyable. We wanted a leisurely vacation with no deadlines. We wanted opportunity to do something -- or nothing, depending our whim. We found all that at ResortQuest. Our accommodation was small, but it was clean, comfortable, and well equipped, and the view of the ocean was wonderful. After exploring the area by walking (shopping and tourist sights were fairly close) we rented a car and toured as far as the roads went around the island in both directions. We felt Kapaa was an ideal place to be for the quieter vacation. The island of Kauai is so varied in landscape that we enjoyed seeing barren areas as well as lush growth and rain forests. And of course we took the Helicopter tour -- an unforgettable experience. The Kauai Museum in Lihue is well worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The concierge in the ResortQuest was extremely helpful, getting tickets and reservations for us and giving suggestions for what to see and do. Perhaps this is not news to most other travelers, but it was the first time we had used this service and we were glad to have that available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Littel Rock, AR
Apr 23, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!

The view was spectacular.We were on the third floor and slept with the balcony door open every night to hear the ocean. Quiet, clean and centrally located. On Kauai you don't spend alot of time in the room..there's too much to see and do; so for us this was perfect. A comfortable, clean relaxing room that had a great view! We will definately come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We took the Secret Falls safari trip from Outfitters Kauai. This was the best 7 hours we spent on the Island..great staff, great lunch and alot of adventure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lisagee
las vegas,nv
Apr 22, 2009

beautiful property

we were automatically upgraded to oceanview room. it was ready when we arrived no wait.it was very clean bed was comfortable which is very important since i have a bad back.centrally located next to cocnut plantation shopping area with restaraunts and stores parking was limited but we always seemed to get lucky and find a spot. we loved this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

kintaro japanese restaurant. recommend having a reservation teppan style and sushi it was magical

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eugene, OR
Apr 22, 2009

good location/good price

Great location for accessing all parts of the island. Not the ultimate resort, but great for location to restaurants, shopping, and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top