$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
494 out of 494
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael
Aug 31, 2008

Great location

perfect jumping off point for any place on the island, and we saw and did a lot in ten days! Room was comfortable, bathroom quite spacious. Our requests were met promptly - a new TV when ours was not working, silverware when ours went missing. Only noise problem one night, people above us walking loud and scraping table and chairs around and one early morning shower. We were in the Molokai building with a terrific ocean view. Room was a bit musty, we would air it out daily, leaving the balcony doors open and the front door open to catch the breeze. Bed was very comfortable. Never had a parking problem. Pool and spa area great to hang out in, fun little happy hour scene at the bar. We used the bbq grill one night and that was super convenient. The beach was deserted, not super safe for swimming but some did venture in without any problems. nice walk along the coast in the morngings to watch the sunrise. Little kitchen was a great way to cut down on the restaurant expense. Get a little cooler for drinks to bring with you. All in all a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kauai Coast Resort restaurant next door was great Trees Lounge behind the hotel great food and music Nice breakfast buffet at the sister ResortQuest down the beach they also have coffee shop

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

Great value

Islander on the Beach is a great hotel for those not wanting to spend top dollar at the name hotels on Kauai. The facility is very Polynesian with an open, comfortable, quiet feeling. We stayed in a partial ocean view room. Sitting on our lanai, we could easily see a view of the ocean as well as the gardens. All rooms take up the entire building so no room faces back out to the parking lot. The floors were all tile which was nice because of all the sand but it would have been good to have a floor mat to wipe your feet since we always tracked in sand. We were in a first floor room which was great since we could walk from the lanai onto the grounds to get to anywhere on the property. There are signs posted all along the beach about how unsafe the water is so we didn't go in at first. This made us a bit unhappy about being able to go into the ocean from our room but later, we saw people swimming and went in. We felt perfectly safe swimming but we stayed pretty close to shore. They have a pool which isn't too large but we enjoyed it a couple of times. The bar was very popular there but we never used it because it was mostly in the sun and you pretty much had to sit at the bar where there was a TV playing to drink. I would have preferred to have some tables with umbrellas away from the bar where I could have my drink. Location is very good. There are restaurants in the Coconut Marketplace behind the hotel and also some within walking distance at other resorts and in towns both north and south. The Coconut Marketplace looks like it's pretty deteriorated which was a little depressing although every restaurant we tried there had excellent food. It looks like they're doing some work on it so maybe things are looking up. The general store there was very helpful for stuff. Suggest you try the Aloha pizza place and the grill there. Both far exceeded our expectations. We visited the Marriott grounds in Lihue. They're lovely and have lots of amenities but cost more than twice as much. All in all - we recommend this place to those who are looking for good value without sacrificing a Hawaiian feel and oceanfront hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Aloha Pizza, Islander Grill - Coconut Marketplace Caffe Coconut - just south of hotel. A little hard to find but a truly magical place. On Friday they had a local entertainer who was wonderful.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2008

very family friendly, great shopping and food areas

The rooom was very comfortable and you could not ask for a better location for out door activities, shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hendersonville, TN
Jul 14, 2008

Very nice hotel

I really enjoyed my stay. The room was great and the location on the beach was very convenient. The view of the beach and ocean was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location

They cleaned our room they didn't bring us tolet paper, and we had to call the desk at 5:30 am and request tolet paper, 2 days later, housekeeping did not clean our room, we called the front desk and they told us we would have to talk to housekeeping the next morning. We didn't do this because we were leaving that day, we asked for a late checkout for our flight out was at 9:30, and they refused saying the room was already rented. I felt like the natives were very resentful toward the mainlanders, they simply did not like us. I would not stay in this hotel again. If you left a night, when you came back there was no parking, we had to park at the mall across the street. I don't think I would visit this Island again, It was not a good experiende.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flagler Beach
Jun 14, 2008

Great Hotel

All of us were very pleased with every aspect of the property. There was plenty of parking and the proximity to the Coconut Market was great. We walked over a couple of times for lunch and grabbed some pizza for dinner one night and sat out on the patio and ate it. Very relaxing. We were able to check in one room early which was great. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. This was the last stop on a Hawaii Island Hopping trip and it was definitley the best. The location is great for seeing both sides of the island. There was a coffee maker in the room and a hairdryer which was great. We went for a swim in the pool and had a frozen drink at the pool bar. At $5.00 I thought they were quite reasonable for Hawaii. This is a great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most but not all of the shops at the Coconut Market stay open late. The pizzia shop was great and there is another place there (can't remember the name) that is great for breakfast. It is on the highway side. You can't miss it. Look for the lines.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearwater
Jun 12, 2008

Very comfy beds & smells great

The rooms are very well appointed. They have granite countertop, a small refrigerator, coffee maker and sink. Smells great when you walk in and the beds are the most comfortable I've had in a hotel. I thought the view would not be so great because I got the garden view room, but it was beautiful. This hotel is right behind the Coconut Marketplace, which has great shops and places to eat. Also very close to Wailua River.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Wailua River cruise. Well worth the modest fee of $20.00. Also, the Dole Whip soft serve is great.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FALLBROOK, CA
May 28, 2008

family friendly

The Resort Quest Islander was very comfortable and a great value for the money. Our room was right on the beach and being able to listen to the sound of the waves in our room was fantastic. The local market place provided anything you could want at an easy walking distance. I highly recommend this resort for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaruant next door has great breakfasts.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benicia
May 28, 2008

My review of ResortQuest Islander on the Beach

Beautiful, peaceful on the beach experience. Staff super friendly. The views are breath taking. It is delightful! We had a surprise frig, small sink and microwave in the room. Nice feature as you may not want to dine out for all meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several shops and nice breakfast restaurant across the parking lot.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
May 13, 2008

Great Value

This hotel is a great value. The rooms are new and refurbished. The grounds are beautiful. Its a small hotel with a nice atmosphere. Its located on the East coast of Kauai, perfect for exploring the entire island. We really enjoyed our stay here, and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The coconut marketplace is right next to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top